Got your six but don't want free stuff

in Outdoors and more3 years ago

The good old days of getting things for free ended a couple of years ago for me. I ended them myself to be honest - Nothing comes for free, there's always a cost, and whilst that may not be monetary it's a cost nonetheless. It was a cost I decided I wasn't going to pay anymore.

Over my years being a sponsored competitive shooter I lost count of the support, [read: free stuff], I received. Gun parts like barrels and triggers, equipment, scopes, the guns themselves, projectiles, gunpowder, clothing and travel-assistance are all on the table for a sponsored shooter and what needs to be done in return? Here, just wear this shirt and mention our brand when interviewed...Hmm...It's never that simple in reality though - More must be given, a pound of flesh...Results and return on investment.

One must shoot well, represent the brand well, and one doesn't have margin for error. Wearing a brand name on one's back is similar to wearing a target there - Everyone wants to beat the sponsored shooters, to dominate, and why? To become a sponsored shooter themselves, to displace those who [seemingly] have more than they.

P1120711 (1).jpeg

The cost of free stuff

That's a lot of pressure in a sport that is already highly-pressured and over the years it began to scratch away at the shine the sport held; It started to become a job instead of the hobby I had intended it to be. Yes, my fault for accepting the sponsorship in the first place - Live and learn right? Sometimes things simply aren't what we at first see. Make no mistake, it's kind of cool to be sponsored, until it's time to pay the piper.

I ended up pulling right back from the sport, long range practical shooting, and that meant telling sponsors I would not be shooting under their banner any longer - They took it well of course; There's always some hard-charger ready to wear the target, the brand, and send rounds downrange for free. Ego's are not in short supply in the sport.

Have at it I say, I was done with it - It's not real life anyway. This last means that it doesn't really matter, nothing counts on the actual shooting. It's just a game. In my case, a hobby.

Most of the equipment stayed with me which was really nice of the companies although one wanted their scope back which I was happy to return - I never really liked it anyway and no, I'll not say whose it was - A top-tier manufacturer though.

I took myself out of the mix which meant no more travelling around the country, no more performance-stress and no more having to wear a target on my back for others to aim at. I enjoyed the feeling of freedom to be honest and over time the love of shooting for the sake of it returned - My face even split into a half-smirk on occasions...Something that doesn't happen all that often.

I'd compete now and then but just for fun; I never took it seriously and whilst I'd always do my best, a condition that is intrinsic to my personality, I'd be there for the fun first - That easy-going approach turned out some really good results too and, more importantly, I was enjoying it which, of course, was the point of removing the sponsorship pressure.

And then the phone rang

Last night I took a call from a friend, and one of my former sponsors; Friend first, sponsor second. After the initial small talk he pulled the pin and threw the grenade - His reason for calling:

"I want you to shoot for me in July," he said.

"Fuck you," I replied.

"No fuck you , and yeah I'm serious. I know you've got my six bro."

Caveman communication at its best.

The event is a three-gun run and gun event that takes place over a few days - This means three different guns are used being, rifle, handgun and shotgun and the shooting is dynamic, done on the run, as one moves through the course of fire.

Each stage is set up to simulate a real-world scenario and there's multiple ways to complete it so the shooter is required to apply strategy. It's shot against the clock and the shooting is scored, points scored divided by elapsed time, so it requires accuracy and speed, like one would need in the field. It's a great deal of fun and the last time I shot it I had a blast!

My mate followed up the fuck you commenting with his proposal: Entry fee, travel, a couple of hundred rounds each for handgun, rifle and shotgun, branded shooting clobber [clobber is Australian slang for clothing] and a few bucks if I came in the top three.

Yep, there it is...Pressure to perform. Top three. That's the price of free shit.

We spoke a little and I told him how reluctant I was to do it although I was keen to shoot the actual event itself; A three or four day weekend away, fun course of fire, seared meat around a fire each night and sleeping on the ground; It's a great deal of fun, but being sponsored? Not so keen brah.

I also reminded him that I'm older than the dinosaurs and probably rusty as hell. He laughed at that, reminded me it's all mind over matter [he is mostly right about that] and insisted that I consider it - I'll be honest here, it felt good to be so highly regarded.

His words, think about it, echoed in my mind as I ended the call and I've been thinking about it since. I even took the rifle I'd shoot in the event to the range this morning and sent some rounds down range, running and gunning.

