The Technologies of God- A Serial Micro-Fiction 16/24

in Writing Club2 years ago


BlueAbstraction.jpg

“What do you think, Van, are we going to live forever?” Sarah asks while floating with her tablet in front of the window.

“Sure, why not?” I say, pedaling on the g-cycle.

“Would you even want to?”

Her form is lithe in the shadows. Hair flowing against the backdrop of the milky way. The light from the tablet illuminates her sharp face.

I stop cycling for a moment. “I suppose it depends on the circumstances. I would like to live forever in a young healthy body, not an old tired one. I guess immortality has to go hand in hand with rejuvenation.”

“Wow, that android chick really did a job on you,” Sarah says.

“Don’t tell me that you wouldn’t take the pill if offered.”

“I wouldn’t! I would die a natural death like God intended,” she says.

“You, my little lady, are a liar.”

“How dare you sir!”

She flings herself at me, and I hold out my arms. We end up crashing on the glass cupola, where the stars surround us with their glimmer, and the Earth is a pinpoint of light in the cosmos.


Read other parts

Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5
Part 6
Part 7
Part 8
Part 9
Part 10
Part 11
Part 12
Part 13
Part 14
Part 15

Image by @litguru

Sort:  

Fuck. Gorgeous as usual.

Hair flowing against the backdrop of the milky way. The light from the tablet illuminates her sharp face.

and

She flings herself at me, and I hold out my arms. We end up crashing on the glass cupola, where the stars surround us with their glimmer, and the Earth is a pinpoint of light in the cosmos.

Oh wait - that's nearly the whole thing. There's something beautiful about your writing I can't replicate - it's the Ballard/Gibson/Mievelle kinda thing.

With a bit of Heinlien/Asimov/Le Guin, perhaps. I don't know. Maybe it's just the floating against the stariverse.

Thank you, @riverflows! Writing about space puts me in a trance and in the mood. There is just something very sensual about the idea of floating about in a weightless medium, as I'm sure you know given your surfing habits ;) Generally, on land, our body knows its predefined routines. Move forward to the nourishing, backwards away from the toxic, and sideways to avoid getting run over. In space, it's all multi-spatial and omni-directional, so I think that trying to envision that micro-gravity environment, gets me high in a manner of speaking, and maybe it also has an effect on my writing. Or maybe it was just the weed I smoked. :)

I couldn’t say it better myself

Thanks for making this post. Very informative and lovely research.
God bless you dear friend @litguru

Thank you @ykdesign!

God bless you dear @litguru

Right! I have some catching up to do hee hee.... I already know I'm going to love this @litguru. !PIZZA !ALIVE

Thank you @samsmith1971! It's encouraging to read your comments and see your enthusiasm for Hive creators.

@litguru! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@samsmith1971(1/16) tipped @litguru (x1)

Join us in Discord!