Feathered Friends - Two young Kestrels outside of Gothenburg, Sweden summer of 2011

in Feathered Friends2 years ago (edited)

This is my entry to the #SMaP competition, round 81, show me a bird you have identified. And the bird I have chosen is a Kestrel, or tornfalk as it is known in Swedish. The bird in the picture is a youngling.

When and wear of the picture
The photo features two young kestrels sitting on top of a big wooden "crate" with a truck cap inside. I am able to get basically within arms reach of them when taking this photo.

The picture is actually fairly old, it is taken on July 11, 2011. Back when I was working a summer job as a forklift driver on the west coast, just outside of Gothenburg. We usually had nesting doves under the tin roof, or at least have had the previous summers I had worked there. But for some strange reason in 2011, there were no doves in sight. ^^

Instead, we had a pair of nesting Kestrels. And while this had its own fair share of problems. Personally, I prefer them over the doves. They were more engaging and sociable than the doves.

As an example, when I was sitting in my forklift truck waiting for the next lorry to come for loading or unloading. I usually like to sit out in the open, rain or sunshine. And when they were getting the hang of flying they usually would fly out to me and sit on my forklift truck roof. Presumably, because I was at a good distance from the roof and pallets under the roof they usually would sit on. And they would also have an ok view from up top the roof.

I do plan to do a more thorough post and share some more pictures of them in the future. So if you like to see more and hear a little bit more about them. Then please stop by and check back in with me in the near future.

See you on the interwebs!

Picture provided by: Me

Sort:  

Welcome to #SMaP!
I love to see pics of kestrels and to read about them.
There are few who live in our area for years and I am happy to watch them but never been as close you were.

Thank you! =) !LUV

Yes, they are pretty majestic, and I really like the striped pattern on their feathers. They probably got somewhat used to me I guess, as they were jumping around all over the different pallets that were under their nest when they left it. I did however not try and pet them or pick them up. That beak of theirs looked all too mighty sharp for me to mess with. And using gloves did not really have the same appeal. =) But I was able to get right next to them without them running away.

I will try and write a more thorough post about my encounter with them a bit later. Have some more pictures of them as well to share. =)

Thank you so much for organising the competition and your nice welcome =)

From my humble experience, kestrels do come along with humans quite easy. The ones who live near us, actually live between the balconies on the top floor of a block of flats. It must really awesome to have them as a company while working.
It would be great to see more of your feathered friends.
Have a great weekend!

Awwww... Nice Kestrels @daje10 friend!.. Thanks for sharing!...

!discovery 25

Thank you do much. =) Glad, you enjoy them.

What is the discovery command if you dont mind me asking? I have never seen it before. Not that that is special, me not seeing it. As I am pretty new to hive. =)

!LUV
!LOLZ

:)) The discovery command is to activate our vote in recognition of your post's good work!... We invite you to join us on our discord (link below) and promote your posts on our server... Greetings and thanks again for sharing!

Discovery-IT

Ah ok. =) Well thank you again. =)

I have joined the discord as well.
!LUV


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Thank you so much for picking my post. =)

@ecency do you know why this post of mine won't show up in my feed?

Congratulations @daje10! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 600 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @erikasue!
Level up your NFTs and continue supporting the victims of war
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @daje10.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more