Yep, it's fun. Damn it! A step closer to a yes answer maybe? Shit!

P4160031 (2).jpeg

If I'm going to do the event it makes sense that someone else pays for it right? The sponsorship package equates to over a thousand dollars and I've worked hard in life to be the quality shooter that attracts sponsorship interest but there's that pressure to perform; I don't take responsibility lightly so if I competed as a sponsored shooter I'd want to fucken win - That's just how I am. Damn it, sounds like I'm saying yes doesn't it?

I haven't made my mind up just yet but need to soon as I'll need to get into training: My movement will have to be fast but steady [stable], target acquisition sharp and my shooting measured but rapid, magazine changes smooth and strategy sound. These things take continual practice. Fortunately I'm physically fit [for a 51 year old dinosaur] but I'll have work on a few areas in the eight weeks leading in to hone my skills. I also need to get on the shotgun because I'm not great on the twelve-gauge - Passable, not good.

All of the above depends on if I actually say yes of course. I'm leaning towards accepting but part of me shies way from the competition of it and the fact I will have want to perform. It's an ownership and responsibility thing. I'm not much worried about the shooting and all that, I'm rather skilled in that area...Having to perform, the pressure of needing to get results for a sponsor, is the sticking point.

Part of me really wants to do it; The challenge is something I feel would be good for me right now but another side tells me to say no and shoot the event just for fun, or not at all. If I can't come up with an answer by the end of the weekend I may just flip a coin.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

Track: Because it's in my nature to have people's back - Got your six

  • Both images are of the rifle I would take into the event.

  • Got your six is a term used to suggest one has someone else's back, that they are in support. Think clock face...12 is front, 6 is back. It's a term widely used in military circles and has made it out into urban slang.

Sort:  

shoot the event just for fun, or not at all

It will be fun and you'll love it whether sponsored or now. You will always put pressure on yourself to perform as well as possible, it's the nature of being competitive so saying you will have extra pressure if you're sponsored is a negligible addition that you control. Just see it as an opportunity to compete in an event you might not have done if it hadn't been given to you by a FRIEND!
No decision to be made and think of the amount of material you'll have for another Hive post.

Give me the buggers number and I'll ring him and say you'll do it !

You're right, three-gun events are very enjoyable and this one is particularly so. Also, yep I'll always put pressure on myself to perform well, at my peak. I guess I feel a little extra when sponsored although in truth it's all me and not the sponsor I guess...Well, it's them a bit, passively. I like to perform though and so I apply some pressure.

I was contemplating doing the event in any case, for fun...Now, if I get paid for it, I'll still get to do it...And maybe the additional pressure will push me upwards in the standings? And I'll probably still have fun. Sounds like a decision right?

Lol...I'd be happy to give you his number, but only if you promise to harangue him until the end of time!

Allow the freebies to ADD to the enjoyment mate and good luck. Will look reading all about it :-)

😬

I like your thinking

Before your buddy called were you planing on attending the event? It sounds like an event you would like to attend. It also sounds like they are going to pay the cost. The first second or third is just bonus, the rest is free. Even if you were not being sponsored you would push yourself the best you could, you would not go unprepared or slack off at the event. The only pressure is you thinking you have to perform for someone else and that you are not attending the event for yourself.
if I competed as a sponsored shooter I'd want to fucken win even when you are shooting for fun at an event you want to win, even when you were scoring or running an event you had to compare your run times...remember?...so accept the sponsorship and do what you always do compete to win.

I can always count on you for some common sense and measured thought.

I knew the event was coming up and had considered having a shoot but I guess was finding excuses not to. When my mate called and we chatted (more words than I put on this post actually) I started to think that the distraction would be good right now, that the focus I'd apply would be good to help push through other things so...I'm leaning towards taking up his offer. Also, why would I pay when he's prepared to? Doesn't make sense.

You're right, I would always work hard to be my best and whilst winning isn't the catalyst for that, being my best version is, doing so always generates a good result. I'm going to decide tomorrow and call him either way Sunday night.

Thanks for commenting.

-- Having to perform, the pressure of needing to get results for a sponsor, is the sticking point.

That is the problem, the pressure you would put on yourself. Yes as he is paying there is some pressure, but the extra personal stress to perform rather than have fun while doing one's best is the big negative.

