A Store Owner In Charge

in Homesteading6 months ago

IMG_20231204_211153.jpg

I studied for years in college with a Bachelor of Marine Engineering course. Pity me, I was studying in 2 different schools. My apologies to my sisters and brothers who supported me, I ended up in the store, not a seafarer. I got older and maybe you could call me a lazy one because I chose not to work in fields.

Even so, I didn't want my life to be in a mess. I didn't want to disappoint my family who believed me not to have the same lifestyle as we used to before. I decided to have my own small store where in the future when I'd have a family I could at least feed my family and maybe can afford just small material things. So far so good, for now, I don't have complaints about claiming things I'd love and being able to eat the food I'd want. However, it's not about it, it's just now that I realized having a small store that gets bigger is not that easy.

IMG_20220217_112330.jpg

I thought this would be an easier one to earn money since you will not force yourself to sync in with others. You don't need to be flexible in terms of working at different times and with different people. You don't need to follow a bossy boss or order from your superior. What I was thinking from the beginning when I started this was all wrong.

It's true that no one can dictate to me what time to open and close the store. Also, no one can tell me what I should do or how I handle things and customers. I just learned that when you want to have a better sale in the store, the things I hated when I decided not to work are in fact I've been doing it now.

When my wife started working as a teacher I accepted the reality that the store would only be mine to handle. Opening at 5 in the morning and closing at 10 in the evening is sometimes exhausting. I'm not a robot of course, so in the afternoon I have someone to take over the store because I need to rest. This kind of routine is every day, and maybe it's not heavy and hard but believe me, it drains energy sometimes.

IMG_20220217_112301.jpg

Maybe you thought it was easy because if you didn't see me standing, for sure I'd been sitting. It's true but what is not is the fact that handling a store is not tiring. Imagine for many hours you'd dealing with random customers with random attitudes and behaviors. Also, there's that time when there are too many customers that you can barely sit. Of course, I did not want to let a single customer wait that long and decided to leave instead. I thought it would be a waste not to let them buy our goods or products in the store. We never know, he/she may buy a bigger amount but every customer is valuable. Even if they'd just buy a single one or a cheaper one, knowing they wanted to buy something. They should always be treated well because they will be back next time with a bigger amount to spend on buying.

I never thought I'd think this way like being dedicated to the store. Well, maybe I became mature in thinking that if I don't work hard, maybe in the future there will be no source of income for me to provide me with food. That's why I am writing this now because I feel exhausted after 2 days straight of sleeping at dawn, after all, there's an event. I did not want to miss that event so even if I'd just tired myself. I was determined to open for almost 24 hours, hoping I could earn more from my daily sales. It only happens once a year after all.

Thank you for reading

This was the successful distribution of school supplies at Anislagon Elementary School.

This was my previous post about asking for support for school supplies.

https://hive.blog/hive-188409/@mrnightmare89/project-school-supplies-3-details-and-expenses

https://peakd.com/hive-188409/@mrnightmare89/ydfzmyed

https://hive.blog/hive-125125/@mrnightmare89/anislagon-elementary-school-needs-support

I just did it on my own this time even though I did not receive support.
https://peakd.com/hive-101690/@mrnightmare89/fixing-the-basketball-ring-at

This was my first ever asking for support.

https://hive.blog/hive-174578/@mrnightmare89/project-basketball-ring-by-hive

This was my first sponsorship.

https://hive.blog/hive-174578/@mrnightmare89/sponsoring-first-day-of-flores-de-mayo

By the way, I am accepting hive/hbd in my store.
https://hive.blog/hive-167922/@mrnightmare89/hivehbd-will-be-accepted-in-my-store-and-future-plans

https://hive.blog/hive-176874/@mrnightmare89/project-school-supplies-2

All content is my own unless otherwise noted
If images are being recycled, I just found it fit in my article.

ABOUT ME

received_2460592767407624.jpeg

Paul is the name but prefers to be called mrnightmare that feels like living in the dream. A country boy and a dreamboy (dreamer) who likes to stay in a small village even though it means abandoning the future to become a seaman. The passion is writing but not sailing in the vast ocean. Don't wonder if the face will not be shown, this is better where the words can flow smoothly. Come, you can tell me your stories and I'll tell you mine. Together, let's explore the world by broadening our thoughts. If you need a shoulder I can lean you mine and I hope I can lean yours. The world is fun when living is not being alone but with someone.

You can find me here:

Medium
discord - mrnightmare89#2161
twitter
instagram

youtube

Sort:  

Congratulations @mrnightmare89! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 3900 posts.
Your next target is to reach 4000 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
Feedback from the December Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - November 2023 Winners List