Ahi Tuna Steaks with Coconut Rice

Recently I fell into a food-related conversation with a young friend of mine when we encountered each other at Costco. She told me she likes to buy ahi tuna steaks at Grocery Outlet because they are tasty and affordable. After purchasing some, I texted her asking for details on how she prepares them.

I am not a wing-it kind of cook. I like recipes. Preferably tried and true recipes from my sister or my mother-in-law, or some other good cook. But this is what Ms. J. replied: "I make rice with coconut cream. Then we layer the whole meal something like this: on the bottom coconut rice, next wilted spinach with a little peanut sauce, then the pan seared ahi tuna and chopped cashews on top."

Oh boy, that left me with SOOOO many questions! I picked my daughter's brain, and she promptly found a recipe for coconut rice on Pinterest. (I still don't think of Pinterest right away, although by now I should.) Then I searched for a recipe for Peanut Sauce. I also hunted for and found instructions on pan-searing ahi tuna.


20220301_183847_1.jpg

Spreading the spinach on the coconut rice. I was feeling insecure at this point, so coaxed a family member to help me.

What went right:
The tuna was done perfectly, even though it had to sit in the pan while the rice finished cooking. I used onion powder to season the tuna, and it added a nice flavor.

The peanut sauce was good, even though I risked adding more soy sauce, lime juice, and sriracha sauce to it because all I could taste was the peanut butter.

The spinach was nicely wilted and not all soggy.


20220301_183956_1.jpg

Adding the peanut sauce.

What went wrong:
The suggested 20-30 minutes was not enough time for my Thai jasmine rice to cook in the coconut milk. I suppose it takes longer because one has to keep lifting the lid and stirring it so it doesn't stick. I would say 40 minutes would have been better. I stopped cooking it at 35 minutes because I didn't want the spinach and the tuna to get overdone.

And I forgot to chop the cashews.


20220301_184107_1.jpg

The completed dish, with ahi tuna and cashews

What I would change:
As mentioned previously, I would cook the rice longer, which means I would also start the tuna and spinach later in the process. I would try a different peanut sauce recipe, just for fun. I would put everything into a smaller pan to serve it, so maybe the rice wouldn't cool off as quickly. And I would consider chopping the cashews (I left them whole) and serving them on the side.

Conclusion:
This was an experiment that turned out largely well. I was out of my comfort zone with the vague instructions, but the dish was well-received by the family. I plan to make it again some day.

Thanks to @jacobtothe for the borrowed format.

All photos taken on my Android phone.

Sort:  

I often searching new idea on Pinterest. That’s good apps.

Well, for cooking time, always different. So better to always watch our cooking device while cooking :)

Mostly, I need more time longer than the recipe that have been write on the internet :)

Your dish looking yummy! I love so much everthing about coconut milk :)

If a recipe comes with a preparation time, I know if is going to take me much longer to prepare it than expected, especially the first time. Ms. J. said this was quick and easy, and I suppose I will agree with that after I have made it a few times.

I am learning a lot about coconut milk. It comes in handy because I have a family member with a dairy allergy.

Thanks for the curation and the comment!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you very much!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you very much!

Even though you are not happy with the rice cooking time, that still looks super delicious, coconut, tuna, peanut sauce, and cashews are some of my fave flavors! I am so excited to see you back and experimenting no less, yay!!

Thank you! My latest kitchen adventures should turn into a post later today.

YAY! Can't wait!!

Stepping outside the comfort zone can be healthy. The meal looks healthy, too!

I'm trying to add a little more fish into my diet, and this was a start.

Congratulations @scribblingramma! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 25000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Today is the beginning of a new Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!