That's the thing...It's me applying the pressure to myself - I'm not the dude who values giving half-effort, or those who do it for that matter. My mate knows I'm going to give one hundred percent if I wear his brand and take his stuff; Probably why he asked me I suppose.

When I compete under a brand I am very focused as that's what I get paid to be...Not to exclusion of others of course, I still have some enjoyment, but I'm more business-oriented. When I shoot for me it's anything goes really although I still like to perform well. Taking on the pressure of sponsorship will apply stress and pressure I'm not keen on taking on right now.

I'll be honest and say I'm leaning towards doing it - I'm a dependable man, I guess why these assholes upstanding gentlemen ask me to do stuff all the time. They know I'm good for it.

What trigger is that?

And I got a 300 Bo and 7.62x39 Soviet upper!!! Party!!!

It's a Timney trigger. Nice to use.

Yeah that's sweet. I'm gonna have to look into that. And biggest ar upgrade is the trigger.

Fire thanks man!!!

Once more unto the breach... do it bro. You want to, you know you’ll give 100% and you’ll enjoy it. If nothing else after the event you can then reflect on how it actually felt to dip your toes into an event in that capacity. Just consider yourself a hired gunslinger for it 😁.

My years of being a sponsored shooter have been good ones, I'm not complaining...But the pressure. It's probably not just sponsor-pressure but from the other shooters too...You know how it can be when things get competitive right? Still, I'm a big boy, fairly capable when it comes to managing [or dominating] people like that and certainly myself so maybe I should just stop crying like a little baby and get it done? Lol.

Just be clear with your bro its a one off as its him and you feel up for it. Like you said, most importantly enjoy it, have fun!

Fun is the key. And shooting well.

Absolutely.
We are headed to stratford upon avon. Should be there sunday. @diveratt installed a 1950s chrome US police searchlight to the front of the boat the other day. Looks ace!

That'd be cool. Are you able to move at night or do you tie up?

We tie up. The lamp is for the tunnels. Some are 3km long....and leaky.

Well, think about it this way. If you say no, the experience will always remain in your head.
I think you know what the, "What if.." can do to us.
You are in your sunshine years, so go out there and go to enjoy it, as I see it as a gift to do something that you are good at. And the bonus is that it is free.

So yes, put in the practice with the 12 bore and even if you end up out of the top 3 (which I very much doubt), you can put another notch in your belt.

Lol...My sunshine years or sunset years?

You're right though, I might as well do it whilst I can.

Atta boy, you know you wanna to go get em!
A bit of the old gunslingers chat here, so you get that 12 guage bazooka rocking and you go and kick ass.

The rifle and handgun aspects will be no worries and the 12ga also to some degree...It's just my weakest discipline because I've not put much effort into it. I'll be ok though, what I potentially lose on those stages I'll make up for with the rifle and handgun.

#dinoshooter #oldandwiley

Now my habit is to turn my weaknesses into strengths, let me quickly add those weaknesses that I can.
I suck at things like crypto mainly because it arrived so long after my time and I just squeezed through Maths at school. That was exactly your age, 51 years ago that I left school.

So we all have one or another isssue that continues to plague us in life and we just have to cope the best that we can methinks.
And yes, what you lose on the merry go round, you make up on the swings.

Crypto-understanding alludes me too.

Two of a kind methinks :D)

Hope that you guys had a good Sunday.

I know you will have pressure to come in at least third place... BUT since you have given up sponsorship and would be doing this more as a friend.. Then even if you came in last place but gave it you best...so what... Your friend may be disappointed but that was his gamble.. not yours.. DO It For FUN.. and forget about any pressure.. But I know you are conscientious and still wear a target on your back.. Have Fun

A good point, a one-off gig is what it is I guess and my mate knows the risk in getting a dinosaur to represent him! 😊

Fun will be the aim and the result should take care of itself.

