The Day of the Dad's


Happy Father's Day to all my "father" friends! 💖

It is so hard to leave this day go without raising the flag to my own dad, who celebrated my journey through life as long as he was alive. He was an amazing role model and is still my hero. But, the best or the most important thing and the greatest gift I ever got was his unconditional love. Forever and ever, Amen. Hands down.

I think we all love our fathers, but, I don't think we know the depth of it until they are gone.


mum 2.jpg

26 4.png


"June 21, 2015, is Father’s Day in the United States. It was invented by Sonora Smart Dodd, whose single father, American Civil War veteran William Jackson Smart, raised her and her five siblings. It was first celebrated on June 19, 1910, in Spokane, Washington, two years after the first Mother’s Day was celebrated in Grafton, West Virginia. But while Mother’s Day was proclaimed by President Woodrow Wilson in 1914, Father’s Day didn’t wasn’t recognized until 1966 when President Lyndon B. Johnson proclaimed it."


May there always be a flower to color your world. #alwaysaflower


23KQwnti57stuXpnvnU2D4w5Hhi3Micu1ZRCk7Tjiao4xBwLYzD8UGf2ap5YyGpfRK5q3gKEozZXcLAY8GjSauxR6AHNcFg.png


Let's not forget to do the needful!

B69zEhWZA8UBvwpPuizsfz2BSKyPpR2EfU2NDGY4pk6pYwLTXrfrBEsJCewmYernQJoGPzGzZJw3jyNQhqft5VXj62T5shNRGQkMKi2z.jpg


Even though many places have been cleared to carry on as normal, please wear a mask when you go out and use proper social distancing.




Facebook

Twitter

Instagram



Thank you for visiting! And just like that, this post is over! Come back tomorrow and we'll do it again! 💖 Don't ever forget what a wonderful world we live in, people. Some days, it is not as easy to see, how wonderful it really is. Kindness counts. Wherever you go, whatever you do.


they set my aunts house on fire
i cried the way women on tv do
folding at the middle
like a five pound note.
i called the boy who use to love me
tried to ‘okay’ my voice
i said hello
he said warsan, what’s wrong, what’s happened?

i’ve been praying,
and these are what my prayers look like;
dear god
i come from two countries
one is thirsty
the other is on fire
both need water.

later that night
i held an atlas in my lap
ran my fingers across the whole world
and whispered,
"where does it hurt?"
it answered,

"everywhere"
"everywhere"
"everywhere"

warsan shire



#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 2  Copy.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif

always a flower BWonkie small 486 x 307.png

Sort:  

I am always a bit jealous of those that had a proper dad that was present in their lives. It is hard to say just how important a father can to be one's life over all. Hope your day was a good one!

I think your mom probably overcompensated because you didn't have him there. Who is to say that you would have been better off with him, right?

I know your mom was kind and loving and made sure you knew all the important lessons in life. I can honestly say that you may have pulled the golden ticket on that one. Some with a real day had unloving relationships between the parents and abuse.

Who's to say you didn't really win in all of this.

I had a great day, despite it being Father's Day and not Mother's Day! ;)

!tip

🎁 Hi @old-guy-photos! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: The Day Of The Dad'S Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Happy fathers day, its pleasure to know that your that is your role model and hero. He loves you whatever its unconditional. Probably you are the luckiest girl ever.

I am the luckiest ever! That is how I feel! I hope you had a wonderful Father's Day also!

Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words.

!tip

🎁 Hi @sheikh27! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: The Day Of The Dad'S Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Denise what a wonderful thing to have a Father like yours. I can relate as my Dad will be 91. Dementia has taken him over and he will have to be put in a Nursing Home soon but my memories of him and his Love will remain :)

Thank you so much @robertandrew! Alzheimer's is what robbed my dad of his life and it is hard on the family. There were many kids but, because my mom didn't want him in a center I went down to help them out, leaving my own family and stayed for almost 6 months. Once you become part of it, there is no way you can leave them. Nursing Home wasn't an option. My mother made me promise not to do that and in the end, it was a good decision. I ended up using hospice the last month and a half with him and they are the kindest, gentlest people ever.

