Mobile v3.0.4 release - performance boost, drafts and renderer improvements

in Ecency4 years ago

Excited to share another update on mobile app with some awesome fixes. The one we think you will love is performance boost on feeds. Continue reading to learn more what new updates are about.

ecency-mobile-app-update-hive

What's new

  • Performance optimizations on Feeds
  • Drafts saving bug fixes
  • Comments loading optimized
  • Renderer update
  • Upcoming Hardfork compatibility
  • Other small bug fixes and style changes

As we mentioned in our last release we are reorganizing some pages and how we handle data flow and management within app to improve performance. This release is one step closer, in next release, will continue optimizing other pages and make sure you have smooth experience.

If you are React Native developer, feel free to join and help developing features we all love using, our mobile application is opensource.

Looking for Ecency related footers? Check here examples awesome footers: https://ecency.com/ocd/@dunsky/footers-for-ecency-lovers


ecency-heart-wave-community-united

Stay tuned, stay excited! Don't forget to share news with your friends.

https://ecency.com

iOS https://ios.ecency.com
Android https://android.ecency.com

[email protected]
🌐Ecency.com | ✍🏻 Telegram | 💬Discord
Approve Hivesigner | Approve Hivesearcher
Vote for @good-karma as a witness

Sort:  

Discovered this just yesterday. Feels and tastes as old esteem.

Yes, we rebranded from Esteem and launched our website as well with all functionality https://ecency.com

Your balance is below 0.3 HIVE. Your account is running low and should be replenished. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://hive.blog/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-s-faq

This app looks very nice! I am downloading it right now to give it a test.

Could you look into releasing a version of your app without FCM/Google Services on F-Droid? It'd benefit users who are more privacy conscious that don't have google services on their devices, as of right now your app has unexplainable hard crashes on such devices.

Not to mention you'd likely pick up some new users if you did so and kept it up to date due to how F-Droid lists applications.

We release APK files into our github as well as in another mirror. Check here: https://github.com/ecency/ecency-mobile/releases

We will check F-Droid listing requirements.

Github didn't have the 3.0.3 release when I looked prior to 3.0.4's release, so I figured it wasn't very well maintained there.

Aside from that, do you know of any bugs that would cause images not to load?

My guess is that you're using Cloudflare, it's the number one cause of issues like this that I've seen. If so could you consider adding an exception for the T1 region in your Cloudflare dashboard to prevent Tor users from getting nothing when loading images? Alternatively, try to find someone other than Cloudflare to use as a CDN, as Cloudflare is not very privacy friendly.

Right, we forgot to release 3.0.3 version but added latest one after your request. Images are not cached by cloudflare, I just opened https://ecency.com with Tor and it is loading images just fine. 🤔

Does your mobile app function with Orbot's "VPN" mode enabled for you? Cloudflare can be very fickle with different user agents and may allow a standard web browser while blocking a mobile app. Also, if you were greeted with Cloudflare's "Checking your browser" screen even once, than that would be indicative that any request without Javascript would be blocked, such as images within an app.

There are two ways to resolve such issues, at least without major changes, doing both would fix almost all instances of Cloudflare blocking requests. The first is to prompt users in the app to solve the Cloudflare CAPTCHA if all images are served with a 403/Forbidden code. The second is to manually allow Tor and/or lower cloudflare's "Security" level so they block fewer requests. Cloudflare's region code for Tor is T1

The bandwidth capacity of Tor is relatively low so manually allowing it shouldn't pose much risk of something like a DDoS attack occurring.

There is another way to resolve this, which would take major changes but would provide a smoother and more secure experience for users. That would be integrating Tor support directly into your apps and running your own Tor hidden services. This would also ensure there are no middlemen like Cloudflare that can snoop on any connections or track your users.

On a side note, I have been considering setting up a Tor accessible Witness/API node myself as I have not yet seen one available for Hive.

Lol always looking forward to a performance boost I tend to max out the app sometimes and it goes a bit bonkers

You are right, that's why we are putting more effort on optimizing pages and fixing those slowness. Stay tuned for more 🚀😉

Better performance is always welcome. The app has been a bit sluggish at times. Thanks

We are not stopping here yet, there are few other pages we are checking again and optimizing for speed. 😉

It always be happy to read many new update of #ecency, wow..I love this application very much.

Thank you, appreciate to hear that from our awesome friends 🙌

I am still waiting for desktop version...

It is extremely easy to do with Electron ;)

He is likely referring update to our desktop application, yes we use Electron. 😉https://github.com/ecency/esteem-surfer

We are working on update of our desktop application. Meanwhile, may I suggest you to try our website: https://ecency.com ?!

Its a nice and well made app! I remember when the old partiko used to have a faucet. Watching videos adds for some points, that was a good idea. And i noticed that the content on the app is not refreshing properly (im not complaining, just want to give some positive feedback) on the other side the app is fast and smooth!

Keep the good work!

Thank you, did you check we have points for all actions even just opening app gives you points that you can use to promote and boost your content. More use cases are being worked on! 🤗About content not refreshing, would you mind sharing details, so we can check and fix it? Thanks again!

For example, when i drag the screen down (as a website refresh on mobile device) it doesnt update properly. I have to go to another tab, then return to notifications.

Ill have to use it more for a preciser feedback. I promise to check it deep! Im mostly use the desktop PC but in the bed i prefeer an app (i can use mobile versions, but i prefer to diversify and give apps a chance) Talking about webs, your site is also preety good!

