A Day at the Land

in Amazing Nature3 years ago (edited)

64C6804DB65E4441BC713D39FDA4DB12.jpeg

The land is what we call it. Fifteen beautiful acres of land that was purchased by my father. All of his dedication and hard earned work over the years has paid off.

One of his life goals was to leave his children something behind that was of value and necessity.

Generational wealth if you will, is exactly what this land is.

Recently before visiting the land we had that uncomfortable family talk. My parents discussed with my brother, sister and I what to expect if the unfortunate happens. They went over what each of us would posses if something were to happen to them. Everything my parents own will be split between the three of us.

I really hate having those types of meetings because it only reminds me that one day the inevitable will come. One day our lives will be in disarray and sadness...but I know we’ll get through it with the Lord’s comfort.

I do also realize these meetings are necessary to be better prepared.

After my uncle passed (my father’s brother) my parents began getting these things in order. My uncle’s death was unexpected and very sudden. His family struggled getting things in order because they didn’t have access to his important forms, passwords or documentation. They shared a word of warning to us to make sure to have those tough conversations and know what to do when the unfortunate happens.

This is one of the main reasons our entire family made it a priority to make this trip to visit the land together. It was sort of like day camping.

It made my parents really happy that we planned this outing to go and enjoy our land. We don’t get out here that much but that will all change once we get more shelter on the ground. For now we plan on using it as a getaway out of the city and eventually it could become our permanent place of residence.

We were able to help my parents tidy up on some of their current projects. My dad was glad to have the extra help.

0664E10A42BD414E88BB2993C055E09D.png

Woodworĸ

5A671F8F79614BA393C72A32CC6B6DD4.png

Here my brother was helping my dad finish the roof of the outhouse he built. My father is a retired electrician but he is also great with woodwork :)

Here is a look at the finished outhouse:

6A8F7CD572504AD28611A58E752F4315.jpeg

We were really grateful he made this a priority. It was much better than having to go squat in the woods.

He even made a few extras for the inside:

𝑤𝑜𝑜𝑑𝑒𝑛 𝑡𝑖𝑠𝑠𝑢𝑒 ℎ𝑜𝑙𝑑𝑒𝑟
𝑤𝑜𝑜𝑑𝑒𝑛 𝑠𝑜𝑎𝑝/𝑠𝑢𝑝𝑝𝑙𝑦 𝑠ℎ𝑒𝑙𝑓







We weren’t the only ones grateful for the outhouse...

C2AF93264E014DBEB942BE2E44EAC3D7.jpeg

This little guy hung out there for quite some time.

Some pics of the inside roof...







Built in door lock...

3A6A48F99C56486C86F06FF56C30824C.jpeg

My parents mainly come visit the land during hunting season and after that occasional visits to upkeep it. Here’s a glance at the inside of their cabin...

1E4EBF4A217344C4BD1D9B7259C6134B.jpeg

My dad made those wooden benches - here’s a closer look:

8890872BA6224CC08AA4AF3ECB8F133C.jpeg

5620EF93E7EF4E6592877076BAC1686E.png

Eхplorιɴɢ тнe Lαɴd

The kids were excited to get to the exploring part. They wanted to walk the land to see what they’d find.






So off they went with my husband and sister to adventure through the deep deep woods.







Can you spot the walking stick?

A57E886C14164D7FB04212840DC48F71.jpeg

They came to a spot where moss was surrounding them. My husband decided to take some shots of this flowerless beauty of nature...

FD9D734B401F4AE981355D8D53E42FBE.jpeg

C2833C8CD77A415FB87F66A5ABE640E8.jpeg

0CC243E61B2E4E9396CDCB0C15D22156.jpeg

BADE3E7AF3094FF785D4A13146B4380F.jpeg

They stumbled across this eerie tree stump that seemed to move nearer and nearer until finally it had a close eye on them...

C5523149510E450492681CEF9A5D3FDB.jpeg


My daughter told me as they were exploring the land they found quite a few old tree limbs that seemed to dissolve to dust at touch.

2FB3C4F1CD34437B8FB5A08D66DF15E5.png

Colorѕ

I’m not sure if this is the same for everyone but from where I’m from here in the US I was quite disappointed not to see many vibrant leaf colors this Fall. That’s one of my favorite aspects about this season - seeing the beautiful reds, oranges and yellows and taking pictures of them.

