A secondhand secondary hobby

The neighbors dropped by for a quick visit last night to see how things were progressing and an interesting conversation around hobbies struck up. The husband was being criticized (playfully-ish) for his habits surrounding hobbies, as he looks for secondhand equipment instead of buying new - even though he could quite easily buy the equipment off the shelf. The criticism is that the stuff he buys isn't always in the greatest condition and it might even cost him more from time to time as he has to repair it. His wife believes he should just buy (at least some) of the stuff new to "save the hassle" of searching and repair.

And his response pretty much sums it up:

Where's the fun in that?

I agree.

OI000255.jpg

When it comes to hobbies, developing knowledge in the area is a large part of building the skillset and while some people like to just "pay and play", spending time researching, searching, finding, discussing and buying the equipment can actually develop a far deeper understanding of the skill and the tools involved, as well as encourage the introduction of randomness, instead of relying on a salesperson or brochure alone. This means that a person is more likely to go wider in brand selection and with the potentially lower price point, experiment with versions. On top of this, the process of buying secondhand is actually an enjoyable (for some) hobby in and of itself.

Humans are collectors and nearly all of us collect something that we consider valuable, whether it is a product, money, friends, likes, a token, or the shrunken heads of our conquered enemies. We also collect knowledge, experiences and a fair number of us might have collected one or two notches on the bedpost. Collecting is a hobby we seemingly all have and no matter what the target of our attention, part of the attraction is actually the process of building the collection.

I think that a lot of people have a good sense of this process on Hive and while there are many different strategies on how to collect tokens, many do spend some time thinking about it. For me, Hive is a hobby and part of the participation is having some understanding of the tools available as well as a broader sense of the skillsets involved. This means going wider than where I would do if I stayed only in the core skill, the content creation side.

A big part of the attraction of the Hive ecosystem is that it is an ecosystem, a microcosm world that closely resembles the larger world container it sits in - including an economy that affects inhabitants at many levels. It is highly dynamic, evolving and there are measures of risk and of course, reward involved. Depending on how one looks at it, it can be hard to tell what is the primary hobby, and what are secondary and tertiary factors that support the main.

Using my friend and his hobbies as an example, he probably spends more time over the space of a year preparing for doing them, than actually doing them. This makes sense if we consider how the brain works as it can imagine doing activities in the future without actually having to do them, which is why they say that planning a holiday can be just as rewarding (and potentially more so) than going on a holiday. at the point of planning, everything goes "according to plan".

Hobby support is even better on Hive, as it has a lot of metrics that can give feedback on progress toward the main goals, whether a person looks to create the best content, earn the most tokens or build engagement. The other thing is that due to the transparency of information, it is possible to see how other people run their strategies and what kinds of outcomes all kinds of strategies get.

Hobbies are the things we do for fun, it is a free-time leisure activity and is performed for enjoyment. While some people will actually earn from their hobbies such as some painters or people who buy and sell collectibles, most don't go into it to get any other return than the joy of doing it. For most, hobbies are an expense, of some kind of resource (time, money, energy) which is part of why they are seen as valuable.

My neighbor spends valuable time in several secondary functions that support his core hobbies and as such, tends to appreciate them more for doing so, because he has invested into them. I would predict that the people who don't go through the secondary processes of building a hobby, probably tend not to stick with it or accomplish a significant level of improvement. Sunk costs in time in the secondary functions help us take something more seriously than the process of buying the disposable tools of the trade and due to the research component, gives us the sense of being knowledgeable - which is a good foundation to build upon.

I think that a lot of people don't understand this intuitively, but tend to do it automatically when they actually find something they enjoy. For example, the other side of the couple loves to garden and while she would probably like the look of a garden that has been designed, bought and installed for her - she probably wouldn't have much attachment to it. Easy come, easy to go. For her, she takes pride in her garden because she has invested her resources into it and as such, cares about it. She is attentive to its needs and adjusts her processes to get better results - she grows her garden through process - not purchase. Her garden is the fruition and feedback of the actions she performs and she gets satisfaction from the good results - but spends a great deal more time on the process.

