Needlework Your Barbie Contest!

in NeedleWorkMonday2 years ago (edited)
Authored by @crosheille

199E6156-EF00-445A-94AD-BE97FE810E8E.png
photo credit: @crosheille

It’s back by popular demand! Go and grab your Barbie because it’s time for another needlework fashion session!

Needleworĸ Yoυr Bαrвιe!


Last year we challenged you to make your Barbie a new outfit, accessories or necessities and it turned into regular fun with some of our members. We’ve seen several fun Barbie outfits worked up throughout the year.

For this contest you can crochet a sweater or dress, sew an overnight bag, cross-stitch a design and make it her next blanket, embroider one of her current shirts to make it pop, knit her Winter socks, create the ultimate lace holiday outfit with all of the shajazz - the ideas are Eη∂ℓєѕѕ!

It doesn’t have to be Barbie, it could also be for Ken!

Don’t have a Barbie?...it’s okay. As long as it’s a Barbie sized doll. Don’t have any doll?...that’s okay too. Although it would be great to see your creations on an actual doll we will accept you showing just the items you make. I suggest you be creative on how you display them if you have no doll to help model them. Presentation is key here! 😉

Show the process of your work if you wish. We are not requiring process photos but will be judging on the final product you present. I encourage you to share as much as possible (backstory, reasons for making this particular item, fictional fun, the level of difficulty it was, your final thoughts about your work etc.)

91379596-9979-4182-A314-1E3EB7B3BCC9.jpeg


Rυleѕ:

  1. All items you make for Barbie must involve needlework. We will also accept any form of fiber arts that deal with knotting, braiding, felting, lacing or any form of manipulation of fabrics and yarns. You can even combine different needlework techniques together.

  2. You must make needlework items for Barbie, Ken or any Barbie sized doll male or female. You do not have to have an actual doll to show but please make sure your items are small enough (Google and Pinterest can give you size equivalence).

  3. You can make clothing pieces, accessories and necessities (see ideas above).

  4. You are allowed to use patterns but please be sure to credit the source in your post. Add your signature touch to make it your own :)

  5. Only one entry per entrant is allowed!

  6. Must post your entry directly to the NeedleWorkMonday Community!

  7. Must leave a link to your contest entry below in the comments so we won’t miss it!

Eɴтry Deαdlιɴe:

All entries for this contest are due in two weeks on Monday, November 29th!

Prιzeѕ

1st Place - 30% of the rewards of this post
2nd Place - 25% of the rewards of this post
3rd Place - 20% of the rewards of this post
4th Place - 15% of the rewards of this post
5th Place - 10% of the rewards of this post

We are looking forward to seeing your entries! Ready, Set, Go Needlework Your Barbies!!! 🧵🧶


Join us on Discord by clicking the logo below!

NWM Discord LInk.jpg


NeedleWorkMonday Founder:
@crosheille


Administrator:
@marblely


Community Builders:
@neumannsalva
@lauramica
@romeskie
@kattycrochet


Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

I was until today looking for someone to give me a barbie but I could not find, can I use one of my amigurumis as a Model? its size is small

Absolutely you can @irenenavarroart. We will accept your entry if you want to make clothing for one of your amigurumi models ~ 😘

I love this call! I haven't participated as I don't have a doll, Barbie, Ken, or anything like it, but I still want to participate... something interesting will come to mind to show my work final!!!!

friends want to participate: @chacald.dcymt , @jicrochet , @ayleenr , @nellyhope

untitled.gif

Thanks for the invitation... I don't have Barbies either but I have lots of ideas for this contest...🥰 ✂️....
I already want to see your works...

I invite @tere.alv.

Yay awesome!! 😊

I'm so glad to hear you are still planning to participate even without a doll. I know you'll think of something fun!! 😃

Thanks for inviting others! 😗

Thank you @crosheille , yes I'm thinking something funny! 😉

Absolutely! 😉

How wonderful! I would like to participate, but the doll I have is the size of skkiper or stacy, that is, smaller 😅

Hey @suezoe! Lol!! If you are able to make clothing in their size we will accept your entry. 😄😉

Me parece fabuloso @needleworkmonday . Buscaré quien me preste una barbie para participar.

That's great to hear! Don't forget you can still enter without a Barbie too. We hope to see an entry from you ~ 😉

Yes yes yoo! Another fashionable dolls will be created! Thanks much @crosheille for this come back contest. Looking forward for the awesome entries.

Whoo Hoo! It's always a pleasure putting on contests for our community. You're very welcome ~ 😉

Omg, espero poder participar en este concurso. Las muñecas Barbie son un ítem representativo cuando hablamos de juguetes desde que se crearon, fueron parte del cambio con muñecas. Me encanta esta idea, espero también ver a las participantes y sus creaciones. ¡Mucho éxito para todas!.

