Crab With a Side of Molt

in Amazing Nature2 years ago

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I'm here with something we didn't see before! A crab that was molting!

8FE341EE-1E3E-42E8-9C86-66971FD39E6A.jpeg

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Crab With a Side of Molt

If you've stopped by my blog in the past summer or two you'll probably have seen one or two, or more posts about us and our tidepool and crab adventures that we partake in over the course of the summer. We've tried to do it earlier in the year like around March or April but there's sadly nothing out in those early months lol so summertime it is!

One of the things that we haven't seen before which ended up being pretty awesome to see, was a crab in the process of molting!

96F08623-6464-4220-8079-88676C2BC375.jpeg

Being able to incorporate these small lessons like this into our sons overall education, even though it's not formal "homeschool" type stuff is really fun. We are able to talk about the process of molting, or shedding the old shell and growing a new one, and how that works for the crabs and why they do it. Our son was certainly fascinated by it all! Thankfully he was very inquisitive and kind to the little critter.

8FE341EE-1E3E-42E8-9C86-66971FD39E6A.jpeg

I have only seen molting on things like snakes or in documentaries and stuff where fancy people go around and show us what happens. It was pretty cool to see it for our own eyes! Better still, our son is the one who found the molting crab so that was also something that made me happy. When he's able to find these things instead of me, it makes me feel better. He loves being able to say he's the one that did or found something. I don't let him have all the glory all the time but I do try to let him have the majority of it to build the little tackers confidence.

0A0172F7-D340-4C65-8C1B-E6E923543784.jpeg

I did take the cake for the biggest crab of the day though! This was my find here, thing was pretty big!

18EA91F3-C017-4D08-B0B8-31E9E6305125.jpeg

If you're wondering why I am holding him upside down, it keeps them calmer for some reason I've learned. I don't necessarily mind picking them up but I don't enjoy getting pinched! So if I can make them calm with something as easy as just holding them upside down, I'm all for it. It also allows me to snag a decent picture, albeit a little odd angle.

This guy was obviously a brawler, missing his main claw on the right side there. Some of them are really intense in their fights!

EE36D8E9-D937-4A66-8474-DD85EA54E163.jpeg

It was pretty wild to see the molting crab though. Lots of parts of the thing were molting like the claws here as well as the shell! I think I read that they also eat the molted shell as a way to have food but as well recycle the resources that it took their little bodies to produce the new shell.

2049215F-80F5-403D-B10B-5E27EE4CD8EF.jpeg

This was certainly a heck of a find and I'm glad that I was able to document it a little bit and snag some pictures for everyone to check it out!

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,720 PRE tokens, with a market value of $380.27. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

Sort:  

Nice photos of molting crab. It must take a few hours to lose the shells. Nature is wonderful !

Thanks yeah it's crazy lol it's pretty damn cool to see them molting like that!

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by zoology team (oscurity,nelinoeva) on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

When I woke up this morning, who would have thought I was going to read a fascinating story and see some super pictures of a molting crab. Brilliant.

When I was a kid at the seaside, I learnt to hold them gently with finger and thumb. Finger between the eyes and thumb in a straight line at the back. Their pincers can't reach that spot between the eyes.

If you do try it and and nipped, not my fault though, it is a long time since I was a kid crabbing in the rock pools at the cost!

Have a great week :-)

It's remarkable what we get exposed to here on hive isn't it?! Lol thanks for stopping by to check it out!

I'll give it a try once to see if it works. We've had pretty good luck doing it this way although our son does it a little different where he just grabs the poor thing and hoists it up fast before it can pinch lol

Just learnt something new and that's how to hold a crab for it to stay calm. The last time I tried picking up a crab, I almost lost a finger and since then I've never touched one. Lol. So I think this new technique could work. Lovely photos BTW 🥰

Hahah yeah it's not official or scientific but it works! They do try to get ya but we use a gardening glove so they usually get the glove more than anything. It was very cool to see them getting rid of their shell!

I'd definitely love to witness a crab getting rid of it's shell too.

Congratulations @cmplxty! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the May Power Up Month Winners
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-05 - Winners List
Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day

Hello @cmplxty!

thank for sharing the info!
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @none! from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!