In my experience through life and observation I have had it clearly demonstrated time and time again that if a person doesn't enjoy the process of getting to where they want to be, they aren't likely to invest themselves into the ways to get there. I have seen this on Hive too, where people want a specific result, but do not perform the secondary actions to get there, which means they are much more likely miss their mark yet feel they invested themselves well - leaving them disappointed.

A large part of the benefits of developing the surrounding skills is the knowledge bank that gets developed that builds a personal microcosm within the Hive microcosm that compounds against each other to support the main goals. A supportive foundation and intentional process development is something that can be built upon and, if it isn't working, much more easy to troubleshoot and adjust for the next attempt.

We can all learn from other's failures, but how come so few of us learn from other's successes?

Perhaps it is because the failures are something to avoid, whereas the successes require actually doing something.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

I agree as your knowledge does deepen the more you are involved. Perfect neighbor if it is power tools.

I do borrow the odd tool from that side of the road and I am also buying some to compliment the range. Since they are such good friends, it is a nice way to keep costs down. :)

Your neighbor has a weird hobby, you did good pointing out the usefulness but it's still weird.

Interesting view about humans being collectors of sorts. Come to think of it, I can actually see myself in that light now (though never did so consciously before)

Finally, is it possible we outgrow hobbies, or they outlive their usefulness? Steemit used to be a hobby of sorts, but my inability to keep up at a time perhaps showed that my needs at the time outweighed time for external pleasures

Your neighbor has a weird hobby, you did good pointing out the usefulness but it's still weird.

He has several hobbies and when things like a set of skis new are 1200€, getting a near-new second hand set for 300 is not a bad decision, since only using them a couple times a year.

Come to think of it, I can actually see myself in that light now (though never did so consciously before)

A jar of hearts?

Finally, is it possible we outgrow hobbies, or they outlive their usefulness?

I hope so, as some collections truly are weird. A friend and I collected rubber bands and pencil shavings - we were seven and it was a lot of fun. :D

some people don't grow out of some things though, they just change their taste in range. I know one who wanted to collect matchbox cars as a kid, now he collects real cars.

I know one who wanted to collect matchbox cars as a kid, now he collects real cars.

Now that's what I call a hobby that matured

Yeah - just as useless ;D

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Where's fun in that indeed! I am currently learning about new skill or let's say I hope it will turn into hobby. I could buy all the stuff needed for it, but the thing is, where's fun in that? It would be assembly not creating. Same as following recipes to the letter. No fun. No experimentation. No feeling of truly being the one who created the end result.

And you hit the nail on head with the gardening. Exactly. That is how it is for me too :)

Perhaps once one has enough experience "making stuff" for the hobby, the skill is there to buy it and use it well :)

And you hit the nail on head with the gardening. Exactly. That is how it is for me too

It is funny that she doesn't recognize this in herself.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Yeah I feel sometimes the prospect of being a millionaire makes people think they can be millionaires that easily and this makes people not want to engross themselves. Like you said, skills are needed to really enjoy the process of being here and getting those skills are just as imperative.

"I want to be a millionaire, but I don't want to do the work to get there" - which is probably why lotteries are so popular.

Yeah and hive isn't a lottery, but people won't still get this even after you tell them a million times again and again.

Maybe it is, but it is one where we get to load the dice and affect the numbers :)

Affecting the numbers

This is just the perfect stance, but loading the dice is where the issues are, reaping and reaping and to them not a chance of sowing

Depends what outcome you are looking for. Affecting for example engagement and onboarding by building attractive applications affects the dice roll also :)

There is a way you pick on something and go with it and the more you do, the more it expands into something profound and relatable.

As I am reading this, I am looking around my tiny bedroom and noticing everything that I have, I have gathered throughout half of the just concluded decade. Collectors indeed we are.

Hive is a hobby to you? With the investment that has fueled this pricey hobby, I didn't ever see it as a hobby for you. I feel like it's more of a part time job, lol.

the more it expands into something profound and relatable.

