Dhadki Kutchi Quilt, I tried the Gujarati Style Quilt

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago (edited)

Hi all needle-artists.. Hope you all are fine.

This is another #NeedleWorkMonday. I always wait for this day to share my new works with the members of the community. Let's have some exchanges of experiences.

Today I am going to share Gujrati Style Embroidered Quilt called Kutchi Quilt that I have recently done.
20200820_152747.jpg

20200820_142107.jpg


Kutch is a district of Gujarat state in western India. There are a lot of famous traditional design of needle-works. About 16 types of special identical embroidered products are listed as the Geographical Indications.

Kutchi Quilt has many diversifications. I picked a very simple one among these that is called Dhadki.

source: shop.gaatha.com
[source: shop.gaatha.com](source: shop.gaatha.com)


How to prepare


Dhadki is very simple but aristocratic style to look. It is a geometrical pattern design that seems as steps.

I prepared my quilt by online guideline. So I was a little bit confused whether I can do it or not.

Let have the process I maintained to do it..


01. Draw parallel lines from both sides on the ground of the quilt


20200820_141615.jpg


02. Make horizontal long stitches according to the drawn lines


20200820_141639.jpg

20200820_141733.jpg


03. Stitche vertical lines with a sequence


20200820_142118.jpg

20200820_142135.jpg

20200820_142249.jpg

20200823_194231.jpg


04. Close the edges with Edges-stitches (Kachha Selai)


20200823_202148.jpg


05. Then it is complete, Use the quilt now


20200820_142329.jpg

20200820_152936.jpg


Note:


Gujarati people generally use square thin mirror to the each centre of the designs. They use it for decorative purpose when light reflects on that, it looks very much attractive.

But I avoid it as I am preparing this quilt to use as a blanket of my newborn baby. Mirror Mary harsh the surface of the quilt that may create problem in my baby's skin.


I have shared some of my original hand made embroidery works with sequences of working procedures how to make that needle-works at some of my previous posts of #needleworkmonday and other communities also as follows:

  • Simple manual embroidery with process sequences
  • Embroidery on cotton quilt..
  • Embroidered quilt for my upcoming baby
  • My recent embroidery quilt: simply done
  • My Amateur Embroidered Quilt During Corona Time..
  • My first needletwork at bed sheet..

Who am I

20200802_181415.jpg

I am from Bangladesh. Still now I am a student. Besides studying, I like to do some creative works like needlework, blogging and as well as writing on blockchain Hive.

I like to do embroidery on Nakshi kantha (quilt) at my leisure period.

Sort:  

Great work! It's so beautiful. And "Gujarat" remind me good old days I spent in Ahmedabad :) I would like to try one someday.

If you do that then share it. I will wait for your ones.

It's nice matter that you have visited Ahmedabad. I had never gone to India but I wish one day I will go.

 4 years ago  

Wonderful quilt and such an interesting design. It is amazing how the lines come together to build this labyrinthian pattern. And definitive a good decision to not use mirrors for a baby blanket.
Thank you for sharing this wonderful technique and a bit of history with us <3

The important matter is that it required very few time. I completed the total quilt within 4-5 hours only. Now I wish I will make another one larger quilt with same appearance for my use.

Hello @tasri! Your post was selected by our staff on behalf of the OCD Community Incubation Program and has received an OCD upvote! Congratulations!!! Please keep sharing these quality posts :)

I invite you to continue sharing anything needlework related directly to the NeedleWorkMonday Community. On Monday’s we use the #needleworkmonday tag and on all other days the #needlework tag.

Written by @crosheille for the NeedleWorkMonday Community ~

Congratulations @tasri! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 800 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

Great Design, magnificent work with simple lines!! Thank you very much for sharing with us both the historical info and the tutorial pattern!!

It is beautiful!! My sister makes quilts for her church and i won one its awesome.