The faucet section on partiko, guess they earn directly from google Adsense. and in return they give it points for get some votes later.

Another (tiny) thing that i see is where you can trade your point for upvotes it doesnt tell the minimum required (and why there is a minimum?)

I love all those changes that make our app experience better! Good Job!
PS. this is my first comment from the website. 👍

Nice, let us know how your experience will be with Ecency website. We making sure that it is very fast and continuously adding more features.

Great update! Good work! Top speed! Fastest than ever. Just reading in it.

I am testing this new version and can see real significant improvements in performance of opening/rendering posts! Great!

Congratulations @ecency! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Your post got the highest payout of the day

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports meetups of the Hive UK Community
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day

Awesome! My friend was just saying he’d try out hive as soon as there was an app available. I didn’t realize this was a thing.

It’s your call but I personally think a more obvious and immediate reference to Hive in the image is important to help raise awareness about the blockchain. For people like my friend it's a bit overwhelming if you tell them Hive and then invite them to something with a totally different name with none of the same logo or branding at all

I understand you probably wanna make your project something that gains its own recognition not reliant on hive, but I think you can adjust to that once both hive and this app have more users. Maybe a tiny Hive logo with tiny words "built on Hive" somewhere. Just my two cents

Amazingly important project though, thank you so much. I'm pretty sure I have you voted witness already but if not I'll change that!

You are right, in post thumbnail, we will consider adding powered by hive, we have mention of Hive in a lot of places, it is in FAQ as well. https://ecency.com/faq
It is important to gain recognition for every brand and we wanted to make sure we can have that organically. We have mobile app, we have website and desktop app, we have easy to signup process, all parts of project is coming together to have entire synergy of services/apps. Any feedback along the way is appreciated. 🤗🙇

Great progress here made by #Ecency. love it and hopefully in near future more good news will come stay blessed.

Where's the Windows/Desktop downloads?
They are missing on your page.

image.png

Could you provide the links?

Interesting, what browser are you using? It should’ve detected your device and offer download links.

Brave browser... I downloaded the Desktop from your GitHub repo BTW.

ok, glad that you found it. We will push new update soon to desktop app as well as will find better ways for downloads

I love that you have updated the app, I will mention it in my hive news post and I hope to make a revew video about the app soon. 🌟

Thank you, let us know when you publish so we can share with our friends and followers! 🤗

They are doing an excellent job for the community. Keep it up!

Always working to make hive experience enjoyable. I love the boost button.

I'm new here, I don't knw much about the app

Looks very nice so far! But I cant downloadthe pure APK from the apkfiles.com-Link from your Github Repo

https://github.com/ecency/ecency-mobile/releases/tag/3.0.4

I dont use Google, so I cant download from Playstore

Link from github worked ok for download? Interesting why apkfiles.com didn't work 🤔

No, apkfiles.com Link doesnt work. As I wrote above... image.png

But I had it from apkpure. This Version seems to be the correct one.

ok, interesting, we didn't upload to apkpure, please be careful and make sure you are using legitimate version of our app.

Did you test your apkfiles.com-link on github? I really would like to use your official and updated version

Hmm looks like it is not working. Why don't you download directly from github release page. There should be apk file on github release page: https://github.com/ecency/ecency-mobile/releases/tag/3.0.4

I didnt see the release tab - I love to download directly. But because of the new Github Design I didnt see it. But thanks to your tip I had a deeper look.

Thank you 😅🙂

apkpure version seem 3.0.3, but latest is 3.0.4
https://apkpure.com/ecency/app.esteem.mobile.android

Any update on the Mac client? I notice it's still saying eSteem with no Ecency branding anywhere.

Yes, we will push update to Mac or desktop version soon. Meanwhile you can try our website as well, it should have most features from desktop app. https://ecency.com

I am actually using the website. I just decided to try out the desktop version to see what it was like since the last time I used it.

I was just curious about the desktop version saying eSteem when I knew you guys had rebranded ages ago. 😁

Yes, we will push update to desktop soon, only that desktop app will also be rewritten from scratch and will be based on our new website design and flow 😉

I’m loving the app for browsing my feed. Some aspects of navigation are a little clunky but overall awesome. I think the wallet (points, hbd, hive) should be scroll down on the same display. Also would be really nice if I could stay logged in with hive signer because signing in every time is the one thing that makes me not use the app every day

It should stay signed in, is it removing your account after signin and restart or something?

yeah, every time I'm away from the app for more than a few minutes I get signed out

Ok, we are pushing update this week for mobile app. It will solve your problem, I will get back after we released an update for you to check back, if you don't mind 😉

thanks! Anything I can do to help. Today I didn’t have to log on for the first time...no idea why. Maybe it just takes a long time to load my profile most of the time? I’ll keep an eye out

Please do keep an eye on this and report again if you experience again. Thank you!

I have tried to use the boost on the app a couple of times and haven't got any reward, the app just refunds my points, not trying to complain just want to bring this to your attention. Maybe I'm doing something wrong? lol not too upset just wondering! thanks! I boosted my most recent post hopefully it works out this time :)

This is my first comment from the website... I need tips to be a better Hive user.

I recommend joining some communities on discord.
You can always get their discord invite link, by checking on their description in the Profile page area.
Copy it out and paste on your browser, it will redirect you to discord.
The rest is easy to figure out on your own.

O my! I am moat garteful for your help