Pucker Up, Baby! It's Almost Easter!


20210328_113552.jpg


It's so true. It could happen to you. Is it possible to pull more joy out of this day? Easter without the fasting and penitence of Lent just isn't the same. I promise you that I look forward to the joyful end of it all. But, all kidding aside, it was one of those things that you did without question. You fasted because it was Lent. You began on Ash Wednesday and the culmination was on Easter Sunday. As kids, we didn't see it as a bad thing, we saw it as a challenge to do it without complaint. Perhaps because I went to a Catholic School? Perhaps because we were faithful, lest we get sent to eternal damnation, simply put, getting sent to hell. Let me tell you, as a young child, I was scared straight.


easter tree.jpg


Every year, I walk down to the pond that is right across the street from me and gathered some branches that are dead or broken off from the main tree. I spray-painted them and put them in a heavy crystal vase, usually with marbles, but sometimes not. This becomes our Easter Tree. Once upon a time, I only had eggs on my tree. Year after year, the kids added different little things to it, until, it was a mix of Easter and ornaments of a different kinds. This shot had a half decorated tree. Did you know that the egg is an ancient symbol of life all over the world?


IMG_2174 2.JPG


We had three days of temperatures in the freezing zone. We didn't have that cold of weather all winter and suddenly, we do. One of my cherry trees was just budding and it killed off the cherry blossoms for this year. It is kind of sad to look at, the beautiful blossoms dying before they are fully alive, never even having a chance to release the snow.


IMG_2196 2.JPG


The other half of the tree bloomed today. The entire season has been a tad strange, hasn't it? Half a tree blooming? The trees are all blooming out of sync. What is going on, Mother Nature?


20200413_145359.jpg


Leafing out. It is only a day away. Seems like overnight, everything is coming alive. Soon, everything will be bloomed and feel somewhat normal again. It could happen to you.


20200312_075428.jpg


May there always be a flower to color my world. #alwaysaflower
And just like that, this show is over. Come back tomorrow and we'll do it again. Down below, my creeping flock is coming alive. Such a rewarding flower. If you treat it nice after it finishes blooming, it will come back and flower at the end of the season too.


IMG_2184 2.JPG


All I have are my words, armed in my mind, written in pen, stand by stand. Oh, yes. Still by hand. It has a different feel. Altered not by keys, backspace, and delete, I write, erase, tear it to pieces and start all over again. And again.

It’s my way. I walk out to the deep end of the page and dive right in.


20200413_185723.jpg

W5LtFUPm6g7293LJ3Vg8LGMxSXJbQHxtovyJAqw2j9RsivpZ42Ycyswj1Tzss1cqTWCvrF2HGPcMKHifCuQ1yT7Cncf6MweiwZbf2C89cSmhmwBDh6bzz5kpfTLDNa3epU6ozDSeFhFM5dPoYDiF2VAYE1rPQ.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I -
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Robert Frost


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg

image.png


Sort:  

The easter tree idea is so cool and some nice decorations on it, and sopme beautiful shots of the blossoms, I took a quick walk inthe Cemetery near us yesterday as the other day I though I had seen blossoms as I was driving by, well I was right i had seen some but the few days of heavy frosts had done the blossoms in they were all dried up and dying, but I am sure new ones will come soon

Mine too, but, most have recovered. The ones that were out mostly died, but, some new blooms took their place. What a weird year, JJ! @tattoodjay I have never seen anything like this.

I am sure yours is on the way. Massachusetts is always later and colder... which I never understood, it was so close to Connecticut, but, so much colder. Wait til global warming fixes it right up and makes it warmer!

I hope you are having a great week!

My week has started well thanks
Looking like it’s going to be warming up in this coming week so o am sure we will see signs of spring and new growth here soo

Looking forward to it

I love the Easter tree and that your girls add to it with you. I have done the same; I think I need to bring it out again this year.

What caught my eye in that second picture is the rocking horse in the background. Awesome.

They love finding some unusual piece to put on the tree! It is still fun, even after all this time. You need to bring it out! That would be so fun.

The rocking horse. I do love him. I bought him at a flea market in Belgium. He gets bunny ears at Easter and Reindeer antler at Christmas. Thank you!

Easter ! When I was a small child, that meant a new pretty dress for church. How can a little girl not love that ? Easter baskets full of candy too.... that the Easter Bunny brought. LOL !!!

I see Peter behind the egg tree. :)

Hehe! Yes!!! Easter bonnets too! It was Christmas and Easter that got new church dresses. Always a highlight of the year, yes?

My poor mom! Nine Easter baskets! I can't even imagine. I hope Peter gave her a hand!

ha ha ... Peter Max Cottontail.....

I love doing an egg tree or 'easter tree' as we called them. I've not done one in a few years as we've had no one over, however this year we're having family fly in at Easter and it'll be hosted here, so I'm going to get some lovely branches and do one up. I usually like to blow some of my quail's eggs too and then half dip them in pretty pastel paints so you can see the natural bit and the paint...I have to remember to record that this year and share it.
I love this time of the year! thanks for reminding me @dswigle

Yes!! We have all sorts of blown eggs, even an ostrich egg from Australia. The quail eggs are adorable, I never thought about dipping them. That sounds like a fun idea. I can hardly wait to see your tree. There is nothing artistic about mine, so I do enjoy seeing what happens to a tree when they add that magical artistic touch to it.

I'll be on the lookout, Donna. My apologies for hardly even getting around to posts. Time is never friendly to me!

I hope you are having a great start to your week!

I am seeing some celebrations of Ester in town already. You guys have started so early.

We are not celebrating yet, although I like to decorate my house and enjoy the Feast.

Hi, Sam! @mcsamm

Congratulations @dswigle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 27000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 28000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day
The fourth edition of Hive Power Up Month started today. Don't miss it!

Thank you for the notification @hivebuzz !

Because flowers will always be there and share their beauty at all times, I hope everything is fine.

The flowers are very beautiful. Everything is fine, does it seem like something is wrong?

No, no, I'm too deeply into your words/poems.
Flower is always there and its beauty will be felt. 🤗🤗

Did you know that the egg is an ancient symbol of life all over the world?

To many animals (mostly birds), it is not just/only an ancient symbol, but the literal start of the physical life. They hatch out of it.

The other half of the tree bloomed today. The entire season has been a tad strange, hasn't it? Half a tree blooming? The trees are all blooming out of sync. What is going on, Mother Nature?

Nowadays the weather is weird worldwide. There was snow in various parts of my country (in Hungary) in the previous few days. And currently we are literally in April. I guess Mother Nature is playing her own April Fools joke.

But this could also be a part of the climate change. And that is not really funny. Theoretically currently we are in spring, and practically the weather is winter-like, but according to the weather forecast, it will become warmer in the next few days.

Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

It really isn't funny! Our weather is wreaking havoc with plants and flowering trees, not to mention the food being planted now. It is all crazy, but, I am hoping it will all settle down and behave soon.

Hello, @xplosive I hope you are having a great Monday!

Love to read it.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Beautiful flowers always decorate mom's world @dswigle . Have a nice activity mom

The first image was really very creative concept applied. A rabbit with kissy lips looks awesome. Easter trees decorated perfectly. Loved them all.

:) I love rabbits with kissy lips. Obviously.

Me encantaron muchísimo sus fotografías señorita. Muy bonito trabajo

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 100 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

Thanks for the repost @pixresteemer!