Another Design Quilt (Nakshi Katha) by My Sister

After about two weeks I am again with a project of needlework to this community. I was busy with couple of activities as in this situation I have to conduct some courses to my textile engineering students in online basis. So, I had some busy schedule so I couldn't post here. And I had no ongoing project at my hand related needle as well.

IMG20201120171023.jpg

Today I am going to share another Nakshi (designed) quilt. In my previous couple of posts, I have explained about the tradition and culture of making designed quilt in the rural areas of Bangladesh. This is a huge cottage industry I must say. And most of them are not coming out from the boundary because they are using it for themselves. But whatever some contribution we are just getting from the rural women in the form of Cottage and design decoration creation.

IMG20201120170557.jpg

IMG20201120170627.jpg

IMG20201120170634.jpg

IMG20201120170659.jpg

IMG20201120170711.jpg

This quilt has been made by my sister for my newborn daughter and us as well. It has been made at the big size so that it can be used by my newborn daughter and all some other family members. So, in the quilt you can see several flowers and Designs has been Incorporated. And which has done by needle and thread. It has taken more than a month for my sister to do all the things. 4 layers of clothes has been used here. And she guaranteed that this quilt will survive at least 25 years. The legibility of quilt is depending on the quality of the fabric and how dense the thread is used for stitching. Whole work is a hand-made stitch Nothing from the machine.

IMG20201120170823.jpg

IMG20201120170834.jpg

IMG20201120170845.jpg

IMG20201120170849.jpg

IMG20201120170900.jpg

Previously I have discussed that which is made by hand it is obviously very much lucrative compared with those which has made by machine. That's why although it is taking some time but for the better output obviously there using needle with your hand. And most importantly most of the rural women don't have sewing machine at their effort.

Finally, I want to conclude about the beauty of this quilt. Without this design the quilt could have been made with some straight swing. But as there are some designs in the quilled, I think it will feel better for the users all the time. And it can be easily offered to the guest who will be fascinated. What's the process of making this quilt and its explanation I have discussed in my previous couple of posts into this platform and those links has been provided here below to this link. I am not going to the details. But it's obviously a awesome work. And I am thankful to my sister for doing such a good work and gift me this work. And my wife is also very happy. So, she also loves to use needles for some quilt making. And in that way, we are really happy by getting such a good gift from my sister and she is doing a lot of work and gifting us many times.

IMG20201120170935.jpg

IMG20201120170942.jpg

IMG20201120171032.jpg

IMG20201120170905.jpg

IMG20201120170913.jpg

IMG20201120171100.jpg

IMG20201120171035.jpg

I am very happy to share this quilt to this community here. I hope you will enjoy and love this work


Line Break Needle.png


Be creative and make some needle works.

4HFqJv9qRjVeVQzX3gvDHytNF793bg88B7fESPieLQ8dxJ4wFsG4h87wPThsAYPWQQG5Mp6ohvcJnAdTCW2XmJpX4hedRgyD8hk1EVH7AskWH6VKLkF95MiWEhst4efBoDyw2HvGpq6sGPhF1KSWtLPqNbBuAkiBfX4.jpg


Thanks for stopping by.



You can check some of my previous post’s into this community on Needle Work

01. Making Quilt for my baby and Procedure of quilt making
02. Hand Fan made with needle and thread by my sister
03. Basics of Knitting : Technical Face and Technical Back
04. Quilt culture in Bangladesh and some quilts for my baby
05. Basics of Weaving : How to draw Diamond Design
06. Nakhsi (Designed) QUILT for my Baby
07. Hand Fan with Lucrative Diamond Design
08. Table Cloth with Lucrative Needle Work Design


Thanks to @crosheille for initiating such a good community; @marblely, & @muscara for their support to this community



LIne Break Hive.png

Who I am

LIne Break Hive.png

I am lecturer of Textile Engineering in Bangladesh. I love Textile and its related accessories. Being a lecturer on Fabric Manufacturing, I need to perform knitting and weaving activities regularly. I stay with needle and textile machineries. Recently I have found this amazing needle work community. Hopefully I shall share my needle works which I love to do to this community.

Line Break Needle.png

So, in this community I shall show one after one about my needle work. As a Textile Engineer, I need to knit several fabrics with knitting machine by the help of needle. Hopefully I shall show one after one of those knitting, crochet and weaving works from both manual and mechanical.

Line Break Needle.png

I want to express my ideas and learnings to this community so that anyone can be benefited from me. I blog in YouTube, DTube and Hive on Textile, Online Money making and Random topics. I love to capture Natural Photography. I am always a learner and wants to go to the moon with this platform.

LIne Break Hive.png

Upvote, Reblurt and Follow me on blurt @engrsayful

Intro Hive.gif

LIne Break Hive.png

This is Saiful’s Classroom from @engrsayful

Find me on

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Congratulations. it's beautiful work.