Gardening love

One of the reasons why I enjoy spending time at my in-laws’ place is their small garden. When I say small, I really mean it. I think it’s not bigger than 5x5 meters which is tiny comparing to large gardens that we have back home in Slovakia. It might be tiny, but it is so charming!

20200814_2010280.jpg

My father-in-law loves gardening. He will become 80 years old in January next year, but it doesn’t stop him from gardening. I believe that this is what keeps him young.

20200814_200911.jpg

Every time we visit them, he greets us and hurries us to see his new additions to the garden. He focuses on flowers and small decorative bushes as growing vegetables requires more work and as he keeps saying: his back isn’t as young as it used to be. He tries to grow as many plants as possible, and there are so many already that it is difficult to move between them.

20200814_200750.jpg

His biggest pride is his old fig tree. When I saw it for the first time 10 years ago, I couldn’t believe my eyes. I didn’t know that you could grow figs in The Netherlands! I think that the tree is approximately as old as my husband and keeps giving us sweet fruit every year. He loves the tree and takes great care of it. Holland was facing heat waves in the last couple of weeks and he was so worried about the tree that he kept watering it every day.

20200814_200937.jpg

My mother-in-law wasn’t that excited about it and complained to us, in the hope that we would talk to him. It is funny how they put us in between and expect us to resolve their issues. I think this is what 40+ years marriage does to some people.

When we saw the sad puppy look on his face while he was collecting fallen dry yellow leaves, we couldn’t tell him anything and let him water the tree again.

He even found a place for an apple tree!

20200814_200817.jpg

Another plant that cannot be missed in his garden is the chili pepper, or Lombok as they call it in Indonesia. He eats chili peppers every day and can’t grow them fast enough to fulfill his own eating demand – first world problems. Of course, his chili peppers are the best in the world!

20200814_200706.jpg

A new addition to his few vegetables is white and purple eggplant. They are still very small and cute. He didn’t have space for them, so he placed them on a bench that was supposed to be used for sitting – great solution as there is now no space for sitting. He was disappointed to hear that we will probably not come back in the autumn as he wanted us to try them. He has already planned the meals that he wanted to prepare for us.

20200814_200629.jpg

20200814_201103.jpg

It was difficult to take photos of his flowers as he kept touching them and telling me why he grows them. He is not that much into technology and it took me ages to explain to him that he should not come so close to the camera because his finger will be in the photo as well.

20200814_201011.jpg

There is a lot of talk in the media about the fact that every year there are less and less bees, and my mother-in-law always likes to do her own thing to make the world a better place to be, so this year she bought an insect house. She has been disappointed because she expected that it will be full of insects much faster. She moved it around the garden until she found the spot that she believes is perfect for it. Every morning she goes out and looks for the bees happily buzzing around. I hope for her that they will find it soon.

20200814_200716.jpg

It was so nice to see them after almost 6 months. They were excited to have us around and we were feeling like in an all inclusive 5 stars hotel. I hope to come back soon and eat some Lombok for lunch again.

20200814_201126.jpg

Thank you for reading!

Cheers!

Martina

Sort:  

This was so fun to see his garden! Beautiful and eatable. A wonderful combination.

I think so too :) One day, I'll have similar garden.. maybe bit bigger as I like to grow many veggies :) How is your gardening going this year?

After my spring garden I pulled it all. Summers here are just so hot it is hard to keep things alive. Also I have decided to sell my house. I will be living with a friend for a couple of years till I find good land to build on. I really want a tiny house and a big deck and garden! That's the dream.

Small but wonderful!!!😍

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thank you for your support!

 4 years ago  

How lovely! It's so nice to see you enjoying a small garden, even if it's not yours. I can see your father in laws passion come out in these photos - figs, chillis and eggplant are my gardening dream! I'm growing white eggplant this year too - funny, since I got the seeds, I've seen so many of them come up on HIVE!

One day, I will have my own garden too :) I guess that you can easily grow figs in Australia, right? I assume that it's nice and warm there. White eggplant seems to be a big hit these days. Lucky you! I love eggplant! Used to hate it when I was a child but I guess that it just wasn't very well prepared. It's not a typical veggie in Slovakia, so people don't really know how to make it.

Happy gardening! :)

The flowers in the garden are very beautiful. And you have highlighted the natural beauty among us. Although the garden is small, it looks very beautiful in a very beautiful picture. I don't know how beautiful it looks face to face. 😍

Thank you for stopping by. I didn't want to take a photo of whole garden as they like to keep their privacy, but it is really cute :)

I tried gardening once... I give up 😁
Really a colourful garden, it shows how much they care for their plants.

Why did you give up? I have my balcony garden but find it difficult as well because I travel a lot. But this year with Corona was much easier to grow on my balcony ;)

Thank you for stopping by!

Somehow most of my plants dying, I don't know why... And then I just feel bored 😁

They just need a little bit of love and watering regularly and then it should work :) Actually, this is the only activity I would never get bored of :)

Congratulations @delishtreats! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports the Austrian Community Meetup
Project Activity Update

The bee house is interesting - I seen something quite similar at the University of Vienna Botanical Gardens. They did have Bees in it.
image.png