🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 It’s a braw, bricht moonlicht nicht 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

in Ecencylast year

Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody.

At least Mark Twain said so!

When I saw the weekly post from @beeber @mypathtofire (get well soon beeber) all about the lunar new year and moons there was only one title I could run with..

"It’s a braw, bricht moonlicht nicht" is a line from the wonderful song A Wee Deoch An’ Doris by the even more wonderful Scots singer Sir Harry Lauder and this was released in 1911.

I wonder if @wwwiebe has a copy in 78s collection!

Translation as I am sure you are aware is It's a beautiful, bright moonlit night!


Back to the point of the fluffing post!

I love nature in all her glory. The moon to me is part of nature, is nature not interwined with the Universe, is the moon not part of the Universe!

I could go round and round in circle on a Saturday night...

Bottom line is that I love the moon.

**Do you celebrate the lunar new year? **
As a matter of fact it is only this year I was conscious of the fact we had stopped Chinese New Year and were calling it Lunar New Year!

I don't celebrate it, although my great grandfather was born in Shanghai and I have always wanted to visit during Lunar New Year as we call it now. That would be a celebration and a half!

FUN FACT This picture below typifies why ...

I bought my Canon Powershot camera. That picture is an example of my smartphone taking a moonshot, pretty meh and can't see anything.

ALL the other pics in this post are from my Canon.

Do you feel more like a moon or a sun person?
This to me is akin to asking am I day or night person, and truth be told I am often up late into the night and will probably once a week not sleep so does this mean I am a moon person or just someone with fluffed up bones making sleep not a reality sometimes!

Do you know of any old superstitions about the moon?
I remember a couple from my granny who was Edinburgh through and through, so whether these are typically Scottish or a quirk of Edinburgh I don't know!

1 Whenever you saw a new moon for the first time, you would courtesy if a woman while the man would play with the coins in this pocket and turn them over. Allegedly for luck!

2 A not so good luck superstition was that of a Saturday full moon, and that meant you would have crappy weather for that month!

image.png

Do I turn into a werewolf?
Ehm I don't think so, although I am hairy enough🤣🤣🤣

This is a simple wee moon post for the weekly ecency #edtopic about moons, so why not see if you can join in the fun @coquicoin @lhes @jane1289

To join the fun visit ED weekly posting topic: THE MOON

image.png

Thanks for visiting and enjoy the rest of your day!

image.png


SB_theMenu_Banner.png


All images and ramblings are from me, the mad Scotsman TengoLoTodo and pictures taken with my Smartphone and Canon Powershot HS70 bridge camera.
@tengolotodo January 28th 2023

DO WHAT YOU LOVE AND DO IT OFTEN

Haste Ye Back!

Sort:  

A not so good luck superstition was that of a Saturday full moon, and that meant you would have crappy weather for that month!

That got me thinking, how often does it happen? Since the full moon returns just under every 27 1/3 days, it should appear on the same day of the week three times in a row. And then a day earlier for three times, until it's back at the start again after 27.3337≈574 days or so!

hehe and that is something I did not think about doing!
Of course now I shall be making a note of full moon days to check your calculation🤣

!LOLZ
!ALIVE

@treefrognada! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @tengolotodo. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I used to work in a blanket factory.
But it folded.

Credit: reddit
@treefrognada, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @tengolotodo

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(1/6)

Aagh! I decided to cheat and check full moon dates online, instead of waiting for them to occur. My calculation is all wrong! Sorry.

Turns out that it does indeed take the moon 27.3 days to circle the earth, but full moon is every 29.5 days. 2.2 days later each time. fullmoonology.com

This seems to be because full moon is when "the Earth is directly between the Moon and the Sun" and since the Earth orbits the Sun, the Moon has to move that little bit further before it is in place again. Hmm. Or something like that!

That would mean a Saturday full moon occurs on average every 7 months.

Here, have a !PIZZA and forgive me? With enough cheese on top it'll resemble a full moon!

Hi @tengolotodo,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Fantastic thank you 😁

Hahaha, I can relate with your moonshot using your phone camera. I remember feeling so excited when I just got my current phone and rushed to take a shot at the moon at night as my previous phone camera was such a great mess.

Turned out, I will have to get a real camera 📷 if I will ever have a chance to shoot the moon !lol

hehe yeah unless you have a very very very good cameraphone then you need a real camera!

I can feel you, all excited about your new phone, going to snap the moon and ehm the cursing afterwards 🤣

Do you feel more like a moon or a sun person?

I think I am a moon as many remembers me when they need something 🤣 (insert 😬😬)

Oh I have not heard that before 😮

I do have that record!

20230128_194642.jpg

It is now queued up for TTT!

