I got wet

I love how rain forms droplets on the glass and I love watching them get larger and larger until they begin to stream down the window in rivulets; there's something soothing about those rivulets of water and the sound of the rain upon the window.

It rained today, unexpectedly, and that lovely scent that comes from the ground and the plants reached me and it made me want to walk. I had a million errands to run though, I've so many things to do this week to get ready for Christmas, so I had to drive. Maybe I could walk later, I'd thought to myself - hopefully it will still be raining.

20221221_125650.jpg

I took this image

Later, I managed the walk, but it had stopped raining.

Everything was still wet though, the drops on the leaves glistened in the sun that poked its face from behind a cloud now and then and I ran my hands through the shrubs I passed enjoying the feeling of freshly fallen rain on my hand, the coolness in contrast to the warmth of my own body.

Petrichor is what that scent is called, the lovely small that occurs after rainfall when it hasn't done so for a while.

If you've ever smelled it, you'll know what I mean. It's so energising when out in the park or some natural place and always makes we want to breathe in deeply and fill my lungs to bursting point. I'm not sure what causes it, but I like to think it's the plants and the earth itself releasing their joy and happiness that they received the life-giving rain after a dry spell. I could be wrong though.

As I walked, I could hear rolling thunder to the east, the stormfront receding and, with the park feeling so fresh after the rain, the smell of petrichor and an afternoon to enjoy it I felt happy I'd managed to get everything done early enough to permit me the time to walk.

Sometimes I love to stay in when raining, curled on the couch with tea and a book, snuggled in bed listening to the rain pitter patter on the roof and window or doing crafty things with some soft music in the background. Sometimes I sit at my window seat and watch the rain stream down the windowpane. I like walking in the rain, and just after it has rained, too; it feels natural and basic and brings me to feel closer to the planet.

Today, I got wet. My boots, my jeans below the knee, my hands...it felt wondrous, energising and uplifting.

Becca 💗

Sort:  

Rain is precious...not, the precious, just precious.

Lol...you're funny.

Becca 🌼

How beautiful Becca I read you and feel how the rain makes your words flow naturally projecting your essence.

I also love like you that feeling of freedom that the rain inspires to express what I want. ❤️

Rain seems cleansing to me, refreshing. We can have too much rain of course and flooding isn't nice, but a little rain when I'm out wandering in the forest with me man, that's lovely.

Becca 🌷

Excellent Becca the rain inspires us and fills us with much joy, good wishes, and genuine love.

Enjoying your walk in the rain is very romantic when you are well accompanied and with arms wrapped around you, like a fur coat. May you have magical moments this Christmas 2022.🦋

Congratulations @becca-mac! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 8000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of the Final
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

TY--ThoughtfulDailyPost.jpg

TDPResize.jpg

Merry Christmas and Happy Holiday's!

I love petrichor! It's something that you know but it's not till you see the definition of the word that you think ahhh, that smell!

It's so lovely and always makes me feel...I don't know, open to the planet? Something like that. I don't know if you've ever been in the forest in the rain, although being in Scotland I assume so...It's magical.

If I don't speak with you again prior to Christmas, I hope you and your family have a lovely time and that the new year brings much happiness.

Becca 💗

Oh yes, in Scotland we are never far from forests or rain, so quite familiar!

I wish the same for you and yours too. As much happiness as you can bear 🙂

If that man of mine has taken my hints about what I want for Christmas, happiness shall be mine. (I'll be happy even if he doesn't.)

Becca 🎄

Us men can be thick at times but I bet he has it sorted! :OD

I really liked learning this, "Petrichor is what that scent is called, the lovely small that occurs after rainfall when it hasn't done so for a while." I sometimes miss that smell. And I also sometimes miss the very tropical rain of the Caribbean. Thanks for the memory and for invoking nostalgia. 😀

It's an interesting word for a lovely scent that almost makes me feel so happy. I've not been to the Caribbean but would like to, and maybe I'll smell petrichor there also?

Becca 🌷

Ho Ho Ho! @becca-mac, one of your Hive friends wishes you a Merry Christmas and asked us to give you a new badge!

The HiveBuzz team wish you a Merry Christmas!
May you have good health, abundance and everlasting joy in your life.

To find out who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to your friends
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Sponsor Feedback and Feedback Request
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Prizes from our sponsors
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal