Gift (Snack) From Kanazawa, Japan ๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต

in Foodies Bee Hive โ€ข last year (edited)

668959C2-D81A-458F-935F-D1378363EA4D.jpeg

652A66E5-4803-41E5-9981-E28A0B968BF5.jpeg

Hi hivers and members of @FoodiesBeeHive.

Iโ€™ve never been to Kanazawa but Iโ€™ve heard itโ€™s a beautiful place in Ishikawa prefecture and that it is popular for gold leaf production.
My friend went there over the winter holidays and brought back omiyage (a gift).
It came in a lovely pink and white box. After opening it, I realized that some origami were enclosed. There was also a sheet explaining how to fold the colorful pieces of paper. It all seemed like a gift within a gift. I removed the origami and another sheet of paper and saw the balls of sweets. There were nine balls and three colors (pink, green and white). I was really curious to see what was inside each ball.

A7226C4D-0370-4C65-AB87-2134C743283E.jpeg
Box of sweets
313B9BA0-97D6-4238-A246-AF07EBD3D201.jpeg
085AE5C1-7240-48EB-A463-C45F853498A2.jpeg
Origami with instructions

I first wondered if each ball had a different treat. After opening a few I realized that the sweets inside were basically the same but of different colors. They were soft pieces of candies coated or covered with crystals of sugar. The covering for the sweets (the pink, green and white balls) is wafer-like and is called โ€œmonacoโ€. Its light, fresh (not sweet, not salty), opens easily and basically (almost) melts while being eaten.

E640D81B-BA90-46D3-B7FF-E16C1F022E50.jpeg
B3032F46-2770-4B26-BE35-35B7C1835334.jpeg
AF74C056-457E-4F1B-B35D-2F9A15D51458.jpeg

Iโ€™d describe the snack itself as sweet. I think it would pair well with some green tea. I really loved the textures. They created an interesting in-the-mouth experience. The monaco was soft, I could hear and almost feel the cracking of the sugar crystals and then tasted the very soft candy. In a jiffy the entire ball disappeared in the mouth and then made me feel like having another one.

A28B3480-B22A-4BA9-A177-306FDBA7B286.jpeg
9DCC3608-F8E6-4A52-8956-6C1654E58BCC.jpeg
FD7F12E8-693C-4826-8E50-F2BE4B2BD7F0.jpeg
B2EE9C52-64E6-46AA-B0F3-5CC405E63875.jpeg

Though I had to satisfy my curiosity to see what was inside the balls, after opening the fourth, I realized it was more enjoyable to just put the ball in the mouth and let it all โ€œdisappearโ€.
I really appreciated the gift.

Please share with me a snack youโ€™ve had for the first time. What did you like about it?

๐Ÿ˜ƒThank you for reading my post. Have a great weekend.๐ŸŽถ

Sort: ย 

What a beautiful gift ๐Ÿ˜
I liked the origami, but the sweets... oh, I am tempted now to stand up from the screen and go search in the kitchen for some sweets but I will not find such cute things as you had.

Anyway, I am going to the kitchen now, maybe I am lucky hahaha ๐Ÿ˜‚

๐Ÿ˜ƒThank you. It was a lovely gift indeed. Very thoughtful of my friend. I like that after the sweets have finished, origami can be made/ done. Itโ€™s almost like getting a snack with a toy.

oh, I am tempted now to stand up from the screen and go search in the kitchen for some sweets but I will not find such cute things as you had

Haha! Donโ€™t worry. Iโ€™m lucky to have gotten those. Maybe my friend knew my snack cupboard was empty. Who told her? ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚
I think youโ€™ll have more options. ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿฅณ

I indeed went to the kitchen. Found some snacks ๐Ÿคฆ๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธ (it's midnight here, well, passed already) Not a good decision to go there and eat at this time ๐Ÿคฃ
At least, I washed the plates too ๐Ÿ˜‚

That sounds really cool, a snack with a toy :))

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚Youโ€™re funny.
Youโ€™ll have a good nightโ€™s rest. Lol

:D
I had, I slept like a baby though it was a short night... Had to wake up early today๐Ÿ˜ด

๐Ÿ˜ƒWidhing you a great and productive day. ๐ŸŽถ

Too sweet to beat

Yes Oliver. ๐Ÿ˜‚

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

ย last yearย (edited)ย 

๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐ŸŽถThank you @foodiesunite and @sirenahippie. I appreciate it.
untitled.gif

Wow! This looks like a fascinating gift indeed. The snack looks yummy too. Mmmm. I find Japanese snacks fascinating. My husband's sister lives in Japan and recently sent us some tea and cup noodles. LOL! I wish there were more interesting snacks. I'll look around and see perhaps we could also purchase some locally. Thank you for sharing about this experience! Happy new week ahead!


Made in Canva

!ALIVE

- @iamraincrystal - Moderator/Alive Video Master
_
This post has been curated by the Alive And Thriving Team, we curate good content in the We Are Alive Tribe that is on topic for #aliveandthriving, and it's included in our daily curation report on @aliveandthriving, plus @youarealive is following our Curation Trail.

๐Ÿ˜ƒThank you. They do have some interesting snacks. Great that you have relatives here and that you got some tea and cup noodles. I love the teas here and recently found out that they have sooooo many flavors of noodles. They have flavors for/from several countries. Thanks for sharing too. Have a great week. ๐ŸŽถ

While I may not me so much into candies, I am all about teas and noodles! Have a wonderful new week, too! ๐Ÿ˜ ๐Ÿ™ ๐Ÿ’š โœจ ๐Ÿค™



Made in Canva

- @tydynrain - Comment Moderator

Teas are great.๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Oh my goodness yes! I make medicinal teas from the land here! I love them! What are your favorite kinds? ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ’šโœจ๐Ÿค™



Made in Canva

- @tydynrain - Comment Moderator

Thatโ€™s cool. Itโ€™s hard for me to choose but I do enjoy houjicha (green tea) and I love herbs like mint and chamomile.

Those are all wonderful teas indeed! I usually make combos, so it would be challenging for me to choose just one or two! Have a fantastic rest of your week @fruityfruitz! ๐Ÿ˜ ๐Ÿ™ ๐Ÿ’š โœจ ๐Ÿค™



Made in Canva

- @tydynrain - Comment Moderator

@fruityfruitz! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @aliveandthriving. (7/40)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Japanese culture is so much about presentation! While I am not a fan of candies (I like natural), it's great that you enjoyed this unique and rather curious sweet! Thank you for sharing your gift within a gift! ๐Ÿ˜ ๐Ÿ™ ๐Ÿ’š โœจ ๐Ÿค™

๐Ÿ˜ƒThanks. Youโ€™re right, theyโ€™re really keen on presentation. Natural ideal eh. Thanks for commenting on the snack nevertheless. It was kind of unique. Have a great week.

ย last yearย (edited)ย 

Certainly! Yep, I'm a nature boy! My pleasure! They definitely looked interesting! Thank you much! I wish you a really lovely week ahead too! ๐Ÿ˜ ๐Ÿ™ ๐Ÿ’š โœจ ๐Ÿค™

Thank you. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

You're very welcome! ๐Ÿ˜ ๐Ÿ™ ๐Ÿ’š โœจ ๐Ÿค™

They look lovely enjoy @fruityfruitz have the best day
!ALIVE
!LUV

๐Ÿ˜ƒThank you. Have a wonderful day.

@fruityfruitz, @benthomaswwd(2/10) sent you LUV. | tools | discord | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Made with by crrdlx

๐Ÿ˜ƒ

@fruityfruitz! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @benthomaswwd. (7/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thank you. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ™