Grilled Tempeh & Veggies with Mushroom Toast

in Natural Medicine3 years ago (edited)


Grilling season is well and truly here! Really here in Georgia you can just about grill year-round, but it is much more pleasant to cook out of doors this time of year. As I type this the BF is about to get ready to grill some more vegetables for this week. What I am sharing today is last week's delicious medley of grilled goodies.

I almost hesitated to share this one since it is another simple meal. However, I think a lot of people appreciate simple--especially when it comes to meal prep! Plus it's a challenge sometimes to sit down and really work on an elaborate recipe post, so these types of "quickies" seem to be working well with the little bit of time I can find to write up a quick blog each week. The tempeh and vegetables both turned out so fantastic they are worth remembering for future grilling sessions anyway!

I love all grilled veggies, but broccoli has made it up to the top of the list for recent favorites after trying it for the first time on my birthday. Along with broccoli florets I sliced up fresh spring onions (the root and stem) before marinating in a simple mixture of a splash of avocado oil, the juice and zest of one lemon and freshly chopped parsley. I let the mixture marinate in the refrigerator for a few hours before we put them on the grill. So simple, but that lemon really popped! A perfect reminder how a little citrus makes everything that much more vibrant.

The tempeh I also prepped ahead of time so that the flavors of the marinade would have time to work into the product. I sliced two blocks of tempeh into four triangles each. The marinade just came out of ingredients I happened to have on hand and thought would make for a nice flavor and caramelize well on the grill. Into a small blender I added a handful of fresh blueberries, a few tablespoons of dark cherry balsamic vinegar (you could sub regular balsamic or another berry flavor if you have it), a tablespoon of blueberry jam from the farmers market (just blueberries and small amount of sweetener), a tablespoon of red miso, and fresh oregano from the garden. Another really simple mixture that turned out to make the finished product absolutely delicious. Like tofu, I find tempeh that much more enjoyable with a robust marinade or sauce. This definitely fit the bill.

To round out the meal, I toasted sourdough slices in the toaster oven (though they would probably have been great grilled, too) and spread on a bit of vegan cream cheese. To top off the toast I sautéed fresh oyster mushrooms from the farmers market. Again, nothing fancy, but certainly hit the spot. This might give my avocado toast for breakfast a run for its money...

The individual parts were all great on their own. Though the whole meal was the perfect Sunday spring plate. We will have plenty more of these as the season goes on, subbing out veggies for what comes in season at the farmers market or out of our garden. The grill imparts such nice flavor that it doesn't take much to dress up fresh produce anyway. On the menu tonight: sweet potatoes, fennel, ramps and glorious local asparagus! To go along with slow cooker baked beans....alright, time to get that going before I get hungry!

Happy Sunday and happy grilling season my friends!

This meal almost hit all three of the savory prompts for the latest Plant Power Cooking Challenge. I got two out of three @justinparke. Perhaps if only the bread had been potato bread...

Banners by @woman-onthe-wing and @dksart

Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive



Posted from my blog with Exxp : https://plantstoplanks.com/grilled-tempeh-veggies-with-mushroom-toast/

Sort:  

All sounds really good, I would never have thought of grilling brocolli but onions are always top of my list especially the little pickling onions. Lemon always is good with just about anything in my eyes! Enjoy the warmer weatger @plantstoplanks!

 3 years ago  

I think grilling is my favorite way to eat onions! You should definitely try broccoli when you can, it's quite yummy with that bit of char and smoky flavor, too. Hope all is well on your side of the world!

That is delicious and beautiful dish!

 3 years ago  

Thank you so much! 🤗

What I never had is tempeh and grilled veggies. Tempeh is not available in the nearby market and never got a chance to grill veggies but now it seems I have missed both. Your combination of both is amazing and healthy.

 3 years ago  

Thanks @chetanpadliya! I love tempeh, so I'm happy I can usually find it fairly easily. Although here it seems like there has become more demand for the vegan options like tofu and tempeh, so occasionally my usual stores are sold out! Grilled veggies really are a dream. I hope you can try some soon!

Sure I would love to try it!

Delicious! :)

 3 years ago  

Thanks for grilling dear! I'm sure tonight's dinner will be just as good. ;)

I grill everything I can! Although you call it simple, I find that I am more willing to try things if there aren't too many steps.

OMG.. I am so lazy!

This looks amazing and I love meals that look wonderful as well as taste good!! Hi, Katie! Hope all is well in your world!

Mwah!

 3 years ago  

Denise! Nice to see you. And yes, I agree, simple really is best most times. Especially when you have nice fresh produce to work with. I have seen some of your cooking, I would not call you lazy. ;)

Just went strawberry picking for the first time this season yesterday. All is definitely well in my berry-filled world. Hope things are well with you and yours!

