Brother shooting

in Outdoors and more4 years ago

Sometimes it just has to be done; It's not essential of course but it can be a rewarding experience, and can satisfy one's curiosity or urges and simply bring a great deal of enjoyment. I refer to brother shooting of course, and I'm going to be doing exactly that next week!

Of course I'm not actually shooting my brother; I mean taking him shooting. Seriously, you think I'd shoot my brother? I might have wanted to throttle him when he was a little kid but now...Not so much. 😁

None of my brothers have guns of their own or have had any real experience in shooting them. The brother I am taking next week has come to the range with me once before and I think that's the sum and total of his experience. He was ok at shooting, hit the target where he wanted to and all, but was tentative, cautious and a little uncomfortable which is good for a first-time shooter. It means things happen more slowly and that means more safely.

My brother is coming own for my dad's funeral and will be here for ten days which will be cool; An unexpected visit but a welcome one as we don't get to see each other much at all. He's pretty good value so we have a good time.

My plan is to take him culling which will be a nice time for him I think; He's never done it before and the property I cull on is a particularly beautiful one at this time of year; As green as you can get! On a nice-weather day it is peaceful and relaxing...Until I open up on the animals I am there to cull, and then it's noisy.

I plan to show my brother a few of the concepts around long range shooting and let him take some shots although I'm not sure if he'll want to kill anything. If he wants to, and I'm confident he will make the shot, the kill, cleanly then I'll let him I guess, but killing something can't be taken back so I need to know he's committed to the experience.

Shooting has been a large part of my life. I do a lot of it and over the years have acquired a lot of skill, knowledge and understanding. My brother knows virtually nothing about it. I think it's cool that I'll have the chance to take him out there and show him how I do what I do; The shooting aspect and culling/hunting situation also I mean.

20200618_154908 1.jpg

Unfortunately having children wasn't a thing for Faith and I, and my brothers all live very far from here, so I've missed out on the enjoyment that comes from shared experiences with them. I think this is why I'm looking forward to taking my brother for a sneaky shoot (or two) next week and the by-product is he may enjoy it enough to want to get into it himself!

When I spoke to my brother last night he seemed very keen so I think we'll have a good time out there together. It will also be a good time to talk, just the two of us without the wives around. We're not real good at opening up about things really, but the shooting expeditions will be only a few days after we lay our father to rest (Monday 13th) so maybe some discussions will happen also. I'm not sure about that...Although am sure there'll be a lot of shooting.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

Subscribe to THE PEW a hive community for all things firearms, archery, hunting, airsoft and paintball.

Sort:  

🤣🤣the phrase "brother shooting" sound funny and u kinda got me there. It really sounded like you wanna shoot your bro at first. Well, to be sincere, there is no greater feeling in the world like that of family coming together. I believe the shooting will be fun!

The shooting will be fun...I'll try not to shoot my brother! 😂

🤣🤣🤣🤣yea, I am looking forward to that.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thanks a lot😊

Nothing beats spending some quality time with family. Especially during this difficult times with all the losses you have experienced. I really hope you guys have fun and just get to relax.

Hi there, and thank you for your comment, the first time you're commented on a post of mine I think.

Yes, it should be good to hang out a bit considering we don't see each other much. I am looking forward to it.

!ENGAGE 25

Yeah. This is my first comment. I am new here and just getting a hang of things. I stumbled on your page and quite enjoyed it. Thank you.

Thanks @belema, for being around and also for checking out my page. I hope you will stop by again.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Ooo this is so great! Quality time and to get to shoot.... That is wonderful! I am sure you will have so much to tell him about this, you are practically an encyclopedia on the matter😍

Should be good I think. Time to hang around without other distractions and chat, plus shooting...If I bring corn chips it'll be perfect. Lol.

Seriously though, I'm looking forward to him getting down here. He lives 4,000km away. He's bringing his family including his (almost) 3 year old who is an awesome little dude. Will be good to see them.

Oh my he lives so far away! Where is that?

The State of Queensland at the top Eastern corner of Australia. He's right up the top. I am in South Australia.

Oh this is quite a distance. How is South Australia, is it better to stay there than in the East side?

Not better, just different. Australia bis vast and so is completely different in places. It has every type of environment from desert, rain forest, open plains, alpine regions to vast cities...It's diverse. Like the people that live here.

Sounds like such a great place to live in. I dream about visiting one day to hug a koala lol. You are a great promoter of Australia, it is lovely to see a person so fond of their own country

!ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Have fun! I would love to do some long range shooting, but I am unsure if I could take a kill shot - unless it is a zombie.

It's always open season on zombies!

Should be a good day. Might go a couple times. I think he will enjoy it.

Bro's trip out probably just what you both need at that time.

Should be a cracker...I'll get him shooting at distance.

The bond of brothers and spending time together while remembering the good old days!

!tip

Yep, should be good. I'm sure we"ll tell some lies and have some laughs.

🎁 Hi @galenkp! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @fun2learn!

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Enjoy the time with your brother. It is always good to be with family during trying times.

Thanks Pooky. I'm looking forward to seeing my brother.

I figured this wasn't actually about shooting your brother but ... I wasn't 100% sure. :) Hope it all goes well.

I guess one never really knows with me. Lol.

Sorry to hear about your dad, bro. Hope you and your brother are able to work some things out and have a good talk. Shooting always helps unwind and a good day on the range has always proven to be some awesome therapy and bonding.

Will you be taking out the 6.5? What's this pretty little piece you've featured today?

IMG_20200709_005550286.jpg

Check out my current project! There's a lot more to it than just the frame of course, but this is the important bit I suppose. The rest I can order online and have a complete Glock 19 off the books for less than half the price!

Thanks Nate, I appreciate it. Dad was a very good man.

I'll be taking the one in the image, CTR .243 in a custom carbon fibre stock with a Kahles 624i(6-24x56) SKMR 3 reticle. It's a laser shooter out to about 800m and good beyond too.

I'm digging that little craft project you have going on there. I'd go to jail here for doing that...But I'm allowed to be envious. Lol.

I know there can be tension between siblings, but I didn't think you'd shoot your brother 😆! You've shown yourself to be a good teacher before, though if your brother is as stubborn as mine, then you'll have little luck teaching him, I'm afraid. As they say, hell hath no fury when two KP brothers go out shooting together... though hopefully not each other!

Haha! If I had a cannon no one would be safe! Trust me. 😂

Luckily he's not stubborn...He'll have a good time and we'll probably not shoot each other...The kangaroos though...Well, that's another story altogether.

I couldn't trust you with a cannon, that's for sure. The last thing I want to see is that a mad, middle-aged Aussie man just put a big hole on the side of the Sydney Opera House 🤣! In that case, I'm going to have to put a warning out to those poor Roos... 'Watch out for two, angry, similar-looking blokes with big guns'.

Lol...Yeah, I'd blow some holes in things if I had a cannon. Also, those roos are in big trouble...I can assure you.

Rest in peace, Roos. On that note, how hard (or easy) would it be to cull Roos if you had a 12-pounder cannon? Just a curious thought, but it'll smash Roo flesh into smithereens. Though that reload time, even with two angry blokes, would be pretty slow, eh?

I'd make it work.. And if a few cannon balls made their way to Parliament House wouldn't be my fault huh? Purely happenstance.

Lol, don't you live loads of miles away from Canberra? That's where the government sits, no? You're going to need some magical balls to make it fly that far XD