You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A clip or magazine: Demonstration video (by me)

in Outdoors and more2 years ago

Not gonna lie to ya Galen... You're a low-key badass

I'll own this description of me.

Oh, and Jacob's comment was also a breath of fresh air with its summary

@jacobtothe is an intelligent man, I'm a blunt instrument...So yes, his summary was good. Maybe I should get him to write all my posts.

Now I WANT to watch a military movie with ya

Trust me, it's annoying. I love that movie, The Green Berets but yes, it's not very true to life. It's always worth a look though. I like The Guns of Navarone also, and The Big Red One. Classics. Of course, the modern ones are awesome. I just watched Hacksaw Ridge again last weekend. If you have not seen it, do yourself a favour.

Sort:  

How well would you survive the US western and WW2 TV shows of the 1960s?

Lol...Indeed. I watch them though, and love them.

I used to watch one called The Rat Patrol. I would have been around 9 or 10 so late 1970's but the show as made around 1966. I loved it.

I'm not as critical as I made out in my post, although I certainly make those comments. It actually makes bd movies better to be honest as it gives me something to do, looking for mistakes and round-counting etc.

The Rat Patrol was the specific show I had in mind, although it's not the only one. The later Baa Baa Black Sheep also still rotates on the local digital TV broadcasts. Nearby Hayden, Idaho has a small airport named after Pappy Boyington. !LOL

Haha, an airport names after a TV character. That's gold!

Now I want to watch The Rat Patrol. I can remember thinking their Jeep with the 50 on thee top was the coolest thing ever. (Ok, I'll be honest, I still do.)

Pappy Boyington was a real person, and the show was just a heavily fictionalized narrative based incredibly loosely on his memoirs. He was born in Coeur d'Alene, Idaho. That city basically merges seamlessly into Hayden, where Coeur d'Alene Airport/Pappy Boyington Field is located. One of the more interesting homeschool field trips I had was a flight in a kit plane from there before the renaming.

Oh, I didn't know that. What can I say, other than use the I'm Australian and am clueless defence. Works every time. 😉

I was only telling someone the other day I need to get myself Stateside for six months. I'd love to investigate around a bit, see some natural places and learn some history. It's little stories like this that fascinate me.

Well, if you ever make it to the inland northwest, there's a lot of neat mining and timber history in the Idaho panhandle. Spokane has the Museum of Arts and Culture with interesting stuff to see, and Manito Park is a good place to visit. There are also lots of trails and forest wilderness areas to explore.

Bing Crosby is another local icon, BTW. There are also many good authors who grew up here or called the area home for a while. Outdoors humorist Patrick F. McManus grew up in the Sandpoint, Idaho area and spent much of his adult life in Spokane.

I'm in hospital because I drunk a cup of petrol.
That was a very fuelish thing to do.

Credit: reddit
@galenkp, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @jacobtothe
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ.
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(1/1)

Oh, please do.

Ouuu... Jacob seems like a visionary. However, no one could write quite like ya. Jacob would be missing that good old G-dog touch.

Oh, and from a scale of 1 to Rusted, just how blucny would you say you are? :-)

LoL, I don't know why I instinctively thought of serial killer Ted Bundy when I read Hacksaw ridge😂. But hell yeah, I just watched the trailer so i'm defs gonna watch it this weekend.
Thanks for the recommendation.

Hacksaw ridge is a good example of what a man with a compelling reason why can achieve. It's a true story, remember that when you watch it.

Also, on any scale, I'm 11/10.

Oh... You're already getting me hyped! I might even watch it today, if I have time. Sounds like my kinda movies.

Hmm... I'm not even surprised by the 11/10 score😂

Sometimes I'm -1/10 though.