Have you ever heard of the type of pirate call "Moon Cussers"? They were land based pirates that would fake the light from lighthouses to lure ships into grounding themselves, then would return the next day to loot. They could not do that during a full moon, so were said to "cuss at the moon," hence, Moon Cussers.

woohoo I shall be waiting, that is fluffing awesome!

Moon Cussers that is brilliant, and I am pretty sure they will have done the same thing here, now I will have to check.

Thanks for the mention.. I do have some thoughts when seeing the moon .

!PIZZA

aha I am sure that you do JaneyJaneyJane

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
mypathtofire tipped tengolotodo (x1)
treefrognada tipped tengolotodo (x1)
jane1289 tipped tengolotodo (x1)
@slothlydoesit(1/5) tipped @tengolotodo (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

That is wonderful thank you :)

bricht moonlicht nicht

I thought you were mixing up English and German because the deepl'ed stuff was taking a toll on you :D

hahahaha that is brilliant and well you never know😁

That is a very bright moon you captured there Ed. I have heard of the jingling coins superstition. Not related to the moon, but I was always anxious not to walk under ladders in case it brought bad luck.

!ALIVE !PIZZA

@tengolotodo! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @mypathtofire. (4/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Yeah I could have posted loads of moon pics, I got overwhelmed hehe are you doing the prompt again this week I wonder..
Ah yes the ladders was one we were brought up with, I still try not to do that
!ALIVE

@mypathtofire! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @tengolotodo. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I only just saw the moon the first time yesterday, but have quite a few shots too. I will do the topic for the next week or 2 . I think it will be a fun topic tomorrow. !ALIVE

@tengolotodo! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @mypathtofire. (15/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Now we are talking about the moon, I have not really seen this month as not been out that much after dark!
Okay cool, we shall have to get you talking about on it Talk Time with Tengo!
And talking about !ALIVE do you think someone will come and talk about the ALIVE project as I have a ton of questions 😁

@mypathtofire! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @tengolotodo. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

haha!

regarding ALIVE, I think Erik is the best person to ask, he is very knowledgeable!

ah yes Erik, I keep wanting to call him Flax

I think its flaxz with a Z in it.

Full moon = Warewolf time! We all go a little...crazy come the new moon!

I think your grannies second point was definitely Scottish-related, most things point to a shitty weather month in Scotland lol!

!PIZZA

haha yeah right enough the weather is pretty shitty all over Scotland in winter🤣🤣

We've had a few cracking days over the last couple of weeks, in between the cold cold nights! It looks like we're in for a good one today, nice little walk up the coast to Kirkcaldy today me thinks!

Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody.

I agree with that statement because I believe it's the truth.

All of the moon photographs are looking very beautiful. I wish to capture such kind of photograph of the moon someday.

There exist many superstitions related to the moon which give me funny vibes when I hear them.

Oh funny vibes well as long as funny funny and not strange funny then that should be ok!

It’s a braw, bricht moonlicht nicht


Sorry Bro, but that doesn't mean anything... and your translation in english would be "Es ist eine schöne, helle Mondscheinnacht" in German. But hey, if i hear all the "english" songs sung by espcecially french folks, i would say... call it just "Deut-lisch" or something. 😁

haha Deutlisch indeed, and your translation was braw Bro!

I am a moon person honestly. Brightest in the dark...bwahaha,

Well you are never fluffing dull 🤣

I am, sometimes. You just don't see it👀👀

hehe I defy anyone to prove they aren't sometimes!

Wow. Good Morning!!

muahh good morning Africa rise and fluffing shine, it is a new month this week!

February! Gah!

Thank you for burning ALIVE tokens and supporting the We Are Alive Tribe, you have earned 1 tickets for our weekly ALIVE Burning Contest.


!ALIVE
!CTP



Made in Canva

@flaxz - Alive Chat Host on @alive.chat


@tengolotodo! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @aliveprojects. (24/30)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I love a good moon picture. You are right, you just can't get a good one with a smart phone. I have tried many times but meh

Yes need a dogsbollocks of a smartphone to get one!

Aye, you do that. My mate has a Samsung S23 ultra and he can get a passable shot with that. I'm too mean to part with that kind of cash for a smartphone moonshot!

Funnily enough you say that, I was almost going to get a S22 Ultra this weekend and then found out on the Samsung site they were going to release the S23 ultra on the 1st of Febso waiting to see IF there is a deal going or just come to my senses and say fucking behave!

Haha, it's a good time for a deal when they first come out. My mate loves his with the only niggle being the size as it is a beast.

I have heard the cameras are amazing on the new 23 range. They always are good so defo worth an upgrade if you are ready for it?

The beast is a catch 22, I want something for the camera, wife wants a beast screen, but objects to spending silly money.
Yeah will see what is what, but would love to see a demo.