Trying Hivean Recipe : My First Time Making Arepas Andean Arepa With Smoked Beef and Mayonnaise

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago (edited)

After posting my Comfort Food Recipe, I went to check Foodies bee hive content. Then, the feed shows a content from @freidimar18 with her Arepas With Avocado and caraota. I have been having this idea to try Hivean recipes and test their recipe. Oh yeah, if I try your recipe, I am sharing 5% of this content reward with you.

I saw many people cook arepas. Even when I first started my journey here, I saw charities and people from Venezuela distributing Arepas. But well, only today I get to try this food.

As far as I know, arepa is made from corn flour but according to @freidimar18, the arepa in her region use all purpose flour.

will share one of my favorite dishes as it is the Arepa Andina (originally from the states of Merida, Tachira and Trujillo) knowing that it is based on a type of arepa that usually in Venezuelan cuisine is made with corn flour, while the Andean arepa is made with bread flour (wheat).

So, Let's get into the cooking lab!


image.png

Line_Break2.png



Ingredients


  • 120gr all purpose flour
  • 50 ml warm water
  • 1 egg
  • 20gr butter
  • 1 tbsp mayo
  • A pinch of salt

I modified her quantities because It's only me who'll eat it. 220gr looks a bit too much for me.

Line_Break2.png


Directions


image.pngarepa1.jpgarepa3.jpgarepa4.jpg
arepa5.jpgarepa6.jpgarepa8.jpg
  • Add all the ingredients together and knead the dough.
  • Let it rest for 30 minutes to an hour.
  • Make rounds from it and then roll it with rolling pin.
  • If you want to make pretty arepas, give it a fork touch.
  • Fry it on a skillet for 5 minutes until it changes the color.
  • Slice the arepa, fill it with smoked beef or pork, then give it mayo.
  • Your arepas are ready!

Line_Break2.png

Note from Mac

First of all, I don't know if it is should be burned or not. Second, I was wondering if you need oil to fry the arepas. Third, I made a mess making this arepa. Props to people who cook arepas in the morning. Fourth, how do you know if the arepa is cooked inside? how can you check it? I guess that's all the note from me and don't forget to rate my arepas if you're from venezuela or countries that eat arepas. See you in my next cooking lab! I'll be looking our for another hivean recipe to try!

~ Mac

Line_Break2.png

Mac covers technology, philosophy, nootropics, books, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity,, and languages. Other than those, she is passionate about cooking and travel. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. Hive is the only social media and blog that she has.
Sort:  

Damn Mac! They actually look pretty nice :D I prefer traditional arepa rather than Andean arepa because the traditional one is easier to make (so yes, props to Andean people who have Andean arepas breakfast lol) though they both are greatly tasty. Tbh I don't have too much experience making Andean arepas but yours looks nice and well done like the ones I've eaten, if I'm not mistaken they gotta be a bit burned, no oiled needed and to know if they're cooked inside the hole technice is the best lol kind of an art 😂

Really nice post Mac! :D
Cheers!

I have read and heard that traditional arepa is easier to make. I wonder how easy it is TBH. Glad to know mine is not a cursed arepas🤣 cause while cooking it, I was like " I hope this isn't a cursed arepas"

The concept of arepa itself is similar to Indian naan except they use ghee and more bubbly than traditional arepas and also Andean arepas. I used to make them a lot as well but I can say, Arepas is the winner since I can give fillings inside of it 😄 and mayonnaise. I also read around that Venezuelan loves mayonnaise, is that true?

hahah yup, we often use mayonnaise on everything hahah xD wow I wonder now how a bubbly arepa would be, I hope I get to try Indian naan someday, sounds interesting!

as a Venezuelan who has never done an Andean Arepa I applaud you!!! you had 2 types of arepas to make and you choose to start with the more hard one to make! thay look really really good, as far as i know the andean ones are never fired so you do not need to use oil other than to maybe spread it a little bit on the pan for it no to stick to it, on the who do you know when they are ready i dont know how to do it with the all pourpuse flour but with the corn ones you give it a little hit with your hands and it should sound void that way you know is ready also well obviously when they are ready on the outside they are ready on the inside cause corn flour cooks quick but with this ones i truly dont know, girl you need to try the corn ones is soooo much more easy! but other than that really impressive your job with this ones!

I wonder how difficult it is to find cornmeal, but I will try because I saw on Youtube the texture looks more softer than the wheat one, I could be wrong but is the cornmeal one more softer?

When I make those arepas, I think about how moms avoid the messy flour and all of that 😅 I definitely need an apron. And thank you for the compliment, I am happy it's not a cursed arepas 😄

The wheat ones are more like a bread and the corn ones are more sifter if you know the right proportion water/flour is not hard to be honest.

The good thing about many venezuelans having to leave the country is that we have spread so wide in the world that you may live near one or two and where there is a Venezuelan there is corn flour 😂 also if you coukd find the one call P.A.N. that is the best one to make them

The good thing about many venezuelans having to leave the country is that we have spread so wide in the world that you may live near one or two and where there is a Venezuelan there is corn flour 😂

😄 I am pretty sure corn is available here since many of Indonesian cuisines are also made of corn. I wonder if you guys also eat rice corn, cause it's a thing too here. Maybe I'll try to make it sometime in the future. Rice corn with anchovies and spicy sambal (sauces).

I dont think we have rice corn but sure sounds delicious!

Hi @macchiata what an honor that you followed the recipe<3. I'm very happy that you did it and I noticed that the results were very successful; they look delicious.