Omg, I hope I can participate in this contest. Barbie dolls are a representative item when we talk about toys since they were created, they were part of the change with dolls. I love this idea, I also hope to see the participants and their creations, I wish the best to all of you.

I'm glad you love the idea and hope you are able to participate ;)

Thank you ~

Yaaaaay!!! Another contest!!! Okay, I take it as this is my sign from the universe to get a doll😁😁 it's interesting since this is the first time I'll officially be making anything for a doll. I have no idea what I'll come up with, I just hope my new doll doesn't hate me after I make it 😂😂

Lol yes, I hope you're able to get one. I'm sure you'll come up with something exciting like you always do. This would be a fun challenge for you to make something small! 😃

Yes indeed. It will be a fun challenge, for some reason I think it will be more difficult than what I'm used to but that's what's most exciting about the challenge for me😁😁
I hope I do come up with something nice.

Yes, especially after you accomplish your goal you will be even more proud of yourself knowing this was something you normally don't do. Have fun!! 🤩

Oh!, since last year's contest my doll is still the same (jaja). As there is no specific theme, I'll plan something simple. Many thanks to the organizers for promoting this kind of contests and good vibes to all the participants. For sure it will be fun to see every doll dressed up.

It's going to be so much fun!! 😍

These are the types of events we look forward to having here ~ 😘

 2 years ago  

I love love love the cover photo's Barbie's outfit!!! She looks sooooo stylish!! I love the slouchy hat, the scarf, the dress, the boots!!! And she has pink hair!!!!! 😍😍😍😎I am excited to see the entries this round and yes, it is good to bring this contest back. It is a good break to relive our childhood days :)

Thanks so much @marblely! I remember how much fun it was to make these items for Jaslene last year. We were all on Barbie excitement and it did bring back so many fond memories. I don't think I'll have the time to make anything this year so I'll just sit back and enjoy all of the entries. 😍

 2 years ago  

Wohoo! New edition of my favorite contest 😍😍😍😍😍. It will be great to see the new creations this season, plus there are several new members since last time 💕. Great projects are coming 😃😃😃😃😃😃.

Whoo Hooo!! It's Go Time!! I am really excited for the new members who get to participate this year! Yay!! 😆😍

For days I had my doll near my bed waiting for this day, I knew it was coming and what luck that it was the barbie's turn. I love the contests of my favorite community. happy day.

Yay!! Happy Day for sure! I look forward to your entry Carolina!! 😊

Good morning, a query: you can only publish 1 garment or several ... I consult it because it is just my great hobby, to know if I can put several photos of different garments or not. Thanks

Hi @dru.munecas! You can submit only one contest entry but within that one entry you can present several garments. Like the cover photo, I presented 3 pieces (hat, scarf and leggings) last year. You can create a full ensemble if you'd like. So yes, you can present several pieces as long as it's all apart of your one entry.
😉

Hi, thnaks for the reply.

 2 years ago  

Super exciting this new contest, I was looking forward to it since it's been a long time since I made a new outfit for my beloved Kalanny. But what excites me the most is to enjoy the creations of all the members of the community, especially our new members. I think we are going to have a lot of fun with this event. Hands to our needles and let's create!

--
Super emocionante este nuevo concurso, lo esperaba con ansias ya que hace mucho tiempo que no le hago un traje nuevo a mi querida Kalanny. Pero lo que más me emociona es poder disfrutar de las creaciones de todos los miembros de la comunidad, en especial de nuestras nuevos integrantes. Creo que nos vamos a divertir mucho con este evento. Manos a nuestras agujas y a crear. .

I'm looking forward to seeing what new item(s) Kalanny gets. I agree and think that our newer members will enjoy this just as much as we did last year. 😊

This is so cool @crosheille !! I look forward to seeing all the entries and I will try to post one myself! That would make a nice Christmas gift.

Thank you so much for hosting such a wonderful initiative! Off to choose a Barbie!

That will be so cool if you're able to enter Denise! 😆

I'm so glad you like the idea, yay ~

 2 years ago  

Yeah to the contest!!!! Last time the entries were so amazing, I remember the ball gowns, the wonderful intarsia sweater, tiny shoes, shawls and and and. I was so surprised about all the possibilities to create an outfit in such tiny dimensions. And how cool is it that we are having another of theses amazing contest. I think this will bring a lot of joy in this wintery times (where I live its winter: cold, dark, wet 😱) and shared joy in our community is the best <3 <3

I definitely agree that last year we had some really amazing entries.

