You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Family

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

Sorry that you were never able to get to meet your birth mother and have your question answered. My guess is that she had your best interest in mind and not hers. I look forward to hearing the rest of this story for sure.
Also, the wife and I know the feeling of joy adoptive parents have in bringing home the one day old infant. Our oldest boy is adopted and we experienced that with him. I also let you know another thing, and your parents that raised you would probably agree, there was always a feeling in the back of our minds that someday the birth mother would come back and want her child back. Those feelings were pretty strong in the beginning but became less over time, it wasn't until he was eighteen that we finally let go of that fear for good. Being adoptive parents is very rewarding and very stressful as well.
Great story,
Sult

Sort:  

I think this is what my mom would say if she had hive!

Being adoptive parents is very rewarding and very stressful as well.

I thank her for raising me and taught me many things and fo always being there when I am sick and needed someone to rely on. I came to know I was adopted at age seventeen, just about five years ago. It took me a while to accept the fact that my mother gave me away to give me a better chance in life. I hope your son cherished what you did for him.

Cheers.

Thanks for taking the time to read my comment to Tom and replying to me. My son is the same age that you are according to your note. We don't have the perfect life by any stretch of the imagination but he knows that his life with us has been one of being loved, appreciated, and cared for and lets us know that very frequently.
" I hope your son cherished what you did for him.", you said. I can tell you he has, and does cherish his life and family and lets us know very often. Not only in words but through his actions.
I took the opportunity to peak at your blog and read the latest there you posted about your tweet, I plan to get back over there and comment on that one. You enlightened me on a couple of things , thanks.
~signing off ~ ?

I can tell you he has, and does cherish his life and family and lets us know very often. Not only in words but through his actions.

That's really good to hear :) !

Well, after I grew up a bit (like when I was maybe 55 :)) and it got to be not so much about me. I talked to my mother about the stresses of adopting. I REALLY appreciate what you did for your son, and I can hardly express what both my mothers gave to me. There is absolutely no question that my birth mother did the very best for me she could...

Thanks Sult. I always appreciate your presence.

No problem man, glad I could offer some perspective that others might not realize, obviously you had already gained that from talking to your mother. We did like your parents and we let our boy know from day one he was loved first, and adopted second. He is half Hispanic so it wasn't like we could have pulled the wool over his eyes even if we wanted too. The wife is German heritage with blue eyes and blonde hair and I'm Irish & Ukraine with green eyes so him being darker skinned with jet black hair and brown eyes is pretty dead giveaway we aren't his birth parents.
I am just so glad for you.