Looking closely

in Reflections4 months ago

 (5).png

Pay attention to your enemies, for they are the first to discover your mistakes.

- Antisthenes -



My professional life is demanding; I give a lot of myself physically, mentally and emotionally and no matter what I give it asks for takes more - its appetite is voracious.

I've operated under such conditions before, my professions have followed that common theme and I've been willing and able to give what's required, dig deep to find some more and offer that up as well; that's one of my strong points - the ability to do difficult things despite in doing so I sometimes give too much of myself to my own detriment.

Over the last little while I've been looking closely at my work scenario which isn't the easiest thing to do when enmeshed within it twelve to fifteen hours a day. I've applied one of my other valuable skills though, detachment, and see a clearer picture of each individual element and how they concatenate.

It's brought clarity.

I'm good at my job which may sound egotistical but it's a fact - my results and how I get them speak plainly and figures do not lie. It's a difficult job that deals with multiple government departments, state and federal, like the military, emergency services, law enforcement and so on plus many private companies and the complexity level is through the roof...as is my stress level. It's the last that has caused me to look closely at the situation, dissect it, with the hope of finding ways to better carry the load as one only has so much capacity.

I quoted Antisthenes above, one I've used directly to subordinates when appropriate; diligence, awareness, evaluation and understanding and the ability to look at things objectively (among other things) is what it's about and it works as well in a military sense as it does for business and personal life as well.

Remove the word 'enemies' and replace with 'competitors' and one has a legitimate line to use in a business or sporting environment; it works as well with a relationship using the word 'partner' I think.

I've focused that ethos inwardly by moving aside the job itself, detaching from it and looking closely at me within the job and what I have to give just to make it work asking myself some tough questions also: Is what I need to give simply too much, are the rewards worth the sacrifice, is there a better way to proceed, does the organisation deserve so much of me, how will that which I give ultimately affect me, how would I respond emotionally to giving less or too much - there's been many questions and some answers too. No real solutions or definitive paths forward have been decided upon however the process has has allowed me to make a few minor adjustments which, of course, is exactly what the process is designed to do.

It's often hard to focus on oneself and to apply the honesty required to do it and to make decisions on a way forward - In this situation we can be our own worst enemy simply by ploughing on without taking the time to evaluate.

It's not always easy to see or admit our own failings because sometimes it's exactly those that help us do what is required.

I mean failing to think of the risks of overextending oneself for one's job, failing to find time to live a little, be with family, engage with life and so on. Yes, I see that as a failing and it's one we often hide because we're busy driving forward looking for greater results at work - I know I do this sometimes and hate that I allow it, life's too short.

So then, I'm looking closely at many things and finding some faults and failings in respect of how I approach my professional role and how those things are affecting my life more generally. It's an untenable situation and one I think many people are in; it's called 'the grind' and most people are in it, or have been.

The good part in all of this is that better ways to proceed can be found if those mistakes and failings are identified; making the mistake of prioritising that which is not really the most important thing is a fixable mistake.


I wonder what you folks think about this matter or if you're in a similar situation; if you are, or have any thoughts let me know in the comments, or not, it's your choice.



Design and create your ideal life, tomorrow isn't promised - galenkp

[Original and AI free]
Image(s) in this post are my own

Sort:  

You do have to be able to step back and see a better way. It works for a while for me then I find myself getting caught up in the everyday drama and crisis scenarios. Bloody work!

Yep, it ebbs and flows like the tide I guess, most probably experience that.

Work: What the bloody fuck. #wtbf

#WTBW What the bloody work! 😀

Lol...someone just invented some new shit!

Speaking of new shit!! Check this! AI continue its march to dominate us all.

Fucken AI is the worst invention ever. It's at the opposite end to push up bras and mini skirts which are equally tied in first place as the best inventions ever.

Aye. It's like it's determined to take all the creative good stuff away from people in life!!

Exactly...AI is ruining almost everything.

Hi Galen, I completely agree with the quote, I think sometimes friends are a hindrance to moving forward because of their indulgence. Sometimes the worst friend is ourselves.

I will also tell you that I don't like the word failure. Somewhere I read that the only failure is not learning from your mistakes, which I strongly agree with.

About priorities in life I am also in a moment of adjustment. Not because I have "failed" but because they are changing with life.

Have a great end of the day.

I love failure and failing, it means I tried something, was proactive, and had the opportunity to learn along the way, learn through the failure. I've achieved a lot and progressed and developed so much through failing. 😁

Hopefully you've got a good day ahead of you, mine is (almost) ended.

