Have You Ever Read the Whole Entire Bible?

I recently watched a webinar where Voddie Baucham was set to speak. I didn't realize that it was a sales pitch for a website, but it was still interesting. I listened to the majority of it and I'm glad I did. They sent us a document about scientific evidence for reading the Bible 4 or more times a week. It got me to thinking...

One specific quote came from Woodrow Kroll in August 2009.

"I remind you that God wrote a Book; and He only wrote one. I wonder what we'll say to Him at the Judgement Seat of Christ if He asks us, 'Did you read My book? I mean one time in your entire life did you read my whole book?'"

288149625_529812628931296_2818838737578197414_n

This is something that each Christian needs to answer for himself. Do you spend time reading God's Word? Just once a week or more than that? I have been guilty of only spending time in the Word at church on Sunday, and I have also been on the other end of the spectrum where I read the Bible daily.

Many of the statistics in the document were shocking. To boil it all down, the more time you spend reading the Bible a week (4+), your chances of doing things like getting drunk, sex outside of marriage, and gambling go down significantly! They show the statistics for adults and for teenagers and I find the results very interesting and worth looking at!

Here is a link to the document if you're interested in seeing it.

288117614_1699613630386051_8379114395888982295_n

Desiring God has an interesting video about reading your Bible as well as some resources to help you get started or keep going! This is something I want to look at again in the future.

Woodrow Kroll also has a ministry website with a lot of helpful information. It talks about Bible illiteracy in the church, which is a major issue.

Another article by Desiring God about God's book talks about how amazing it is that we have this from God himself. This is an article I want to go back to in the future and read.

I end with a question. Have you ever read the whole Bible? If so, how many times? If not, why not?

287052599_417713977020177_2679359122188121019_n


This post is mostly for me to remind myself of some sources I have found about reading God's Word. I hope it also encourages you to pick up your Bible and read it everyday.

Sort:  

I am definitely guilty too of not spending enough time reading His Word. I tried twice reading the Bible in a year but failed each time due to putting other things before it.

I appreciate these links as resources. I believe those statistics because when we are focused on the things of God we are stronger and more prepared to resist temptation.

Thanks for this important reminder ~

Last year, I started listening to the Word on the Bible app. I tried to do the whole Bible in three months, but it ended up taking 4. It was a pretty good way to do it and on 1.5 or 2 speed, it took less than 30 minutes a day. I made myself read along so I was focused on listening and not just having it as background noise. I also have done one of those daily Bibles in chronological order, but the extra commentary you have to read makes it take a while... Blessings to you!

My husband likes listening to the audio Bible while driving to and from work. It’s good that you make yourself read along. I’ve found if I don’t do that it also becomes background noise and I don’t really take it all in like I need to.

I know I’ll get it achieved but I need to stick to it once I start it again :)

I put a reminder on my Bible app before to make myself remember to do it. Plus I started it in Oct with 90 days left in the year, so I had a goal to finish before then (even though I didn't). It's crazy how it's hard to get started and develop that habit!

I know! I shamefully admit that I have to make myself do these things in order to make it a habit. Then once I stop it’s so hard to get back on track. 🤦🏽‍♀️

I tried to do it when I was a little girl but when I had to read the apocalypse chapter I stopped. I got scared and stopped 😂
Wow, your post made me remember that. Thank you! 💫

That is a scary part, especially for a little girl! I recently listened to the whole Bible over 4 months or so using my Bible app. It was an interesting way to do it! Thanks for commenting.

Thank you for the reminder. I have read the Bible before, as a teen, on a dare. 😂 I wanted to prove that I would read through anything.

Lately, as an adult,it is sometimes difficult to discipline myself to read through the entire Bible. But when I do, especially when I use it to start my day, I am so much calmer, and better at reacting..no wonder David said, "Your word have I hidden in my heart that I may not sin against You."
He got the secret!

It's easier for me to finish the new Teatament than the old. I think I do that once a year, steadily.

Here is my reminder to go and read the Bible and not spend my entire time on social media! It would be sad to meet God and find out that there were so many promises that I never got to experience because I didn't know it was in the Bible, don't you think?

Yes, I totally agree with you and haven't thought of it in relation to knowing the promises you're missing out on! Last time I read through, I listened to it on the Bible app and did the Bible in 90 days with a reminder set on my phone. I forced myself to read along with it so it didn't just become background noise...like while I was cooking. It ended up taking me 4 months, but I'm glad I finished it. Doing it audibly helps get through some of the hard parts like the long names. Blessings to you!

You are definitely right. I feel the same way too! I love Audio Bible! Thank you for your reply 😀

Hello, we have chosen this post to be curated by MCGI Cares(Hive) community. We are inviting you to join our community that study the words of God. Keep doing the great job ❤️

We can also check out our latest video on our official Youtube Channel

BES-MCGI-Cares-Banner-Web-ver01-1024x827-1.jpg

Thanks for the information. I've joined the group!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @apanamamama.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @apanamamama! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 6000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 6250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!