Previously in my post of: Arepa Andina accompanied with avocado and caraota I answered a doubt you had regarding why corn flour cannot be used to make the Andean arepas. There I explained the difference between corn flour and wheat flour. Traditional arepas in Venezuela are generally made of corn flour, except that in the Andes it is a type of arepa similar to a bread, round and flat like corn arepas, cooked in the same way, but with the texture of a bread. It is usually eaten with butter and white cheese for breakfast, we must remember that each state has its own diet :) In this way, most of the people love to eat arepas made of wheat flour for breakfast, which, in my opinion are very tasty, and can be filled with whatever we have at home, mostly: grated cheese, avocado, or as you did, mayonnaise and beef.

Now, regarding some of the doubts that arose during the preparation of the recipe. In my case I used 220 grams of flour for the number of people I was going to prepare the recipe for. Of course we can modify the ingredients, there is no problem.

The second question you had was whether the arepa should be burned. It should not burn. The first thing is to make them thin so that they are not too thick so that our arepa is not raw inside. The thing about applying oil in the frying pan; if you can do it, put just a little bit and expand it.

The next question that came up was How do we know if it is ready? as mentioned by @sirenahippie for the preparation of these recipes we use our ear, however one of the techniques is to prick our raw dough with a fork, this will undoubtedly help our arepa to cook internally. And clearly the color, how you made them is fine. They are not even raw, and they are not burnt.

Regarding the disaster with the dough. It is normal that it happens, and more because we are using wheat flour, so the technique is in the kneading, it serves for the gluten to develop and contribute to evenly distribute the gases produced by the yeast. Generally, it is recommended to knead for 20 minutes, if it is manually of course.

At first, when you put your hands on the dough, it will be sticky and difficult to pull together. Therefore, you should continue to work the dough with your hands, form a ball, flatten it and shape it. Keep doing this until the dough is no longer sticky and it is possible to shape it into a ball without it falling apart. If the dough doesn't seem to stop being sticky, I recommend sprinkling more flour on the surface and continue kneading. Also, you can apply a little flour to your hands so that the dough doesn't stick too much.

I hope and this could have helped you, I send you greetings and thank you truly for the appreciation and sharing your rewards with me. success! <3

haha yes, when I found the recipe, I instantly made it. So, thankfully you were replying quick too 😄 I was like " oh no, is this okay?" then I read your post again carefully one more time and realized that it's okay to use wheat all purpose flour. The egg I use was quite huge which is also why I reduced the quantity of the egg too.

It should not burn. The first thing is to make them thin so that they are not too thick so that our arepa is not raw inside. The thing about applying oil in the frying pan; if you can do it, put just a little bit and expand it.

Yes, that's my first problem when frying it. I checked on youtube some looks beautiful some looks way too burnt. So, it seems that I need to make them a bit more thin and even, otherwise, they'd pop and burnt. I had some thin ones but they were way to burnt. lesson learned.

Thank you for all those tips, I really appreciate it.

10/10 points. Im really glad seeing you making an arepa, sadly thing im not near to give it a taste.

It seems you made a lot of them😂

Yeah, I ended up eating all of them. I think for that recipe, I made about 10 pieces. My mom had a small bit and that was it. 🤣 that was also my entire dinner. Thanks for the tips too, appreciate it.

Something that can help you a lot with this recipe is to make them over low heat and cover them with a pan if you make them on the grill and if you do it in a pan then with the lid haha, the trick is to simulate an oven so that it cooks well inside, and if you want it toasted then you raise the flame after it has cooked well.

The only bad thing about these arepas is that they burn very quickly so you have to be very careful, and they taste much better with margarine and plenty of cheese.

If you want and if you want I can make a recipe and tag you so you can see the process better.

Oh yeah, I already did like you said about the frying and I would love to try something with the cheese later 😁 Thanks for the offer. I'll let you know when I want to make it again.

Looks really delicious. Thank you for sharing the recipe

Yummy, those arepas were great on you and you have made a good combination. Andean arepas are very versatile and have the great advantage that they can even be eaten cold, which is not the case with the traditional arepa. Usually in western Venezuela they are filled with yellow cheese and are delicious, combining with almost any meal. Thank you for making and sharing one of the best known Venezuelan recipes. Greetings.

I didn't know they can be eaten cold, I saw recipes where it's combined with broth based meal. If I can find cornmeal,I'll try making better arepas. So, how do you know if the inside of arepa is cooked? do you use toothpick to check or just wait until it's slightly burned?

Hello @macchiata , when I say that they can be eaten cold, it is at room temperature, not from the fridge. You will be able to know that the interior is already cooked, when you take it in your hands, and with your fingers you sound it like a small drum, if the sound is like a hole, it is ready, although this technique is learned. . with practice. The other technique that you propose to use a toothpick could also help you to know if it is cooked inside (in Andean arepas, not in traditional ones). Generally, when making the Andean arepas and traditional arepas, we use the ear, the noise, to know if they are already cooked inside. I look forward to seeing your post on traditional arepas when you get the cornmeal. Greetings.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

holy shit, Mac You did them perfectly,I loved them! Too bad I saw the post too late: / you must try more Venezuelan recipes, you will love our food!

hahahahaha what would you recommend me to try next?

if you want to try something 100% Venezuelan, I recommend the pabellon, patacones or cachapas. Take a look at the pictures

Pabellón:

Patacones:

Cachapas:

I am sure that you will become addicted to anyone, I also recommend you try the traditional arepa