Oregon Coast

Sister Rocks Sunset

This summer I spent some time at a place called Sister Rocks on the south Oregon coast. The first installment of my stop is located here

This time I'm going to take a look at the golden hour of sunset. I had a horrible time choosing photos this morning because it was just beautiful.

Sister Sunset.JPG

The sun is slipping into the Pacific and the whole area turned golden. This view out toward the Rocks and the next up the hill behind me.

The Golden Hour.JPG

The light was just magical and the sun really set quite rapidly.

Sister Sunset 2.JPG

Sister Sunset 3.JPG

Soon it was very near dark. But still the beauty remained.

Sister Sunset 4.JPG

Sister Sunset 6.JPG

All these photos were taken hand held with my Nikon. The later it got the more I could see my shakes in the photos. I had a LOT of unusable frames.

Sister Sunset 7.JPG

Sister Sunset 8.JPG

And then it was dark and I was waiting for sunrise.

Sister Sunset 9.JPG

Sunrise didn't really happen here. I had badly miscalculate the angle of sun up and it turned out to be entirely blocked by the hill behind my spot. Really, it just got light.

Sister Daylight 2.JPG

Sister Daylight 3.JPG

It really wasn't less beautiful, it just wasn't dramatically beautiful without a direct sun rise.

I hope you enjoyed my photographs of one teeny spot on a huge coastline. It was a wonderful place to stop for the night!

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse.

You want some really cool stuff? Check these authors, they will not disappoint.

@morkrock Music Games Stinging Politics. Don't go here with thin skin.

@soyrosa Great Photographs and Insights for us All.

@sultnpapper Truth Teller and Poker Player.

@jangle Because Jangle A great writer and serious hustler.

@tarazkp Great writing and lots of it!

@galenkp Most engaging guy on Hive.

Sort:  

That's why Michigan is so awesome. You can sit on the coast of Lake Huron in the morning to catch the sunrise and then drive the two hours to the coast of Lake Michigan to catch the sunset. Nice shots! This looks like a really awesome place to visit. Did you camp right there or did you take the one shots and then come back the next day to get the other ones?

I was going to aske the same, about camping. It looks like a good spot to poke a fire with a stick and listen to the waves. :)

There are multiple places right near by that are for camping. One state park that holds really fond memories of my youth. I didn't have a fire but I did make some coffee on my mixed gas stove. It was a great place for stealth camping but not so good for a fire :)

There is some nearby National Forest Service land that would have been excellent for camping and a fire. But 5 miles from the beach...

I'd settle for a coffee I reckon. Nice spot, sipping the good stuff. What's not to like? ✅

!Engage 20

I stayed right there, slept in the car. :) There was a 'no camping' sign but a couple in a fifth wheel there ahead of me. I was out of sight of the road (as were they) about 40 yards apart.

I had my story ready. I was going to tell whoever stopped to check that I wasn't camping, I was just waiting for sunrise.

I'd tell them I stopped to take a dump, but the ducks chased me back in the car :-)

Ducks or Sea Lions. There are millions of them in that area much of the year. Not many when I was there they are out chomping on the salmon and steelhead runs :)

and I am sure Sharks are not far behind.

Orcas. Hammerhead are about the biggest sharks in the area. Great White are really quite rare...

That is pretty awesome!

!Engage 20

What a gorgeous place!

The entry pic is my pick, well chosen :)

In the future it is good to note, the sun generally rises on the opposite side of where it sets ;D - though that is totally not true this far north.

Ahahahahaha. If it had been opposite I would have been perfect. I was there almost exactly on the summer solstice so it was quite a ways north of straight east.

I have given up trying to predict it in Finland - it apparently changes daily. :)

I actually know the theory quite well. I just assumed straight west when in fact I was in a bit of a curved bay so what I thought was west was actually south west. I'd have been perfect at the winter solstice :)

!Engage 20

Hi @bigtom13! This is one of those places that pictures don`t do justice. Wonderful view of the rocks and the ocean, a great spot to charge your batteries. ;0)

It was just a wonderful place, I'm glad I spent the time. It's just one of millions of little pull outs on Highway 101. It is a great place to charge batteries.

!Engage 20

Again, a lovely spot and nice work admitting to the sun-up miscalculation...Honesty and ownership is a strength. :)

This kind of reminds me of a place in New Zealand, just out of Dunedin - Something about the shrubs and that yellow-flowered plant.

20191014_155821_2 (1).jpg
Tunnel Beach

Wow. That's a gorgeous place too. The northern Pacific coast has lots of rocks and features right near the shore. This is just one place of hundreds. I'll post some pictures up the coast a ways at a friend's place. A beautiful natural harbor and some oyster beds and such.

I was a little surprised at how thick the vegetation was. I always thought the last couple hundred meters wasn't exactly verdant. I was wrong :)

A good spot for sure, you've been around huh? Have you travelled much O/S?

None. Canada and Mexico some, but I've never gotten around to anything else. To my shame, actually.

Ah ok, shame...I don't know, just figured you'd have been around a bit.

Well, I joined the Navy to see the world and that didn't work out so good :)

I don't know. I've considered going abroad lots of times but I always seem to think of something here that needs to be seen. I've traveled more in North America than most...

Travelling in North America is t all bad mate, so much to see.

!Engage 20

Awesome seaside hillocks :) Any chances of snow there and people tumbling in it?

Not much chance of snow (though it has happened) because the Japanese current keeps this stretch of the Pacific moderately warm. Just a few miles inland the altitude rises fast and there is lots of snow...

Yeah, I imagined the current would spoil things for everybody ;)

!Engage 20

Beautiful pictures. I am sure it made for a great experience. Maybe someday I will get to see the Oregon and Washington coastlines outside of my very short time in Seattle.

Both are stunningly beautiful. The Pacific coastline north of Seattle up the Olympic Peninsula is wild and stunning. Southern Washington tends toward broad beaches and tidal pools. Oregon has great surfing in places and wild rocky beaches, too.

!Engage 20

I am glad I didnt miss this post I was looking forward to it what a delightful view point and there will be many more sunrises to see so don't worry you miscalulated on the view of it from there

Ahahaha. I was telling Taraz up above: I'd have nailed it perfectly if it had been the winter solstice rather than summer :)

The sunset photos were way more than enough to make me not mourn the lack of sunrise. Spectacular place.

I love the shots you did get so do not worry about the ones you didn't ;)

!Engage 20

This seems to be a nice area to wander around..... the shape of the rocks when in a dark mode reminded me of the Bohol Chocolate Hills in the Philippines.

OIP.jpg
Image Source

Hi ya! This area of Oregon is way too green, but right here where I am the nearest mountains (cough-they are hills) are known as the Chocolate Mountains. They are rocky and brown and dry.

Warren is therex.jpg

Probably called one because of the dark color... the ones in Bohol are green because of the fertile soil and the constant rain... humidity there is high. Thanks for sharing.