He is gone now, but, I still miss him. Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words. Have a great day and good luck with your dad.

!tip

🎁 Hi @robertandrew! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

I have lost both my parents but I can honestly say that all that I am today is because of them, but more so my dad. My wife says I am a clone of my dad. In the way I do things, the way I think, in the way I interact with other people she says it's all my dad. He passed away at 90 but up until 2 days before his death, we still played a couple of games of chess. He was my chess buddy, my mah-jong partner and my guidance counselor till the end. I pray for him and my mom everyday since they passed away. I miss them a lot.

That is so remarkable and I am so happy for you. My dad was mostly active until Alzheimer's took the dad I knew away from me. I have to admit that I think we lived in a better time for relationships with our parents as they grew older. Or perhaps it is because we all lived closer and nowadays, kids seem to be charting their own path and moving far away from home.

It's exciting for them and yet, there are days I think that they miss out on so much, family wise.

I miss mine also. Very much.

Thanks for visiting and I am so sorry it took me so long to respond. Have a nice day!

!tip

Please don't apologize for taking long to respond. I completely understand the load of work that you do here in Hive and of course add to that your personal life. The contributions alone in your Market Friday seem to get more and more every week and your very thorough and enthusiastic replies to every entry just blows my mind away, how you can do it and keep up with it. Really glad to have met someone like you here in our platform.

It really is my pleasure! It isn't that much trouble. I just need to quit working. :)

Thank you so much for your always kind comments. Have a great night!

🎁 Hi @gems.and.cookies! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Whisper To Me Gently Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

It was a good day to remember my dad as well - also a person who provided unconditional love. I will miss him always! But today I focused on my husband - the father of my children. Days like today are always bittersweet. There is so much to appreciate, and so much to miss.

I too hope people will simply wear masks in public. It's not much to ask. And even though the reports are mixed on how effective they are at preventing the spread of the virus, it's such a small thing to do when it's a matter of life and death. Unbelievably, many people just don't see it that way.

It really doesn't keep a person from spreading it, however, if you are coughing and wearing a mask, it protects the other people. It is a selfless act of kindness being performed.

That is enough reason for me to wear one.

And yes. It is a small price. I agree!

Have a great day and thanks for stopping by!

!tip

🎁 Hi @jayna! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: The Day Of The Dad'S Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Same Father's Day for us. People were going out to eat for the 1st weekend reopening.
Incidentally, it was on the other blogging platform I found out that Taiwan has a different date for Father's Day on 8th August. 8 sounds like ba or pa. 8/8 sounds like papa. Make sense?

sounds like ba or pa. 8/8 sounds like papa. Make sense?

I didn't understand what you meant. Sorry! I didn't know you had the same Father's Day! Very cool!

Now tell me what that means! :)

!tip

OK. Let me elaborate a bit.
8 in Chinese sounds like ba or pa.
Therefore 8/8 (8th of Aug), short refer to 88 is baba or papa.
And 8th Aug is Taiwan's Father which can be 88 day or papa day.

Haha! Yes! I get it now! :) Thanks for the explanation!

🎁 Hi @ace108! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: The Day Of The Dad'S Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

our fathers are very valuable. People who share their life experiences with us and love unconditionally. I congratulate them all day. and congratulations on your excellent work..

Thank you so much! I was happy to see the win. :) Next week, someone else, and that's okay.

Father's are one of our most valuable assets a family can have! :)

Thanks for stopping by and saying hello!

!tip

🎁 Hi @hairofmedusa! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: The Day Of The Dad'S Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 11 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
2

Thanks so much for the Repost @pixresteemer! Much appreciated!

!tip

🎁 Hi @pixresteemer! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: The Day Of The Dad'S Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Congratulations @dswigle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 49000 comments. Your next target is to reach 50000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you for the notification @hivebuzz! Much appreciated! Have a great day!

!tip

Engagement is key and you are a great role model for it @dswigle! ❤️
thanks for your support! 🙏
Liz

My pleasure, always!

🎁 Hi @hivebuzz! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: The Day Of The Dad'S Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.