Back At School - Temporarily!

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago

On Wednesday, I did my first day of casual relief teaching after 'retiring' from my teaching position last year. Everyone keeps asking me how retirement is going, and I have to correct them - let's say semi retired, as I still have to work to top up our coffers. At 400 odd AUD dollars a day, it's not to be sniffed at. For a while there I thought I might some work in retail, perhaps at the local Wholefoods, but to be honest, casual relief teaching at a good school is an easy gig. One just needs to mark the rolls, set work, and make sure no one dies.

It feels odd being back at school, and I feel anxious on the way - there were far too many stressors in my last job for me to feel confident walking into a classroom, but everyone is so lovely. It's my husband's school, so everyone is so friendly and lovely. The kids truly are gorgeous - polite, quiet and respectful, they get on with the set work and I sit and research things on the internet for most of the day.

photo-1580582932707-520aed937b7b.jpeg
Image via Unsplash

There are a lot of exhausted and fed up teachers at the moment, so I imagine work won't be thin on the ground. Perhaps not this term (I have my fingers crossed - I need an extended break more than I need the money) but as we head into the middle terms, I imagine I'll be able to earn my keep.

The worst of all of this is the masks and all the regulations in place. It's stifling, both physically and psychologically. Everyone tries their best to get on with things but no one is truly happy. Luckily, where we are, it's not so hot this week. THe first two days of term were worse because of the heat - it is not fun being in a poorly ventilated classroom in the best of times. Nerves are frayed.

The school we work at is reasonably well off, so there is perhaps not the same concerns as government schools. Still, the headlines talk of teacher shortages. Already teachers are leaving in droves or talking about different careers. One of Jamie's colleagues is studying to be a brewer. That idea is tempting to Jamie - he has maybe two years left in him and he's hanging on by a thread, truth be told. It may be a miracle if he gets to the end of the year.

But all this is just more tinder on the fire of dissatisfaction felt in the teaching community. It's an impossible job and the wages, although reasonable, don't make up for what is expected of them. There's never enough time in the day for what needs to be done and the pressures upon them are extraordinary.

It's little wonder I left the profession, and feel such anxiety going back into the classroom, even for a good daily wage and sitting here on HIVE whilst the kids busy themselves with school work.

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


Sort:  

After seeing the photo and reading the heading I don't think I am brave enough to read the post.....I'm hyperventilating on your behalf @riverflows. Everything school entails especially in this day and age.

Yeah don't read it, it's a nightmare!

I'm good though - two days a week is great pocketmoney for me.

No turning your nose up at some pocket money!

Well honestly if you can pull it off like this. Lots of cash for just a day here and there, and not the long term stressers on it...Why the heck not..

Damn maybe I should get into teaching as well when I see this hahah.. hmmm

I know, makes me think why doesn't everyone do it? But then there woudl be no permanent teachers lol..... I think people like the security, the friends (not my thing to be mates with other teachers lol) and the other perks full time work has I suppose. But I can't cope with it at all. Be interesting to see what that works out at after tax, but still, better than working in a supermarket!

Well I also work every now and then in substitute hospitals for a quick buck, but this is exactly the reason why I dont always do this. I like working with colleagues, and also when you substitute somewhere you are always the new person who has to 'prove' themselves, while now I can be myself (which I do value a lot haha)

So for me, wouldnt want to do this always, but for a day here and there, I get it...and it makes you flexible which isn't a bad thing at all. A simple calculation on it...if I do this today, I can spend this tomorrow on x-y-z

Oh yes that's so true, I'm always having to prove myself to the kids rather than relying on my reputation which makes it harder. Won't be long though before they know me annd it's lucky i'm staying in the same school instead of being all over the place.

f I do this today, I can spend this tomorrow on x-y-z

yep, that's exactly what is keeping me going for sure.

Do you get good rates for temp work there?

I can imagine the masks making it a harder affair but ooft, 400AUD a day, get them shifts in!

I know right, it's bloody good money. No holiday pay, no security -- but I'm pretty lucky. Psychologically, I can't handle more than two days though...

Any more than that and it would be more than semi retirement! You will be glad to be out and free to choose

Yes one have to consider the psychological and physical effect it has. But in 10 days you should make 4K AUD. Is worth the savings for greater plans ahead.
Then maximize all breaks/holidays.

EXACTLY!! I don't think I could cope with doing ten days lol - honestly, it's been a rough time - but I know I can if I super need to!

That’s cool. You are in control.
Blessings to you.

I hope the anxiety of returning, even for 1 day, doesn't become overwhelming...

No, I'm surviving pretty well, but that's because I've committed to two days only and they seem okay with that - I don't have to prove myself to keep the job. Helps that I am here because my husband is! If it gets overwhelming I will just have a break. Jamie wanted me to to be honest but the money isn't to be sniffed at!

Funnily enough this ties into another post I read yesterday from someone working in the education system and the struggles with teachers getting worn down and leaving
And also with a talk I had with another grand parent while waiting to pick up our grandkids from school yesterday
It must be so hard for teachers these days not only with wearing masks but also with the changed mind set of kids these days from way back when I was in school

I think you being able to work part time only is a great solution for you to not be so worn down by the stress of it all

I did initially chuckle at the line

make sure no one dies

But then thought with reading if shootings in schools these days sadly that is also a very serious concern

Yeah I don't know how sustainable this will be.

Kids are amazing really - it's easy to say 'they have no respect anymore' or whatever but they are amazing creatures and worthy of the best we can give them. I wouldn't have been a teacher so long in the first place if I didn't believe that. The problem is the whole system around them which gets in the way of doing stuff that would make the education system better for them. So many teachers give blood for it because they really care, but ultimately can't sustain it.

'Make sure no one dies' - well, we don't have gun issues like that in Australia. I can't recall a scchool shooting ever, and can't imagine living somewhere where it could. That's so bananas to me.

All jokes aside, it's probably anaphalaxis that kids will die of - so many are allergic to nuts!!!!!!!

it's easy to say 'they have no respect anymore' or whatever but they are amazing creatures and worthy of the best we can give them. I wouldn't have been a teacher so long in the first place if I didn't believe that.

you saying that shows me that for you teaching isnt a job, its a vocation, a passion perhaps to bring out the best in children and is great to see

Growing up in NZ the concept of kids being able to get access too and then take to school and use guns is so bizarre to me and freakign scary thinking of my grandkids in schools here

Ploi had yet another "relief teacher" the second last week of term - her actual teacher simply couldn't be bothered with all the covid testing etc anymore and left early with replenished bank accounts to continue the global travels. It's terrible for the kids when it is more than occasional. Ploi's comment? "I couldn't be bothered to remember his name, since he can't be bothered to learn ours. And he's the fourth one this term."

It's possibly a more important gig than you care to know, in this covid time where the kids are craving stability.

Know you well enough to know you WILL be that relief teaching bothering with names. And really trying. x Sending hugs.

"I couldn't be bothered to remember his name, since he can't be bothered to learn ours. And he's the fourth one this term."

Oh that's terrible. I always feel such a sense of responsibility and care, if I'm in for a day, a week or a term! Even when I'm trying to put a bubble of self care around myself... the kids are worth our care.

Good luck to you. I hope you have some smooth sailing this time around.

Somehow it doesn't surprise me that you're a teacher @riverflows. And I hear you; I can only imagine how difficult it must be to be a school teacher in these times. I reckon if I had a formal teaching qual. I would make myself available as a relief teacher just to help out the greater teaching community. It's so much. I'm glad you're doing okay, mask and all. May some of your gentle, loving, tenderness rub off on those at your school. ❤️