If A Time Machine Was Available, I'd Be On My Way!

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

Traveling to unknown places has never been my gig. I'm not saying that I have never left my backyard. I have visited some really nice places in the past, including Aruba and the Dominican Republic.
Before @farm-mom and I started having children, we spent 7 weeks on the road while traveling cross-country.
Now that I think of it, I guess that we had really started our family just months before our 7-week road trip, as Jackie O Silver was 3 months pregnant with our first child.
I'm kind of a homebody and have never yearned to experience other cultures.

pyramid.png

But, for years there is one place that I have wished I could visit by just jumping into a Time Machine, avoiding all of the craziness involved with gallivanting around the globe. The Great Pyramids of Giza have always fascinated me.
There are many theories on just how these magnificent structures were constructed. Some believe that aliens built Khufu's Pyramids while many theorize that it was built on the backs of slaves.
Recent scholars have found records that dispel the notion that the Great Pyramids were built using slave labor, but rather by an army of Egyptian workers, both laborers, and skilled workers who came from all over Egypt and were paid for their efforts.
image.png

This structure is the only one that still stands when referring to the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. It is considered to be an engineering marvel even by today's standards.

image.png

The Great Pyramids of Egypt were built over a 20 year period. The structure was built using 2.3 million tons of limestone blocks, weighing anywhere from 2 tons to 60 tons apiece.

If this world we live in were to become a place where its inhabitants were able to live in peace, then just maybe I would visit my Dream Destination, The Great Pyramids of Egypt, but until then I think I'll keep all of my travels restricted to the United States of America.

Many thanks to the people at the helm of this wonderful community, @lizelle, @papilloncharity, @ericvancewalton, @tarazkp, and @fionasfavourites.
Due to your tireless efforts, you have taken all of us to many Dream Destinations as we enjoy each other's fantasies. For some #Silver #Bloggers I hope your fantasies become a reality.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Oh yeah and some astrologers have found that at a certain time of the year, the tips of the three pyramids are exactly in line with 3 planets.
Making others to state that it was aliens that built the pyramids.

They have never figured out how these monoliths were built at a time when there were no modern cranes or other equipment available. No human power can lift blocks weighing tons up to such heights.

Really a puzzle methinks and there are as usual many theories.

A great thing to have them on your bucket list.

Cheers and !BEER

Well a time machine would work for me as well as I'm kind of running out of time if I want to see all the places on my list! Most interesting learning that they're now thinking the Pyramids were not built by using slave labour; how things can get twisted by mankind looking for sensationalism! This would have to have been built by skilled workers to have withstood the sands of time not so!
In the meanwhile, enjoy your own country as we are doing here as well; the phrase the grass in not always greener on the other side is very true!
Silver-Blond Lizzie
PS meant to comment from my own account!

Okay I don't know if it is appropriate for me to say this about your big dream but here goes.

I went to the pyramids with my current partner over a decade ago with the same feeling of wanting to experience a magical group of structures. They will always remain a mystery to me despite all of the stories, theories and whatever. We crawled inside and up to the chamber, which was the good moment. We were treated rudely, and the grounds were disgusting not to mention the public toilets. One close to the pyramids was a trailer. Another was by the sphinx which was more appropriate but if you didn't have the right change you would have to pee your pants.
They were extremely rude and relentless to get us to go for every souvenir or service every moment of the trip. It was the furthest thing from enlightening that you can imagine. There was a donkey chained up by one of the pyramids screaming with anger as he was alone tethered, angry and desperate. This scene and some postcard sales was just wrong in every way.

We did not go on a tour like a friend of mine did later. She didn't even know you could climb into the pyramid. I think they stopped it after. So for that I am glad I can say I was in the king's chamber. But over all it was a crappy holiday.

I hope you get there someday to prove me wrong and have a great experience.

You would probably do better to time travel back to the building of the pyramids to dispel all theories as well as avoid disappointment @thebigsweed. I was there many years ago. It was an amazing experience - complete with Pharoah's revenge which blissfully bypassed me. Amazing but disappointing. Expecting to travel miles and hours into the sweltering desert I found that after a hazardous carene through the city we suddenly found ourselves facing the pyramids. And then shock of shock discovered that the sphinx is barely bigger than the king of the jungle. Ok. May a little bigger but not the glorious monstrosity that it is made out to be. So if it were a matter of going back to the building feat....by all means send me a time travel ticket

Traveling back in time to witness the construction of the Great Pyramids would be the way to go. Witnessing the groundbreaking and watching the engineering feat involved with the exact placement of the footprint of the pyramids would be awesome to observe.
In doing some research on this topic I learned that the entire outer blocks were made using limestone blocks that were polished to a degree where the entire structure would reflect light that was so bright that it would have been able to see from the moon. Over the years the outer blocks eroded away and only a small number of the reflective limestone blocks remain today.
It is said that the construction was so precise that a human hair wouldn't be able to be placed between the blocks.
The info about the sphinx is quite amazing as it seems to be a very large monument.
It had to be an adventure to see this wonder of the world, in person.
If I do get a seat on the time machine, I'll get two tickets so that you can join me and be my personal tour guide.

 3 years ago  

I'm not surprised they tried to change the story, they've been doing a lot of that lately. I think they're out to make our history appear better than it is.

Gimme a four week window sir and we'll meet you there. If we're already on the other side of the pond, 24 hours is plenty.

Your reply, changing history to make it appear better than it is, was exactly what Robin and I had discussed when I told her that the new theory is that slave labor was not used for the construction.
So few supposed facts are set in stone but rather quicksand.
When I get my ride in the time machine, I'll be sure to stop by, wherever you are at the time and give you a lift.

Your reply, changing history to make it appear better than it is, was exactly what Robin and I had discussed when I told her that the new theory is that slave labor was not used for the construction.

You are so right @thebigsweed, I also want to find out for myself, so if you don't mind passing by me around Christmas 2021, 9pm, don't be late please you have no excuse 😄

 3 years ago  

I went immediately to that burning of the Alexandria Library in Egypt and now how the historians are trying to say Julius Caesar didn't intentionally destroy it and how it was an accident.

So when I saw yours and the new explanation I instantly cringed. That's embarrassing dude.

The recording of history reminds me of a game of telephone we played as kids. By the time the message got back to you, it had taken many twists and turns and had little to do with the original statement.

 3 years ago  

A few more generations and they'll probably just edit, copy/paste Egypt and put Africa next to Israel like "see, slavery is a myth."

 3 years ago  

Wow, what amazing architecture. It really would be awesome to see it.
Nice post.💖


Hey @thebigsweed, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.