I’ve always been sad at how fast this season goes. It seems this year the leaves didn’t stay around long enough for the chance to show their true beauty.

I did manage to see a few of these colors while at the land though:

DFC9CA44114340F7A7EFBCEBE6A0C020.jpeg

We had some high winds that day as you can see from this photo...

5C4D39BCBCB74FD7B981971D99EDE8EE.jpeg

A54CB8A8170F4E1EAEBEBFBE2A82E9C7.jpeg

CC672794966044C7845600C7279FE9DE.jpeg

I still didn’t see the vibrancy I was looking for but at least I saw these colors.

AE73293C1D70481ABF26306B045D6A16.png

Acтιvιтιeѕ

As mentioned before my father goes hunting every year. Those in my family with a license to carry all had a blast at target practice.

We kept the young ones in the cabin to shield their ears as the adults had at it...

07C3030A05914138974B798D8C745398.jpeg
𝑡𝑎𝑟𝑔𝑒𝑡 𝑝𝑟𝑎𝑐𝑡𝑖𝑐𝑒

09314EE2BD9D4846BE62E8CE155FB1A4.jpeg
𝑡𝑎𝑟𝑔𝑒𝑡 𝑐𝑎𝑛

Of course we couldn’t day camp without having s’mores!!!

777C26A368B241AD894F6B906FE73AF2.jpeg

0549A7A243AF451FA7AE0ACDB1E89A20.jpeg

Here’s my husband using muscle to cut wood for the fire...

71E09B6B8D3843FEA99ECA5469A7B948.jpeg

527EF501AB814098B632AE58635C8255.png

Welp that’s the gist of our trip! Besides running from the bees that wanted to torture us it was really a great time.

Oh and there were some spiders in the mix...one crawled on my chair and my mother saved me by swiping it away. She’s so brave! All those years of gardening has a lot to do with it!

I am really excited to start building out there with my family. I admit I am not a great outdoorsy person but I can definitely see us visiting out there for some getaway relax time...it just can’t be during bee and tic season haha.

We are thinking about putting some type of fabricated home out there for now. If I am going to spend the night in the woods I need to make sure it’s fully insulated lol! Also, this may one day be our permanent place of residency with the goal of being off the grid.

All photos are my own and were taken with our Cannon EOS Rebel T6.

Page divider hand painted PNG Designed By 588ku from Pngtree.com


𝒯𝒽𝒶𝓃𝓀𝓈 𝓈𝑜 𝓂𝓊𝒸𝒽 𝒻𝑜𝓇 𝑅𝑒𝒶𝒹𝒾𝓃𝑔!


Sort:  

You have such a lovely father and family. I really love the way your family gathering together with activities to enjoy the moment. Wishing you a fun Halloween filled with magical surprises!

!tan - Please help me tip @crosheille for her great post.


Congratulations, @andyjim You Successfully Trended The Post Shared By @crosheille.
You Utilized 1/3 Daily Summon Bot Calls.

TAN Current Market Price : 0.300 HIVE

Thank you so much! It was really a joyous time together.

I really appreciate the visit, kind remarks and the tip ~ 😊

What a fabulous day! I love that roaming through the wild places and the campfire at the end is just the icing on the cake. I love the priority of the outhouse and the cabin with its stove looks like it could be cosy if the weather was inclement. How far away from the land do you live?

I agree with your family about being prepared and about having the conversation with you. I know it's tough but actually it is a problem as you get older if younger people are not willing to discuss it.

I love these kind of posts from you. Really lighten my day!

It surely was fabulous! Oh yes my parents are looking forward to using their stove when the weather gets really cold. The land is 3 1/2 hours from where we live...a nice little getaway drive. 😊

That is so true. We have decided to take the same steps with our children as well. These things definitely need to be discussed.

Thank you so much. I am so glad I could brighten your day by sharing my family moments with you. Thank you for always supporting and uplifting ~ 🤗😘

It's a really beautiful place to stay. The cabin is lovely. Thanks for sharing with us a wonderful day!!!

It really is a lovely place. We are so thankful for it.