During the week, simple is best, although, it has to be a real meal with a family. Yours always are! Fresh produce is a must when possible and always tastes so much better. We are so spoiled! :)) I say lazy because if it has too many steps, I shy away from it or it eats all my time up. Some days, I don't mind spending half a day in the kitchen, but, not every day.

Strawberries! That is so awesome! We are too North, but, soon!!! I look forward to seeing what you have going next. I feel like I have such a hard time getting around to comment. But, things have gotten more manageable now! Great to see you! ❤️

 3 years ago  

Hopefully you're not too far behind in the berry abundance! I'm definitely having a hard time with commenting and posting. This past year has been really busy. Can't complain because busy is good in my world, but definitely miss interacting more with my online pals at times. :)

Totally agree. The carbon world has taken me away this year, but, that's not all bad! :) Definitely miss some of the interaction here and there.

Berries aren't in yet, but, when they are, I will be in overflow!

That is the best way to have tempeh. Yes grilled and I must say that your marinade is genius. I'm inspired to try such a combination.

I have had grilled broccoli and agree, it really is fun.

This is a wonderful plate!

 3 years ago  

The marinade was delicious. I really love using fruit in savory applications like that. Berries are always a favorite, anyway! I like broccoli anyway, but I think grilling is my new favorite preparation for it.

Here in SA you can also grill year round. Although I think it is more a national sport (eye roll) than need of sustainance. I just had to share that I have started running again @plantstoplanks. Bit challenging on our windy and bad dirt roads but I'm so excited. Have to dust off my stride as it's been a while

 3 years ago  

Haha, I have heard a little something about those braais over there. ;) And wonderful news about the running! I'm sure you'll be back in stride in no time. I am excited to run a 10k race on Sunday. They're actually doing the full post-race festivities like having a local brewery handing out beer and, coincidentally, a BBQ. It will be the first race I've done in over a year where it will be the full, mostly normal racing experience.

In our household, mushroom toast has been slowly replacing avocado toast :) Although it's hard to pick; they're both amazing and both vegetables are great in almost anything.

I'll have to try grilled broccoli! Brocc is one of my favorite foods but to my knowledge I don't believe I've ever had it grilled. This looks absolutely amazing! Great work!! And you're right, sometimes simple is better :)

 3 years ago  

I've been hard on the avocado toast train for quite a few years now, but that mushroom toast was definitely worthy of an encore! Maybe mushroom AND avocado on the same toast to really blow our minds? 😂

Definitely try some grilled broccoli when you can. Especially with that bit of lemon. Heavenly!

Maybe mushroom AND avocado on the same toast to really blow our minds?

I've done it :)))) Give it a go!!

And I definitely will on the broccoli front. A month ago we were in the dead of winter. Last week it was 70 degrees Fahrenheit and the grass was green. Today we're in another snowstorm.. so as soon as the weather stops fucking around I'll be grilling!

 3 years ago  

Oh that crazy spring weather. We almost hit freezing last week here in Atlanta. It's not totally unheard of for this time of year, but definitely not common. Though I'll be melting soon enough, so I shouldn't be upset with a little bit of cooler weather here and there, haha.

Ooof Atlanta.. I have good friends there, the last time I was in that area of the country I wanted to surprise visit them and on the way a piece of debris flew off a tractor trailer, smashed my rear view mirror, and quite nearly killed me. Unfortunately I didn't visit them after that and it left a bad taste in my mouth about ATL 😂

We have snow in the forecast again next Saturday. It's supposed to be in the 70s and raining all week before hand.. really no idea what's going on. I know our heat doesn't compare to GA's, but I'm not prepared for that insane summer humidity we get here. Not to mention the bugs. I'll take winter all year long strictly to avoid the bugs..

 3 years ago  

Not sure if this was a breakfast or not, but what a spread. It's off to Umami-land with mushrooms and tempeh. I would love to try all of it. Thanks for this tasty entry chef.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

 3 years ago  

It could easily work for any meal of the day. I actually made mushrooms and potatoes yesterday for dinner, so I'm carrying through this theme for another week, haha.

Congratulations @plantstoplanks!

Your were the winner of the Plant Power Cooking Challenge | Week #4. I featured your post in the latest Plant Power Cooking Challenge | Week #5.

image.png
You've been curated by @justinparke for Natural Medicine's curation project aimed at supporting fruit, vegetable and grain recipes, dialogue about cruelty free eating, conscious eating for the planet, and quality meat free food blogs! We upvote, reblog and tweet your great #plantbased content.
Community | Discord


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

 3 years ago  

Thanks @justinparke and @lotusshares. Appreciate all your hard work on this project.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.