Stunning Sea flowers of the ocean!

in Amazing Nature4 years ago (edited)

148.JPG

They are called "Anemones" and "Marine invertebrates", but we simply call them sea flowers 🙂

A happy international Peace Day to all Hivers and your families!

Today we will show you some rockpool gardens, as we unexpectedly were granted this explorations gift when we passed by on the beach road. The sea had pulled back almost to the horizon, exposing acres of underwater rocks.
So, let's go and see what we found!

172.JPG

This entire area is hardly ever seen as one cannot stand there during the normal tides. But today for some reason, the tide has pulled even further back!

165.JPG

A while ago, this rock above was on the seabed beyond the waves!

137.JPG

Look at this! If you touch it then it immediately grabs and closes thinking that it is food!
It could be the "Actinia tenebrosa", as they live along the Atlantic ocean coasts which we have here!

140.JPG

The round red flower here looked like a little red round cake!

142.JPG

A closer look shows us the anemones beauty.

157.JPG

Finally I just had to show you this! The snail had finished his artwork on the rock and I saw it lifting up in the water presumably to go and paint on another rock 🤣

Here is some more information on the Anemones:

"Anemones are simple animals that look like delicate flowers. But these “flowers” can move and catch prey.
Anemones have poisonous barbs in their tentacles that fire on contact, injecting poison into their prey.
To protect themselves, anemones secrete a special slime that prevents the stinging cells on one tentacle from firing when they come into contact with other tentacles or with the anemone’s body".

https://www.aquarium.co.za/species/entry/anemones
See also:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sea_anemone

And That's All Friends!

I decided to show you that the sea also gifts you with flowers on this Peace day and we certainly wish every person on Hive only the very best in all of your endeavors and also in your lives!

Before I go, I leave you with this;

“ Inner peace is the new success. Health is the new wealth. Happiness is the new rich. Kindness is the new cool.” —Syed Balkhi

All photos are my own and we thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

Disclaimer:
The articles, trademarks, and photos appearing on this @papilloncharity site may not be used in any advertising or publicity, or affiliation with any product or service, or for private purposes, without the author's prior written permission.
All posts are placed without prejudice!
PLEASE DO NOT COPY

Sort:  

Congratulations @papilloncharity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 24500 replies. Your next target is to reach 25000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Update for regular authors

Thank you kindly! 😍

Again a new personal record @papilloncharity 😉

Trying my best my dear, as the votes are low priced, so I push on the engagement side of things ❤️

I have never seen an anemone like that. I have snorkelled (not dived though) on the great barrier reef and I loved looking at all the amazingly weird creatures nature has provided.

Funny enough we saw a guy snorkeling there near where we stood, as the anemone's are found in the pools near the deep end of the rocks!

Here's the guy!

126.JPG

Maybe a reminder of your snorkeling days.

Thank you for the visit!

Was he wearing a life vest with a look if fear at the depth of water? If so, it would be just like my days! ;D

Nah! He was wearing a full rubber suit, as the Atlantic water is very cold, but you could be right about the fear, as he was also towing that big white marker.
I think that it would be easy to get snagged by those razor sharp underwater rocks, as they can cut a ship open from end to end.
I don't see you as the scary type :)

Snorkelling is fun, but I am not a good enough swimmer to do it without a lifevest anyway.

I have seen some pretty nasty surfing "scrapes" from people hitting the reefs.

I love water, but but I think that my poor swimming ability is more due to my family not encouraging it, than me almost drowning and being scared. I am not scared of drowning though, as the experience (after the initial panic) was calming.

I have never snorkeled as I get claustrophobia.
But I am a good swimmer, as I swam a lot in my life.
You are right as the rocks here are razor sharp and very difficult to walk on when the tide is out.
It must however look beautiful under water.

Pity that your family didn't encourage swimming and you have received a life lesson of worth with that calming effect. I saw that you guys also encourage smallsteps in the water which is a great thing to do.

The underwater world is so surprising!

Oh yeah, better than any movie house hahaha.

Snail trail super cool, nothing beats the colours in sea flowers. Red glow of anemones a warning to all who swim past when tide draws in again.

Nice time to wander over rocks exposed like this Stephen, great past time.

I have fun with the anemones Lady Joan, as when you touch those fingers lightly, they immediately fold in thinking that it's food. Then it is so lovely after a while to see the fingers open and slowly extending again.
I should have taken that snail on video, but I will next time.

Yeah, time flies on those rocks lol.

That snail painting is cool - if you had not said it's a snail trail I would have believed it's some kind of art work 😉
I have seen such anemones in an aquarium before, but never in nature - they are beautiful "flowers" 😃


Cheers and !BEER
!ENGAGE 30

Good morning Hannes,

I said elsewhere that I should have made a video of that Michelangelo snail, as it is amazing to watch how they leave a trail in the sand in the rock pools.
Yes agreed, the anemones are lovely and at a soft touch they retract their fingers thinking that it's food.

I hope that all went well with your hike yesterday?

Cheers and thanks!

Yes, a video in high speed or a timelapse video would be quite interesting :)

Apart from the fact that I'm feeling every single bone in my body today we had a good hike and time, thanks 😃


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Now that's strange, as I was just talking to a friend about muscle pains. He is also 50 years old.
Funny how in our younger days we could clamber around like monkeys and never feel a thing, but now we get pains upon pains that has to do with other pains hahaha.

Wait a few more years and you will get more pains on top of all of those pains that I have just mentioned Hannes lol.

Cheers and thanks!

Oh yes, the pain has been bad, but I'm okay again, and even if it hurt I felt so good after this hike 😁
I know it will get worse each year, but how would you say? Such is life 😉


Cheers and !BEER

It doesn't have to get worse each year as long as you stay active my friend.
This sitting is what gets us.
Walk as much as you can, which you do already and also try to do some regular stretch exercises, which will result in you being in a better condition than I am when you get to my age.

I see that the hikes mean a lot to you and that's always a good thing!

Cheers and thanks!

And that's my plan - I don't want to sit and get rusty, but this virus year has changed a lot. I only hope that it changes back soon and I can hike more than I did this year.


Cheers and !BEER


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I didn´t knew they were flowers! I thought they were animals, they just didn't move much hahaha learned something today!

Well now, they are not flowers and you were right that they are animals.
We only call them sea flowers, because they look like flowers.

Excellent post, buddy @papilloncharity

Fascinating marine world. I didn't know that anemones could survive out of water. Interesting.

Beautiful photographs. I congratulate you on your article.

A hug

Thank you kindly my friend.

The photos are all of the anemones in water as they were in the tock pools.
The water in the pools are thankfully clear and soon the tide will return, then they will be on the sea bed again.

Glad that you like the article and a hug also to you!

I remember having a few anemones way back in the day when I had a salt water tank. The are beautiful creatures!

Beautiful creatures and I love to touch them when they are wide open waiting for food.
So lovely to see how they contract and release their feelers again.

Thank you for the visit!

So pretty! Would love to see them up close. The sea has so much beauty in it!

Thank you and the water was thankfully crystal clear in the rock pools.
Also great to touch them and to see how they react.
The ocean is filled with beauty!

Yeah, the ocean is just gorgeous. I would love to live near it

We were so fortunate to get this place my friend and we couldn't possibly have asked for a better one.
Another gift is that it also has a high re sale value which turns out to be a good investment.
The sea and the mountains in a vey close proximity!

Sea + mountains = ❤️. A piece of land is always a good investment

❤️ Yes indeed, except if it is claimed by the government lol.