Building a new birdhouse and cleaning your old ones

in Build-It3 years ago

image.png

I have some experience with professional CAD design software like AutoCAD, Ideas etc. and I've enjoyed using them, so I've thought that it would be cool to use similar programs to design my own projects. I don't have the money to buy a commercial design software, so I got FreeCAD which had got good ratings.

So I decided to practice with a birdhouse, which I would build with my son. As I have experience with the CAD software I skipped the tutorials and managed to make a nice looking birdhouse on the software.

birdhouse.PNG

However, I couldn't understand how the drawing creation works. Instead of having a nice looking manufacturing drawing of the birdhouse you got this.

Height of the back wall 350 mm, made from 150 mm wide 22 mm thick board, hole 46 mm and located 80 mm from the top of birdhouse. Floor and ceiling are made of an appropriate size.

The roof works better if it's not entirely straight but made with a slight angle, but this is not necessary. That just helps to keep the water off from the birdhouse.

Pönttö (7).JPG

So this is started by sawing the pieces for the birdhouse. My strong and capable assistant is my son who'se idea the birdhouse originally was.

It's important to keep your fingers safe.

Pönttö (8).JPG

As we can see, there are two lines. One is drawn by my son using a free hand and the second line is made using a square tool to ensure it's straight.

Pönttö (9).JPG

As the birdhouse walls are ready, you can measure and cut the correct size floor unless you're able to calculate the right size of floor piece.

It's helpful for the birds that the floor has some holes in it for the possible water to drop off. If the bottom is too tight, it might act like a cup and slowly fill with water in a case of "horizontal rain". So drilling 2-4 holes in the bottom will make sure that it won't be filled with water and birds will remain warm and dry.

Pönttö (12).JPG

Assemble the birdhouse walls and floor. You can use nails or screws, but using screws on the ceiling/floor will make sure it's easier to clean the old birdhouse.

More about cleaning the birdhouses in the end of the post!

Pönttö (14).JPG

I had promised to show my son how you can glue laminate timber, so we made the roof with help of some glue. We glued together 4 bars of timber and let it dry for a day. Then we screwed the ceiling to the birdhouse.

Pönttö (13).JPG

So the 7 year old who received a little bit of help was able to build this birdhouse. The drawings aren't intentional.. or well, my son did draw them on purpose, but they aren't mandatory and probably won't help the birds at all.

If my son can do this, I'm assuming you can make a birdhouse too!

Birdhouse cleaning?

I had mentioned that it's good to clean birdhouses when they've been in use. This is usually done in the winter in Finland so they don't have nests in them. It's important to clean the birdhouses to make sure that they're clean and safe, as bird parasites might be nesting in the abandoned birdhouses.

The longer the birdhouses have been in use, the bigger the risk of parasites will get. So I've opened and cleaned out the two birdhouses I have in the yard and let's see what we had inside:

Pönttö (1).JPG

Moss, feathers and some needles from the trees. Soft and cozy.

Approximately 5 cm in total.

Pönttö (3).JPG

Same here, more moss and needles. Not as many feathers in this one, probably had a stricter policy about cleaning.

Approximately 5 cm in total.

Pönttö (6).JPG

The birds had gathered a lot of soft material to the birdhouses. Some birds don't carry materials themselves but might require humans to add some soft materials in advance, as in the wild they're looking for naturally soft locations.

So if you're cleaning a birdhouse for a "lazy bird" who doesn't collect their own materials, remember to add new moss, peat or other similar materials to the birdhouse.

Sort:  

I don't know anything about birds, are there different birdhouses for different species, why? I assume they use different materials and maybe build a different type of nest, but why different sized birdhouses?

It's cool to see that you are also instilling in your child knowledge to preserve wildlife. I'm still many, many years away from having a child, so, I'll take this post as a little something to keep in mind for my future and that of my potential future family.

Mostly because the birds have different requirements. At it's simplest, the hole can be optimized that the bird will fit in the birdhouse but larger predators will not fit in. And the birds might have preferences on what kind of entrance they want. Like would you want a normal door to your house or a 5 meter high and 4 meters wide one?

Then the size of birdhouse, that also has practical reasons. If the birdhouse is too small, the eggs/baby birds can be too tight and can even be trampled to death. If the birdhouse is too large, the bird has to use extra energy to finish the birdhouse with moss and stuff, exhausting the bird for no proper reason.

And then the birds might have different requirements. Like the front wall needs to be rougher than normal so the chicklings can climb out. Or that the entrance wall needs to be minimum 5 centimeters thick so the bird accepts it.

A lot of reasons why there are different kinds of birdhouses :)

Do you take care of birds or work with animals? I really feel like you know a lot about it, and I don't remember animal caretaker being one of your many skills, do you think you can capture a photo of a bird in one of your birdhouses? That would be really nice.

No and no. I'm just trying to know why I'm doing the things I'm told to do :D It helps a lot to do things right when you know the reasons behind the requirements.

Also I've been thinking about building a birdhouse with a camera, but still thinking how I could do it the best way.

It would also be cool to see the different birdhouses you can make at some point and compare them to see how they look aesthetically. :P I don't know, I'll always be reading your content anyway XD

Oh, what I forgot to mention is that this birdhouse is supposed to be for either an "Eurasian wryneck" or a "Common starling".

Congratulations @apsu! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 60000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 61000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
A successful meetup and its commemorative badge
Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @rehan12 & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Adorable trabajo, todo lo que aporte vida es maravilloso.

Kiitos! Kun me vaikutamme maailmaan ja kaikkeen elävään, meidän pitää muistaa tehdä myös hyvää.