Life is all around us, if we pay attention :)

I have gathered throughout half of the just concluded decade.

I remember the fire you went through and I know people who have lost all they own. I think the collection is part of us, but what makes us stronger is the ability to let go of what was and start again.

Hive is a hobby to you?

Definitely. It is hopefully one of the rare occasions that "love what you do" pays off too though :) Time-wise, I have put more into here than I have working hours in jobs.

Yes. Life is all around us.

The fire contributed to the slow progress I have seen myself through. I am lucky to still have my life.

but what makes us stronger is the ability to let go of what was and start again.

True. But willingly it must be. One has to want to heal.

What a productive hobby you have then but well deserved. I am still impressed by how engaging you are ;)

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I remember a friend of mine once telling me about how her husband was probably glad she does digital art more than analogue as on that occasion she'd spent quite a bit of money on resources for an analogue project and doing that kind of thing constantly can get pretty damn expensive XD

Yeh my hobby-that-I'm-trying-to-make-money with is kind of expensive ^_^; [looking at my expensive toys tools x_x]

My dad started off finger painting as good brushes were unavailable to him, then moved to brushes because of the lead in the paint and then to acrylics (you know those big-ass bottles at schools?) because he was head of the art department at a school, and got his paints cheap :)

Do what you can with what you've got/ can afford. I think that is part of the creative side of art - "making do" :D

Humans are collectors and nearly all of us collect something that we consider valuable, whether it is a product, money, friends, likes, a token, or the shrunken heads of our conquered enemies.

I couldn't agree more with thou here, I have a friend who collects old camera as an hobby...now he has a lit of them. Even though they are not in the best conditions, he still loves his stock of antique treasures as he calls them.

nothing wrong with having a few of something useless around. Some people spend their time sitting in front of a TV, others tinkering with old and broken stuff - I think more is learnt through tinkering.

Sure there is nothing wrong in that but he definitely argue with you for calling his collection useless lol. 😄

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Your post generated a lot of interactions and was the most commented of the day

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

waaw so good

Have you been around a long time, because these kinds of comments are awesome!

I think being on HIVE is one hobby, and also after being one HIVE I have developed the hobby of Photography and writing as well.

Okay, you are talking in Euro's here and I will talk in South African Rands!

Whenever one tackles a hobby, one should have some kind of an affinity towards it.
A case in point. I can do welding, carpentry, electrical, plumbing and a host of other tradesmen tasks.
Yet I sit with a store full of second hand tools that I collected over time and they are crying out for restoration.
Some day when I have time is my excuse!

Second case! Don't tackle a hobby that you know nothing about!
I bought a nice wide fit Corduroy pants at a charity shop. They were made in the UK, but they don't make them anymore, as nowadays all the pants are Spaghetti fits (tight legs that looks like stove pipes).

Of course the pants were too short, but the waist was 34inch (my fit).
So I decided to take up the hobby of sowing.
It sounds and looks so easy. (Biggest mistake of my life)

Now I won't go into the results, but I had to take the R30 bargain pants to a tailor to fix and it cost me R250 for him to try and fix it. I forgot to tell you that also cut and tried fix the leg seams.
I have paid too much for the ruined pants to throw it out and it hangs proudly in my wardrobe to remind me about my errors in life.

Now to relate all of this to Hive, I can only say firstly that in the tools case procrastination can take anyone nowhere!

In the pants case, instead of trying it yourself, find a better "tailor" on Hive as there are many that are hanging their signs out!

Just my 3 cents here! Note that this is not financial advice hahaha.

Very interesting! I think that hobbies have some work but a lot of playfulness, and I think that combination is very satisfying, at least emotionally.
It is very pleasant to hear any collectors display their knowledge and experience on the matter, with that sparkle in their eyes that only appears when something is truly appreciated with passion.

You really have to enjoy the process in order to achieve results. You got a good point with the collector part of this endeavour called hobby. There is something within us wanting to possess and collect things, rewards, achievements, on our liking.
I think it is great to have a hobby and invest time, energy, money, if it makes you happy. As long as you don't break the bank💰😂