It is such a shared joy and fun time ~

Omg this is so cute! I wish I would have the skills to do this kind of work

Thanks @creativemary! It's never too late to learn and add this skill under your creative belt. ☺️😘

Hmmm true, I will start with watching some tuturials. I remember trying this shortly in school, it was fun but very demanding because you had to make patterns, it is a whole strategy to do intricate designs! Admirable anyway!

That's a great place to start! I have yet to master making patterns. I can read just about any crochet pattern but I still shy away from making my own. If you end up going on this journey and making some items please do share them here with us ~ 🤩

You are very encouraging, thank you! I will add it to make time for this list hahaha. We creatives want to always try new things all the time🤣

You’re welcome. ☺️

Lol exactly! I want to try so many things I never have the time for. 😅

I was able to participate in last year's contest on dressing the barbie. Though I didn't win any prize but the happiness we felt in sharing our projects make the whole event memorable and joyful. And it's so nice to have that same contest again. 😊 yehey! Thanks to @crosheille for bringing it back. I know, many are excited to join, and are now thinking of what design would catch the attention of the critics. Good luck to everybody.

It truly was a memorable and joyful event.

We really did have requests to bring it back and I'm glad we were able to. In my opinion the Barbie contest has been one of the funnest, most participated one so far. 😉

Have fun ~

But look what I found here, this is an excellent idea to get the only barbie I keep from my daughter who is now 18, let's get to work NOW!

Pero miren lo que me encontre por aqui, esta es una excelente idea para sacar la unica barbie que conserve de mi hija que hoy tiene 18, a ponernos manos a la obra YA!

Awesome! Have fun!! 😆

Excelente cuantas entradas podemos hacer? Tengo muchas ideas.

This year we have decided that in order to keep things better organized and easier for us judges we are only allowing one entry per entrant.

We have so many more members and it gets hard trying to keep up with multiple entries. Please pick your best idea and go for it!!

Thank you ~ 😊

🙋 I am very excited. Welcome to this new contest, let's go make our dolls our firsts! I love it because I already have in my plans to incorporate new designs in my Barbie's showcase. I'm sure we'll all participate! Thanks so much to @crosheille for giving us this opportunity to create and share. Cheers. Let's get to work!

🙋 Me siento muy emocionada. Bienvenido este nuevo concurso. ¡Vamos a hacerle los estrenos a nuestros muñecos! Me encanta porque ya tengo en mis planes incorporar nuevos diseños en el escaparate de mi Barbie. Estoy segura que todos vamos a participar. ¡Yes! Muchas gracias a @crosheille por regalarnos está oportunidad para crear y compartir. Saludos. ¡Manos a la obra!

We're excited too and are so looking forward to seeing all of the entries this year! Enjoy!

It’s always a pleasure ~ 😘

Hola hola. Por aqui dejo mi creación para hoy.
hello needlepoint creatives.
Today I am particularly excited about this... https://peakd.com/hive-127911/@jennynas/aztec-fantasy

I have only one question for those who doesn’t crochet how would they participate??

It doesn't have to be just crochet. As long as it's needlework related it's fine. For you, sewing something for your doll will be perfect

😂 @blezyn thats if I have one 😂

!LOLZ now is the time to get one

Thanks for answering his question @blezyn.

It's my pleasure ❤️

See Rule #1.

And rule 2 says I might not actually have a doll to show (Which I didn’t by the way)😂 but I should make a cloth that’s little in size so that means am participating 😂

Great to hear @smilestitches! I'm sure you'll get creative ~ 😉

Yes sure 😂😂😂

Hello, here my entry, first time ever
20211119_204556.jpg

My entry

Excelente concurso me trae recuerdos de mi infancia cuando hacia ropas para mis muñecas y barbie aunque también era estilista porque terminaba cortandoles el cabello jajaja

Pronto haré mi participación.

Feliz noche amigas este concurso para mi fue un reto en vestir una barbie ya que siempre realizo proyectos de costura mucho mas grandes, pero me encanto la experiencia, así que les dejo mi participación https://peakd.com/hive-127911/@mariaser/espeng-contest-needlework-your-barbie-creacion-de-tutu-y-top-para-mi-barbie

Hola Damas! feliz día para todas. Aquí les dejo mi participación. https://peakd.com/hive-127911/@g2ml/teje-tu-concurso-de-barbi-weave-your-own-barbi-contest-esp-eng
gracias y bendiciones.

Hi, this is my entry to the contest Good luck everyone!

image.png

Mil bendiciones para esta hermosa comunidad que cada día me encanta más ! Les dejo por aquí la entrada al concurso.esperando siempre que les guste.
https://peakd.com/hive-127911/@amores.sf2/esping-needlework-tu-barbiemi-outfit-mini-falda-plisada-cro-top--accesorios--cartera-y-cintillo-tejido-a-crochet-espingn

There are 2 pages
Pages