Carrot, Ginger and Corriander Soup (EcoTrain Medicinal Cooking Competition of Last Week)

in ecoTrain3 years ago

I'm LATE to the party again, but I was so inspired by this latest competition from the most excellent @ecotrain I just had to put together an entry, and it is SOUP SEASON after all - the weather has just turned here in East Central Portugal and there is NOTHING quite like a bowl of decent root vegetable soup and spices to warm you up.

This is the first soup I've made in well over a year, possibly as much as three and a half years, which is just CRIMINAL, and after such a long break it's good to start with a CLASSIC soup.

I couldn't decide whether to go for carrot and coriander or carrot and ginger, both delicious, so I decided to go for both, and LOTS of both (WAY too much coriander in retrospect) and trust me the result was a proper medicinal taste!

Carrot, Ginger and Coriander Soup

20211102_182232.jpg

(The colour gives away just HOW MUCH coriander is blended in, on it's way from orange to brown!)

Ingredients

20211102_171006.jpg

  • Carrots (I shit you not!)
  • olive oil
  • onion
  • ginger
  • coriander
  • vegetable stock (so you probably won't need salt)
  • water
  • half a lemon (not sure that was necessary)
  • LOTS of pepper

NB I used one and half carrots fewer than pictured, only half the coriander, about half of that ginger and I didn't use any chilli in the end, and no additional salt either. I also used stock which isn't pictured.

Prep the ingredients

20211102_172259.jpg

Personally I prefer to get everything prepped and ready first and then you can focus on the cooking and keeping things tidy as you.

I would have grated all the carrot had I had a proper block grater but I didn't so I grated some and chopped the rest.

Slightly blurry photo of the cori, sorry!

20211102_174503.jpg

(Note I didn't actually use any of the salt, this is before I remembered just HOW MUCH salt is already in the stock!)

Get a fire going (optional, not part of the recipe)

20211102_174800.jpg

Onion in the pan - simmer for around 2-3 minutes

20211102_172516.jpg

I probably don't cook my onion as much as most, you might want to go longer. Obviously (?) add some olive oil in and heat BEFORE adding the onion!

Add in the carrot - cook for another 2 minutes

20211102_173320.jpg

I added in the chopped slightly before the grated as it takes less time to cook!

Add in the ginger - cook for another minute

Again you might want to go longer with the above two phases, I tend to fry for as little time as possible.

Add stock - about half a pint at this stage and cook until carrots are soft - around 15-20 mins

20211102_173716.jpg

I added as little fluid as possible because I can always top up later AND see below for a further reason why

Add in the coriander in the final minute

20211102_180150.jpg

I just don't find this needs much time to blend in flavour wise

Blend

20211102_180402.jpg

I actually only had smoothie makers and wasn't sure whether they'd take really hot water, hence why I under watered the soup initially - I added in some cold water to each of the smoothie bottles to cool them down a little.

This got a little messy....

20211102_180551.jpg

Also I think it might have been the heat that 'sealed' my first blend - I had to run the damn thing under cold water for ages to be able to release it. With the second I did short bursts and undid the blade section regularly to make sure this didn't happen a second time.

Back in the pan and reheat

20211102_181756.jpg

Garnish and serve

20211102_182236.jpg

Fire by this stage...

20211102_190112.jpg

Tasting Notes

VERY delicious and VERY medicinal - thanks to the overkill with the coriander, but (a) that's sort of what I wanted and (b) I had a lot of coriander that needed using!

Thanks to @ecotrain for a great challenge!

The next challenge is on colourful salads and I've got something in mind already for this!

Sort:  

Nice, its hard to beat the taste of homemade soup.

Chicken is my personal favorite.

Nice little fire you got going on there.

!PIZZA

Hey cheers, it was a pretty satisfying evening all in all!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@rentmoney(5/10) tipped @revisesociology (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Congratulations @revisesociology! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The new HiveFest⁶ attendee badge is waiting for you
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day