You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trying Hivean Recipe : My First Time Making Arepas Andean Arepa With Smoked Beef and Mayonnaise

as a Venezuelan who has never done an Andean Arepa I applaud you!!! you had 2 types of arepas to make and you choose to start with the more hard one to make! thay look really really good, as far as i know the andean ones are never fired so you do not need to use oil other than to maybe spread it a little bit on the pan for it no to stick to it, on the who do you know when they are ready i dont know how to do it with the all pourpuse flour but with the corn ones you give it a little hit with your hands and it should sound void that way you know is ready also well obviously when they are ready on the outside they are ready on the inside cause corn flour cooks quick but with this ones i truly dont know, girl you need to try the corn ones is soooo much more easy! but other than that really impressive your job with this ones!

Sort:  

I wonder how difficult it is to find cornmeal, but I will try because I saw on Youtube the texture looks more softer than the wheat one, I could be wrong but is the cornmeal one more softer?

When I make those arepas, I think about how moms avoid the messy flour and all of that 😅 I definitely need an apron. And thank you for the compliment, I am happy it's not a cursed arepas 😄

The wheat ones are more like a bread and the corn ones are more sifter if you know the right proportion water/flour is not hard to be honest.

The good thing about many venezuelans having to leave the country is that we have spread so wide in the world that you may live near one or two and where there is a Venezuelan there is corn flour 😂 also if you coukd find the one call P.A.N. that is the best one to make them

The good thing about many venezuelans having to leave the country is that we have spread so wide in the world that you may live near one or two and where there is a Venezuelan there is corn flour 😂

😄 I am pretty sure corn is available here since many of Indonesian cuisines are also made of corn. I wonder if you guys also eat rice corn, cause it's a thing too here. Maybe I'll try to make it sometime in the future. Rice corn with anchovies and spicy sambal (sauces).

I dont think we have rice corn but sure sounds delicious!