The house mentioned yesterday would not be safe (2022.08.14)

in Feathered Friends2 years ago

Yesterday (on 2022.08.13) I mentioned a possible rent in Szolnok, Hungary. Today I met the brother of my former housemate. The owner of that house. I have not seen the house, but now I know that it would not be safe for my Harris's hawk. We talked approximately for one hour. The owner said that the door of the room is broken in a way that it cannot be locked by a key, and the window is also broken (the latter is covered by an alufolie). Gypsies broke it. They would quickly steal and sell my Harris's hawk and all of my belongings. So it is not possible to securely store values in that room.

This is a no go for me.

I keep looking and asking people, but I nearly gave up. The answer was always "not with a hawk". And I already called dozens of people. Even outside of the 30 km area of Szolnok, Hungary.

If there will be no rent, then I currently have two worst case scenarios:
I go to Spain to live in a cave/tent/abandoned house.
I buy a car (preferably an SUV) to live in it.

If no one let me rent a room/house with my Harris's hawk, then probably I will have to take one of these worst case scenarios.

No matter what, I will not be completely homeless. I will not live on the streets.

Have a nice day and have a nice weekend.
All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

Sort:  

Hello my friend,

It feels very sad that sometimes we have to test our limits. It is a hard time but for a limited time, and you are doing your best.

I may make some arrangement if you are in my country, which is not even close to Europe, a very far away nation, close to China and only can reach by air travel.

I know you have prepared a worst case scenario, but I again say, you keep digging and I am hopeful that you'll find you treasure. If the house your friend's brother showed you can be repaired try talking about it. Is the gypsy population close to that house or it is far away from there, how many more houses you see at that site. I say you try make a visit and see for yourself first.

I know you are doing your hook and crook, also keep in contact with your family and see they can make any arrangement.

You hawk looks very gloomy after this news. I know you both are very connected and she cannot even hunt.

Wish you all the best and hope you'll find your dream house soon.

!PIZZA

I may make some arrangement if you are in my country, which is not even close to Europe, a very far away nation, close to China and only can reach by air travel.

And this is one of the travel limitations. I cannot take my Harris's hawk on airplanes. Wizz Air and other similar airline groups do not allow living animals. There are some of the airline groups, which do, but the ticket would be so expensive that I could buy two more birds with that price. This is why I need to travel by train, if I go abroad. They allow living animals.

If the house your friend's brother showed you can be repaired try talking about it. Is the gypsy population close to that house or it is far away from there, how many more houses you see at that site. I say you try make a visit and see for yourself first.

We talked about this. There are many gypsies. They would break in again in a very short time. They use drugs. They smoke a joint, and they feel like kings. They do not have a sense of fear.

I know you are doing your hook and crook, also keep in contact with your family and see they can make any arrangement.

I keep asking, but they already refused. I do everything I can.

You hawk looks very gloomy after this news. I know you both are very connected and she cannot even hunt.

Yes. She feels and "copies" my emotional state. If I become sad, then she also become sad. I feel hopeless since yesterday, but probably this is already visible in my hawk's eyes.

Wish you all the best and hope you'll find your dream house soon.

Thank you. I really hope that I will find something.

A way to curate quality 2nd layer content and giveaway posts. (Manual) Pre-release 0.1

!hiqvote

Loading...

I don't really know what to suggest.

I have a 1500m² garden plot in the middle of nowhere - no water, no electricity, 20 minute walk from my apartment. You are always welcome to build a voliere there and keep your bird there.

Thing is, there is no free apartments or even rooms in my little hometown.
Every last room is occupied by refugees from all corners of the world.

Also, I am in the process of selling my apartment and moving to a different country myself. I will probably leave next year and my relatives will look after my garden.

The hawk is seriously holding you back.
Is it at all possible to rent a place for yourself and rent a separate place for the bird? Over here, they rent out garden plots.

I have a 1500m² garden plot in the middle of nowhere - no water, no electricity, 20 minute walk from my apartment. You are always welcome to build a voliere there and keep your bird there.

Thank you so much. You are very kind and generous. No one offered anything similar so far. I appreciate it very much. Even if a separate place would not really be good for us. We have a very close connection.

Is it at all possible to rent a place for yourself and rent a separate place for the bird? Over here, they rent out garden plots.

