Elephant Stew and Mundane Life

Yes, I'm still alive. But it has been two months since I posted anything. I haven't been in the mood to write. I have been sick at least 4 times this winter (including my current cold) despite taking all the recommended immune system boosters and preventive supplements. It was not helpful to have my stress level increased in November-January, due to my husband's peculiar behavior/remarks. He has since had a physical exam, an MRI, and lots of blood work. So far, nothing significant has been revealed. So I will continue to assume he is in the early stages of dementia. Or else his less-desirable personality characteristics are being amplified by the aging process, which is also a possibility.


20240106_130616.jpg

January view

We didn't have an unusual amount of snow this winter, yet it seemed as if winter dragged on interminably. It may not be over yet. Right now we are in the midst of a week of beautiful sunshine and highs in the 50s-60s, which is an incredible treat after weeks of clouds/fog/rain/snow/graupel/sleet.


20240315_131247.jpg

The garden 4 days ago. It's bare now.

The snow has finally melted off the garden, and the rhubarb is peeking through the dirt, as you can see in the next photo.


20240315_131633.jpg

And the fall-blooming crocuses are up! They are such a peculiar flower: they produce beautiful green foliage in the spring. It dies back in July, and then in September or October the flowers grow up out of the dirt and bloom.


20240315_150212.jpg

The grandchildren have been keeping me busy and providing bright spots in the dark winter. Two year olds are so funny! I had forgotten what silly things they say and do. Example: My daughter, granddaughter and I are driving to a store. Toddler looks out the window and announces, "Airp'ane!" Daughter looks out the window and replies, "Actually, that's a helicopter. Can you say helicopter?" Toddler calmly states, "No." If that doesn't make you chuckle, then I guess that's one of those "you had to be there" situations.

So far, this has been a fairly boring tale, so I will close with a recipe my sister gave me years ago. It may or may not improve the overall quality of the post. You decide!

Elephant Stew

1 medium elephant
salt and pepper
2 rabbits (optional)

Cut elephant into bite size pieces; add enough gravy to cover. Cook over a kerosene fire four weeks at 465 degrees. This will serve 3,800 people. If more are expected, two rabbits may be added in an emergency, but most people do not like hare in their stew.

You're welcome.

Photos taken on my Android phone.

Sort:  

I am glad to see you are back, please visit more often. I am sorry to hear your husband might have onset dementia, it sounds like he might have it, my Mom took care of people with this and Alzheimers for 30 years and they can say hurtful things, we have to keep in mind that they do not know what or why they say these hurtful things. My sister's husband would say whatever popped into his head, hurtful or not and they found out it was something wrong in his frontal lobe, I wish I could remember what it was called.

Small kids do say the darndest things, years ago I took my young daughter to the park and I told her not to get dirty, we were going somewhere after the park. She was playing with a little black boy and I heard her say, I can not touch you because mommy said not to get dirty. I was so embarrassed and had to go over and explain that she was not going to get dirty by playing with him. Have you ever tried to explain that people have different skin colors to a 3 year old?

The recipe is funny but after raising Rudy, I can not even think of eating another rabbit, I have cooked and eaten many but no more.

image.png
One of the dogs found a nest, she killed one and was working on this one when I found it. This was December 2nd

image.png
I took this pic, on March 14th. Everyone said he would not make it, I am so glad they were wrong, I have so much love from him. There is a small notch cut from his right ear, I wonder if it is from the dog, it does not show in the picture.

Well if that isn't the cutest darned thing I ever did see!:)

I have to agree with you @deirdyweirdy, he has my heart, that is for sure. I wanted to raise him big enough to release but everything I read said you should never release one rabbit on its own because the others will not accept him and if I release him when he gets bigger he will not know how to care for himself, by now he knows nothing about the outside world, I took him out one day and he was scared of everything.

Oh, that is the sweetest little rabbit! Thanks so much for your kind reply and for the rabbit pics.

Feeling down through winter no fun at all, perhaps the sunshine, new growth around will set you on a better track and health. Hubby has at least allowed himself to seek assistance, mine refuses saying nothing is wrong. After half a century of knowing someone you sure know when things are not right.

That hare will be a pet, no release after growing up in your care alas, another to nurture !LOLZ

Will remember your recipe should the event ever arise to feed so many mouths, laughter is the best medicine. Children always able to say it the way they see it another outlet to enjoy, some honesty..

Why are brain surgeons so good at persuasion?
They can really get inside your head.

Credit: reddit
@scribblingramma, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of joanstewart

(6/8)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

Yes, after 40 years I know my husband rather well. At the same time, the longer I am married, the more I realize I don't know about him. That seems contradictory, but somehow it makes sense, at least to me. Thanks for reading and commenting!

Awakening to something ignored whilst too busy caring for children and a home. When all are gone, left to see reality, it is amazing how little one sometimes finds in common.

Very well said.

Smile and have a day that you can make the most of I say....

 last month  

hahahahaha!

Welcome back. I'm sorry to hear you've been having a tough time with your husband.

We had gorgeous warm weather here in NYS for a good week, but last night it snowed and hasn't stopped for more than 24 hours!

I'm sorry to hear you had false spring, too! We are supposed to get rain and then snow this weekend.

Delighted to see you back and sorry to hear about hubby. Hopefully, it's not dementia. My father suffered from it and used to say and do the most awful things. As to your elephant stew, all I can say is never give in to any temptation you might feel to give stand-up a go:)

Ha ha!I will keep that in mind. I,too, hope he doesn't have dementia. I think I'd rather put up with basic aging brain issues.

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏

Thanks!

@scribblingramma, you are most welcome!

Please Support Back

!ALIVE

@scribblingramma! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ hivecurators. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.