Now your talking.. Only pressure will be on the other competitors .. 😜

Yep, they'll see me coming and be like, oh no, might as well go home, the G-dog's shooting. 🤣

Ahh, the drive for perfection. I'm a recovering perfectionist as well. For me, the key was looking at the numbers and giving myself permission to not achieve 100% (or first place). Comparing other things I used to strive for perfection, I started gauging them like most school grading systems... Giving myself an "A" for anything 90% or over.. Any A+ is just gravy... And then painting that picture on a graph and getting a visual.. Realizing just how far above most others a 90% "A" rating is... knowing that with my desires and competitiveness, that 90% was more likely to be a 93-95% or higher anyway, but giving myself permission and promise to not beat myself up for anything that met that 90% mark. Not sure how many people will be competing, but I'm sure that you would end up in the top percentage of shooters, even if cold for a year... Muscle memory will take over and meet those minimums.. Sometimes even better if we give ourselves permission to relax and enjoy..

I grant you permission to enjoy, (as long as you're not in the bottom 50% cause that would be an "F"), lol

A very intelligent response and I'm not surprised in the least that you give it. Wise words from a wise man.

I spent a lot of time working out how not to be a perfectionist even enlisting some help along the way; I went ok with it and pretty much use a method the same as you describe here. I lapse sometimes, but go ok mostly. It'll be the same in this case.

Since writing this post I have thought about it and am leaning towards a yes answer as I feel the benefit outweighs the loss by far...And I feel the pressure will be acceptable and I'll manage it well, for the right reasons.

I wish we were closer so we could play at it. A couple decades ago I had practiced up with a co-worker to go compete at three gun shoot. He was a crazy good shotgunner, (and I mean crazy good), and well above average with rifle and pistol. Not so much benchrest shooting, but with those shotgun skills, you can imagine how good he was with short to mid-range fast rifle engagement targets as well. He was an avid Duck Hunter at the time with the motto "If if flies, it dies".. Still burnt into my brain, lol. I was and still am just mediocre with Shotgun, but we thought my rifle and pistol combined with his skills would put us into the upper levels. Life happened, and we never got to the competition, moved away and never picked it back up.
Seems one of the more interesting and fun competitions to me though and always had a pull.
Go and bring back pics and video so the rest of us can enjoy through you!

I wish I was awesome with the shotgun but in truth I'm only average. Probably slightly above average I guess. I'm much better with the long gun, which is my thing, and the handgun for sure.

I'll be going to the event. I called my mate tonight and told him. We're catching up Tuesday to talk over the details and get some plans into action. So...Into training I go to get prepared, all done myself of course...I might do a post on the work-up if I get round to it.

Damn it, I feel the tingling sensation of pressure already! 🤣

Well look at this shizz.!!

It freaks me out at times how parallel our universe runs (way of thinking)

Ehhh... Great Minds think Alike.

You not only named this post with what I had already chosen, nearly 48 hrs ago, to reveal on this weeks #weekend-engagement. But You also posted a song with what I am watching (at all times) in the song title.

You Fucking Rock Galen.
untitled.gif
And I am honoured to be your clone on this side of the planet.

Ok, Maybe clone is a little much. We are waaaaaay different in many ways. But could be brothers in another life.

Maybe the next one we would be brothers in arms..? Fighting side by side in the coming drone wars that will be a similar version of the movie Terminator. Not A.I. exterminating us, Us being the Rebels. (resistance) But the Terminators will be the Covid Creator Globalists and Chi Coms in control of the "Hunter-Killers," the drones they are building and testing right now.

Juss' Sayin', in the next life,

I Got Your 6...

True Story.

untitled.gif

Lol...Yeah you'd be like John Conner fighting the good fight.

By the way, if you are my clone you'd be the better looking one with a funny accent. Just saying.

Who you sayin' talks funny..?

untitled.gif

If we did a poll and asked the W.E. crowd.

My babbling blithering Jibberish or your smooth ozzy dialect.

You would win hands down.

untitled.gif

Add that awesome ozzy slang and it is no contest... Juss Sayin'

untitled.gif

Lol good day mate. It's so funny when Americans say that!

I would say shoot for fun it sounds that is something you need more then a sponsorship.

If I shoot it the sponsorship is a given...Fun would happen either way, but I always feel a little more pressure when getting paid to compete. It'll be a good event so I'll probably do it - I think the distraction could be good right now and who doesn't like sitting around a fire searing meat?

other then my vegetarian friends not very many people haha. Def sounds like a fun event though

They're looking to sponsor somebody. Is there anyone else you'd recommend instead?
Someone you think would do a better job?
If not; then you and the business agree that you're their best option.

Well said Matt, as always.

Nope is the answer, no more better-suited. So, there's my answer I guess right? Me.