Last Sunday was the homeless meal, then things got serious!

in Foodies Bee Hivelast year (edited)

We set up for the monthly homeless meal last Sunday; and we were doing well...we fed 105 people!

The weather was brutal with 27 °F temperatures, ice and wind.

We fed spaghetti, chili, macaroni and cheese, green beans casserole, sandwiches with Panera bread, and pizza. We loaded them up because it was Cold!

When we were shutting down, and a bunch of volunteers had already left; when we got 'the call'! The Tulsa Day Care Center for the Homeless was in trouble. Due to the extreme temperatures, they let everyone come in. Then they realized they were out of food! We fed 24 at the Denver House, who got the call from the Day Care Center; asking for help.

They gave them our numbers, and they were in a panic. We always make extra food, so we started making more foam plates.
IMG_20230129_161843746.jpg
We also began making more emergency food , using what we carry canned in our trailer. Adding chili beans to our chili almost doubled or available chili, doctored with some spice; leaving a respectable chili roaster load!

Two volunteers go for all the chips they can, and I start several gallons of cheese:
IMG_20230129_161805498.jpg
Here I've stripped an empty roaster, to begin making queso. We scrounged a quart of milk to thin the cheese where we can heat it properly. They came back with a dozen big bags of chips, and 3 cans of Rotel for heat!

The foam plates started filling:
IMG_20230129_161813660.jpg
We put chips in the large pocket, and covered one side with queso, and the other side was covered with chili. We added green beans casserole, and the remaining macaroni and cheese.

Using what we could make on the fly, along with the leftovers we stacked up about twice what I thought we could make:
IMG_20230129_161849646.jpg
With only half our volunteers still available, we went for it.

We had made multiple sandwiches from Panera bread:
IMG_20230129_161820060.jpg
These helped fill a lot more meals. This guy and myself started this feed 10 years ago.

This was the craziest homeless feed ever, and we made at least 60 more meals. We took everything we could box up, and it was just enough. GOD plans much better than we do!

At the end of the day, everyone was warm and fed! It was a good day feeding the homeless.

Sort:  

Ahhh yes, rush hour... Making things complicated in any industry. lol

A lot of hungry people...got fed! Rough day we went way over time.

👍💙💗🙏🎯

God bless those who are selfless and are more than ready to help others!
Thanks for this inspiring post!

Glad you enjoyed it, GOD blesses us every month! It's humbling to be allowed to be his hands for an afternoon....

💙💗🙏📖🙏💗💙

Can anyone tell me why @buildawhale took over $14 from me on this post?

I don't understand why he did this, or how he did this! I understand downvoting for bad or off color content, but from here this just looks like theft.

I'm thinking about not posting here for a while, this is just unfair! I'll spend my online time elsewhere...this pisses me off!!!!

I thought this kind of stuff was left on steemit...if this is here, maybe I should go back there!

🤮🤬🥵💩😳👎😡💲🤬

He was countervoting xeldal, they have a war going.

You doing ok over there?

I figured, but this @buildawhale account contributes Nothing, and only has an attack bot present on hive. I thought this kind of kindergarten behavior was beneath hive!

I will be working tomorrow as a consultant making hard cash (I'll make more in a couple of days than my entire hive balance). I was only posting to try to help others, as there is never a real return in crypto. But the like rewards were fun to see I was helping. I'm looking at a website to teach on, maybe I can help there and avoid infantile bots!

I'll probably post here again, but it not as often; at least until hive cleans out the bots like they claimed they would. I have a lot of things to share, just trying to decide how to best do it!

I sent you a wallet memo with details, but that account is likely the largest reason that folks don't spam with botnets and use ai to counterfeit hive from the pool.
He has his reasons, and I haven't seen any unwarranted flags from him, to this point.

He downvoted a post on feeding the homeless, I think that was unwarranted....

🤮

Some people are like that.

The sad part, is that it looks like he's not even here; and has just left the bot!

🤢👎🤮🤬