Good night Galen, I hope you are dreaming of pretty things. I note the reply, maybe I'll use it as a quote. 😁

Have a great Friday

Of course, you have told us many special things. Today life has become very difficult for every person. Problems are going on in every person's life, but it is better that we should take time to think and how we can solve them. Can Handle If we do this, life will once again become easy for all of us.

Working towards resolving problems is better than letting them overcome us.

I always committed myself to work, to do it well, to not miss a single day, to be the first to arrive and the last to leave. Without prioritizing my personal life, my home, my daughters, and even they reproach me for it. And it is precisely now when I understand it, when I see that they neither remember you nor appreciate what you did. I think you are beginning to understand and you have time to rectify some things. Family and oneself must come first. Dear friend @galenkp thank you for sharing your reflections, that's life. Now that I don't depend on anyone but myself and my family I am happier and filled with life. Beautiful day.🤗😍

Thanks for sharing some of your personal experiences so openly. It can be difficult to find that balance however one needs to as life flies by quickly and getting the most value from it seems like the best way forward.

I am pleased that you appreciate my comments. Kind regards dear @galenpk.

Who? 😕

image.png

I think that is the result of being too good at your job. The management sees how effective and efficient you are so they just pile on the work. I wonder how many people they will have to replace you with once you retire.

That's probably a fair comment, workplaces tend to take advantage of the more capable ones; I think it happens in most workplaces.

Over here, we are left with very few choices, you work your butts off to earn stipends and you are so helpless because no matter the grind, you just have to survive, and that's all one's thinking about.
So basically, I have put my emotions in check and just let myself willingly be a part of this 'slavery'.

Yep, slavery is what it is. It's somewhat unavoidable, some put themselves into that position, but some is probably quite unavoidable, generally speaking.

Honestly I'm at that point in my life right now where I'm thinking of throwing in the towel on my career and taking life a bit more slowly. It's been twenty three years of hard work... I call it hard labour, because that's actually what it has been for me. I am not quitting in defeat but I feel I just have to say to the whole system, "f**k you"... and go on to do other things with my life. All these years I have served the system, now it's time to serve 'me'. It is an unfair system, an enemy, so to speak, because they make you give your all, with no commensurate compensation...😔 I know it's very different in your world huh?

Many people put the yoke of financial burden upon their own shoulders through bad decisions that often involve credit debt, and others are collared by default due to how society is these days; the system is geared towards holding people back, keeping them in debt so they 'have to go to work' which keeps the cycle turning. Getting off that roundabout is difficult.

Things aren't too bad here when compared to countries like yours, however things are far from good; each place has its unique challenges I guess.

That's just it...

Often the small adjustments you can make will make a big difference over time. These questions are good because the unconscious will work for you resolving issues without you even realising it.
It is a good starting point because if it is true, you can be your own worst enemy.

I have been in a similar situation although not in such a company and these assessments have helped me a lot.

Looking closely (and honestly) at oneself is a good opportunity to find areas of improvement and that brings growth and eventually progression towards better outcomes. It makes sense to do it right?

Of course it makes sense. The more you look inside yourself, the more you will find details that can help you deal with the burden and therefore the stress. You have too much responsibility and that affects you in the long run.

I'd like to think I do a pretty good job at my job. Things keep running and the few times when they are not it is kind of out of my control. That's probably the most important metric right there. I've also started to find a better work life balance lately. I used to bank a bunch of days off and never use them. I've found myself being more willing to use them though. Aside from a few things I also do a pretty good job of detaching myself from the job once I am home. At least most aspects of it. There are always some little things that nag at me now and then.

Banking days is a nice feeling sometimes, saving them for a rainy day, but taking a few now and then can stave off those rainy days altogether I guess, to some degree anyway.

I get paid for my unused days, so I used to try and use as few as possible. I now realize it's just money and the time is much more valuable.

Yep, same here and I agree, it's just money - important for sure, but there's other things that are more important in the grand scheme of things.

I think it can also be replaced with enviers, they would be willing to discover our weakness.

That is true indeed.

Yeah, life is to just . Focusing on yourself and on your family should be one of your priorities, because work can come and go, But your family is always there.

I agree, it's something we should all be focused on.

Yeah...we should all do that.

Wow! Inspiring. Nice 👍 one there. Thanks for sharing.

No worries.

Wow G, your piece about "looking closely" really resonated with me. It's a reminder to slow down and appreciate the little details in life. As always Thanks for such a great blog 🥰

Appreciate the little things yes, but take time to see where improvements can be made too.

Absolutely, always going to take your advice brother 🥰💯