I live with my bird. I mean literally. We sleep together in the evening (and sometimes even in the day). Some people do not even believe this, but this is the truth. And I already uploaded a photo about it. I understand that they do not believe it, because probably no one else live like this. At least I have not heard about anyone so far, who would literally live (be in the same room all day) with his/her Harris's hawk. A separate place would not be good for us. Both of us would be sad, because we would miss each other.

Currently I do not know if renting a plot is even possible in my country (Hungary). I saw only for sale so far, and they are mostly very expensive. There are houses for a much cheaper price (to buy) in some parts of the country, but they are still very expensive for me. Many of the rents too, and even if I could afford it, they do not allow my Harris's hawk.

I still keep looking for a solution. I have almost one month until 2022.09.10, so there is still a chance for a solution. I really hope that there will be a local solution.

Sorry to hear the house wasn’t safe for you @xplosive
Hope something turns up. 🤞🏻🤞🏻

If not I would suggest going for a van / SUV above Spain.
I live in Spain, and the last years the weather is changing so dramatically. The summers are hotter and the winters are more cold. Freezing cold, inside my house it gets below 10 degrees as the houses are not insulated and have no heating. At least in the south. Summer is too hot… inside it is 31 degrees Celsius now.
Keep that in mind as we are getting close to winter time soon.
Abandon houses are guarded and most caves are turned into houses. The winter wouldn’t be a good place here.

Have you looked into the house/ pet sitting yet?

Or maybe camping grounds, that are empty in the winter, where you could work on the terrain / maintain it to live in a tent or little hut?

Freezing cold, inside my house it gets below 10 degrees as the houses are not insulated and have no heating.

If it does not go below 0 °C, then I am able to stand it. There were a few days in the previous winter, when the heating turned off in -5 °C. I survived, but I would not risk it in long term.

Summer is too hot… inside it is 31 degrees Celsius now.

I heard that it is often around 40 °C outside.

Abandon houses are guarded and most caves are turned into houses.

I know. This is what I mentioned to @dswigle a few minutes ago. I know about a small group of Hungarian people living in caves. If I go there, then maybe the best would be to join them.

Have you looked into the house/ pet sitting yet?

I already asked many people, but no one let me into their house with my Harris's hawk so far in any circumstances.

Or maybe camping grounds, that are empty in the winter, where you could work on the terrain / maintain it to live in a tent or little hut?

I thought about living in a tent, but currently I do not know how to even set it up properly. I currently do not have any experience with it.

I am still trying to look for a solution.

On the freezing temperatures…. I don’t know how the humidity is is Hungary
Do keep in mind along the coast it is very humid and this affects your sensation of being able to withstand freezing temperatures. Inland the humidity changes… so research that well.

Yes, 40 degrees Celsius and above inland Spain for sure reaches. The 31 degrees is inside my apartment at the moment. It makes it hard to think and do anything… can make you sick.

Finding empty caves will be hard, only if you know people and could share with them this is doable in short time. Do keep in mind the laws changed here drastically… with regards to squatting.

I still think short term a van or suv would work better than coming to Spain.

Such a shame the hawk is holding you back in finding something.

The setting up a tent thing shouldn’t be a problem, nowadays all you need is YouTube. Everything you can find on there. How to set up a tent, what you need for living etc. You can learn that while watching.
What I meant by camp grounds was more like…
Go talk to the owners of a camp ground, that rents out spaces for holidays. Now the holiday season is almost over, maybe you could work for them on the terrain, keep it up… clean the grounds… in exchange for living space in a hut or some kind of building. Or even a tent… maybe work something out with the owner of a campground. You could do shows with the hawk too for the visitors when holiday season starts again. Try thinking outside the box.
I’m Just thinking out loud here to give you some ideas @xplosive

Or try farms… working there, the hawk can help get rid of other birds that harm crops.

Hope you find something. 🤞🏻🤞🏻

Dam brother, sorry to hear. Take 1 day at a time right now. I watch videos of some people who live in a bed of a truck, that they have outfitted with some wooden structure. Its easy for anyone to fall on hard times man.

!LUV

A car (SUV, van or anything similar) is really a last resort for me, but there are indeed videos about this lifestyle. People living in various types of cars, and some of them are even enjoying it. I also saw videos about it. If there will be nothing else, then many of these videos will be helpful for me to start this lifestyle.

!LUV.

Grizzly and grand.🐻👏

My bird is indeed big, but far from a grand grizzly. :-D

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@emaxisonline(3/5) tipped @xplosive (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Congratulations @xplosive! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Level up your NFTs and continue supporting the victims of war