It was a pleasure. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment ~ ☺️

verde 2 profundida.png

Your post is wonderful and that is why it has been manually healed by @auelitairene and mentioned in the diyocoi healing column for the benefit of the Wotüjja indigenous community from @adiwathrive

Our project seeks to motivate our community to develop content in different branches of life. It doesn't matter if you speak English or Spanish, our foundation is based on the principles of balance, harmony and consciousness. Click here if you want to know more here. Our account is supported by @naturalmedicine and @imagenius, so our vote also rewards with and interesting amount of the LOTUS token.

If you want to join our project, delegate to @adiwathrive and receive our support with upvotes, reblogs, mentions and contests where you can win in HIVE and more. To Delegate Here!

We encourage you to use the #adiwa #lotus #naturalmedicine or #adiwathrive tags so we can always marvel at your posts and share them too.

Thank you so much for your support! I am glad you thought my post was wonderful. 🙂

Thank you for reminding me to use the naturalmedicine tag. I am very familiar with that community and at one point was very active there (just busy working on other projects). I usually use that tag when I am posting about foods or natural healing but forgot these types of posts also fit in that category.

I hope I get the time to look more at your particular project. Thanks again ~

Thanks for sharing your day at The Land! It reminded me of going to The Farm as a kid. My dad and I would take grandpa's dog to the lower pasture across the road and do some squirrel hunting. We also did a lot of target practice.

included.png

Sure, it was fun sharing my day! 😃 I'm glad I could bring back up good memories of the farm. I bet you really enjoyed those times. 😊

Thanks for stopping in to read and comment ~

How good that family union really is. I'm curious to know if they made the latrine when they left and left it there?

For the children it will be an unforgettable memory.

It was really a good time of gathering together. 😉

My father built the outhouse at his home and delivered it there on his truck. He finished the roofing and some of the inside once it arrived on the land. Yes, it will stay there. He covered it it up with a huge tarp to keep it safe from the wet weather.

This will definitely be an unforgettable memory for the little ones...and for us adults!

Thanks so much for visiting ~

Oh thank you so much for your real tip!
Good thing your father left it there so that others can take advantage of that latrine space, in my country
It's very rare for anyone to do something like this.

Absolutely!! 😉

Yes, it would be a lot trouble to keep taking it back and forth. There’s not to many other people that live around our land so honestly I don’t think it will be used.

What a wonderful inheritance for you and very thoughtful of your folks to make sure they passed on to you something of value!
Hope you have many happy years there as a get-a-way and permanent residence!

It truly is a wonderful inheritance. When I was younger I didn't understand the necessity and value of it but now I surely do and actually appreciate it! 🙂

Thanks so much for stopping in and giving your kind words ~

I really enjoyed this post! I especially enjoyed seeing the photos of the extra “amenities” added to the outhouse 😃! I also think it’s very loving how your father is able to leave you all such a valuable inheritance,land!

I am very glad to hear you enjoyed my post, thank you!

We are truly blessed to have a father who worked so hard to make sure this was possible. Now it’s up to us to care for it and make great use of
it. 😊

Thank you for commenting ~

Those are the moments we don't like to think about but unfortunately we need to and if it can all be discussed and sorted before hand it takes a lot of pressure of and life on-wards can be much easier and it seems that you have a great family to be able to discuss these issues without any drama.

Love big properties like that and wishing all the best of enjoyments on your future escape out of the big city 👍

Thank you so much @kohsamui99! ☺️

That is so true! If we can make life a little less stressful afterwards then why not? I really think these meetings are necessary. My husband and I will take this same approach with our own children so they will be prepared and know what to do.

It is truly a blessing having this space to call our own and to be able to do whatever we wish with it. I'm looking forward to seeing it develop over time.

Thanks so much for the visit and kind words ~ 😊

You are taking all the right approaches and steps these are all important factors whether we like it or not and it will make life easier for everyone there is no need for the tax departments and government department to get rich over it after we have worked hard for it ☺️

Absolutely sound words you've spoken! There is definitely no reason why we have to let them get involved. I am really relieved we are being proactive and taking care of these important matters now :)

Good to hear that you are all over it been proactive is the key word...have a great weekend @crosheille ☺️

Thanks you too ~ 😊

You're right: a piece of land is a great asset.
What's your opinion about the fact that we have to wear protective masks in stores?

Congratulations @crosheille! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 8750 replies. Your next target is to reach 9000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day