Eating Healthy doesn't have to suck! A heart healthy, diabetic friendly breakfast FULL of flavor!

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago (edited)

Eating Healthy Doesn't Have to Suck
A heart healthy, diabetic friendly breakfast FULL of flavor!


Woody Allen once said -

You can live to be a hundred if you give up all things that make you want to live to be a hundred.


IMG_2585.jpg


I thought I would share with all of you what I had for breakfast this morning and some of the personal journey I have been on regarding food, health, and diet.

I might say first off that both my wife and I are in our late 50's early 60's. We were both diagnosed with type 2 diabetes. Also, we both have cholesterol concerns, mine being an open heart surgery 4 years ago and hers being a problem with battling too much bad cholesterol.

Needless to say, all this led to long hours of researching food and diet to help remedy these problems before they could cause serious health issues. At first, before learning how foods work in us, we just started cutting out the obvious culprits. Butter, ribeyes steaks, BACON, whole milk, mayonnaise, vegetable oil, etc., etc. That was great at first but life got bland pretty quick, you see I have also prided myself as a kind of amateur chef. I love food and I love to cook! Slowly I learned how to incorporate the healthy into old favorites and eliminate the evil sugars, rich creams, and the dreaded butter. I searched grocery stores and markets and became an expert at reading labels and ingredients! I soon learned that sugar comes in many shapes and forms under many different names like dextrose or corn syrup. Good carbs and bad carbs. Good cholesterol (yes there is such a thing) and bad cholesterol. I eventually found substitutes for foods like butter and even bread that had NO sugar!

Now after a year of an ever-changing lifestyle concerning the way we approach food I am happy to say eating No Longer Sucks!

The picture above really IS what I had for breakfast! Smashed avocado on toast topped with a fried egg and sriracha chili sauce and it was absolutely delicious!

The recipe is super simple -

1 slice of toast
1/2 a small avocado
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp ground pepper
1/2 tbsp butter substitute
1/2 tbsp olive oil
sriracha chili sauce as desired

  1. Toast your bread to the desired doneness.

  2. While bread is toasting add the avocado, garlic powder, and pepper to a small bowl and mash gently (should be a little chunky when done).

  3. Butter toast and spread avocado mixture over it.

  4. Add the olive oil to a small egg pan and fry the egg however you like (I like mine over easy).

  5. When the egg is finished place on top of toast and garnish with the sriracha sauce.

That's it, simple right? And oh so good AND healthy too!

Below are examples of two products I used here in the USA to make this that are both heart-healthy and diabetic friendly. You will need to research similar products in your own area if you have similar health issues.


IMG_2589.jpg

This stuff is awesome and has a REAL butter taste.

IMG_2588.jpg

This bread is super dense and filling, it also has ZERO sugar.

If anyone is interested in more of this type of informational recipe post on eating well for a healthy lifestyle please let me know in the comments below. I have quite collection of recipes at this point, I think I could do a week's worth of posts just on breakfast toast combinations!

Try some of these -

  • Almond butter toast w/bananas and cinnamon
  • Toast with cream cheese and fresh fruits (strawberries, kiwi, blueberries, etc.)
  • English Muffins with almond butter and raw honey (easy on the honey if your diabetic)

Hope you all enjoyed my post - until next time.

Sort:  

Looks delicious! Type 2 diabetes isn't as bad as many people think -- just need to swap out some foods and make healthier choices.

It helps that your wife has it too. Only one menu to work with and no temptations being eaten by your significant other!

How have you been?

I'm awesome and yes it's easier when you both eat the same otherwise the struggle is real! Type 2 is proving controllable with food choices but I have no desire to see it turn into type 1. I think food changes are the hardest for us to make because so many of the foods we eat are tied to our memories. Traditional Thanksgiving dishes, Christmas treats, foods Grandma made, and changing the taste or ingredients in any way removes that familiarity that comes when you take that bite of it because it no longer drums up that past reflection or triggers that emotion associated with it. Thanks for stopping by!

 3 years ago  

Very informative post @steelthong! My hubby's been a type 1 diabetic for 63 years already and besides having heart bypass surgery about 18 years ago, he's kept very healthy. He's on medication for cholesterol, blood pressure & of course aspirin to thin the blood. I must look out for a similar product as we love butter but have to limit it of course.
Type 2 diabetics have to be more careful with their diet as the type 1 can always use a little extra insulin when eating too many carbs.
We look forward to seeing more healthy options as many of us silvers start developing type 2 diabetes!

Congratulations @steelthong! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

 2 years ago  

A great post and a pity that I only saw it now. We. my wife and I are not diabetic, but we eat very poorly, as we are most times on the run with our charity work.
Obviously our health suffers and we are investigating our diets, so this post of yours reached me at the right time.
We have the Ezekiel bread, but I don't know if the butter spread is available in South Africa, Will do a search and thank you for the recipe here.