Done and Dusted

OI000547 1.jpg


Done and Dusted


Across the room I saw you smile
and stopped to watch the dance a while.
A broken heart at the bottom of a bottle
and a cracked shot glass upon the floor.
Switching it up to try again,
the opening door and the invite in,
a lot of debt and a little sin,
with a little straight and a lot of spin,
A word game played
and the bullets strayed,
Hitting the wall and leaving no mark,
but there we were already at the start.
We spilled out into the street,
the stars were never seen as bright,
under the electric city light,
a lost day and a gained night.
You took me up and dropped me down,
I looked away - you spun me round,
Bit off more than I could chew,
the result you already knew.
The dust settled and sky cleared,
slinking past as morning neared
and crawling back beneath the quilt,
no regret, no guilt.


Taraz_Hive.png


Sort:  

Sounds like a night to remember to me. I enjoyed reading this.

Ever wondered what situation brings out the best version of you?

Trauma. I learn a lot. I've experienced a lot of medical trauma, not in me but in several other members of the family I am the Mom of. I've learned how to be both more assertive and more patient and have felt like your words below very often.

The dust settled and sky cleared,
slinking past as morning neared
and crawling back beneath the quilt,
no regret, no guilt.

It is terrible to have sick children. A couple of times so far we have been in situations with ours that we were unsure if we would pull through in one piece - but, perhaps we not only learn, but improve our ability to cope also.

Yes my coping skills are excellent now. Put one foot in front of the other, take valium if you have to to get a good night's sleep, and never forget that joy is within reach.

They don't do stuff like valium in Finland.

Hopefully, the coping skills of the hard times, convert to enjoyment skills in the good times.

Really nice poem.
You really are a wonderful writer.
Thanks for sharing 😃

Thank you very much - it is always fun to experiment a little :)

You are welcome. Keep it fresh, you are good at it.

Beautiful poetry, nice rhyme in every lines.

Thank you.

What was your inspiration for the poem?

Little bits of my life. Most of what I write is tied to my life in some way.

Gotcha. I used to write lots of poetry years ago. Sappy stuff. Was going through a box the other day and found sone. Sure brought back memories

I find it a good way to process thoughts as well as play with language. Living in Finland (as I can't usually use my full ability) has reduced my active vocabulary a lot, as well as limited the development of my language. Writing has helped keep it active.

Will you write more now?

What a wonderful text, @tarazkp! I like the sensual (sensory) tone of some images. The symbolism of sin, the forbidden and the fleeting, breathes in each of the verses, but also that of: from dust we come and from dust we are. The encounter and the disagreement is part of the game of any conquest. That end is the constancy that in every game, beyond losing or winning, the important thing is to play. Good text for this Friday. Greetings

That end is the constancy that in every game, beyond losing or winning, the important thing is to play.

As the saying goes, hate the game, not the player :D

I felt this.
nods

nice i like first 6 line th most

Why is that you think?

very good but i think there are a community for poetry

Thanks - but there is no necessity to post in a poetry community.

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 4100 posts. Your next target is to reach 4200 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
Update for regular authors

Beautiful, you are a good poet!