Hive Gaming Community - Best Video Game Memories

in Hive Gaming4 years ago (edited)

image.png

As an older person who has been a video gaming fanatic his entire life, this contest immediately jumped out at me. I've got so many favorites across the years across so many systems that its hard to even narrow them down to a long list, but here goes! To keep the length manageable I'll limit my list of game favorites to arcade games, since I imagine most of the focus in other posts will be on consoles.

Tron (1982) - You watched the movie, you had to play the game! Unique Tron joystick and neon lights.

Star Wars (1983) - Another movie-based game and another unique gaming controller. Use the force Luke!

Karate Champ (1984) - Arguably the first "fighting game". Two joysticks per player allowed for a wide variety of moves.

Gauntlet (1985) - One of the true classics! 4-player fun. Blue Wizard needs health badly!

Paper Boy (1985) - Who would have thought that delivering virtual papers could be so fun? This one had a bike handle instead of a joystick to better help you fire your papers out with accuracy.

Off Road (1989) - Insanely fun 4-player driving game where you raced on all different courses while accruing nitros and improvements for your vehicle.

Mortal Kombat (1992) - The original Mortal Kombat! Gory and groundbreaking. Spent countless hours at the arcade throwing down against other people.

T-MEK (1994) - Amazing multiplayer futuristic tank game. A modern day classic.

Looking forward to seeing what your favorites are!

Sort:  

I didn't get to play the original MK until college.

That was an intense game. It felt so much harder compared to the more recent titles.

Couldn't agree more. Both arcade and computer games were much harder years ago than they are today. A lot of it probably has to do with the fact that they are trying to reach wider markets and attract as many people as possible these days, while years ago it was much more of a niche audience. These days people are used to "finishing" a game if they play it enough. In the 80s and early 90s even veteran gamers would routinely play a game and never "beat" it because it was simply just too difficult. Ironically some of my favorite classic games were among the most difficult - ones I never ended up beating (even until this very day), like Zork II!

As far as Mortal Kombat goes specifically, I think the magic in MK1 (and in MK2) was that the moves and combos all had to be executed manually. By the time MK3 came out the era of button-mashing had arrived (especially after Killer Instinct), where pulling off combos was a matter of simply pushing buttons in the proper sequence (or mashing them and hoping that a combo came out) instead of having to manually perform each move and time it properly in order to pull off the combos.

Thanks for comment, all this MK1 talk over the last couple of days has inspired me to fire it back up!

Do it for nostalgia!

 4 years ago  

Star Wars has always been a great idea for both movies and video games, but personally there are only two Star Wars games that I can say are the best: Star Wars: Race and Stars Wars Jedi Knight: Academy. Certainly there are a lot of SW games but the ones that left a perpetual mark on me are those

Mortal Kombat es el único que me suena familiar en esta lista y creo que Karate Champ, para ese entonces la familia entera jugaba videojuegos, con el pasar de los años, yo sólo escucho los nombres, sin embargo hace poco intenté jugar con mi nieto pero no entendí mucho.
Buena lista!

OMGG! This game list blowed my mind! I really enjoyed a lot to read those names!

I played a lot Mortal Kombat on Super Nintendo, that was my first console, then I had a PS1 so I started to play a lot of classics on it!

Great list, brother!

This game titles you pointed out are really amazing and fun games. But i think my favourites in the 16 bit games era from your list is Mortal Kombat. I really enjoyed that game a lot. My favourite characters were Jade, Sonia, Sub Zero, Jax, Scorpion and more. It was a really fun game for me back then.

Mortal Kombat era uno de los juegos favoritos entre mis primos y yo, el que perdía pasaba el control, esos si que eran buenos tiempos, pensar que eran juegos de puro puño y golpes, pero bien que nos sentíamos poderosos!, después de ver estas publicaciones provoca instalarse nuevamente.

Man you brought back memories with Karate Champ, Star Wars and Paperboy.

A few years ago i built a raspberry pi with a friend of mine and we downloaded all of those games. I learned that i still suck at paperboy. But i also took the time to play through the entire mario series I think Mario 3 was my favourite. When i was a kid i used to pretend that i was in a game competition like in the movie The Wizard and that my score was my cash prize.

They definitely didn't design those games to be easy. They wanted to vacuum up our quarters!

And they often succeeded!

Mortal Kombat with the fatality strategy lolx back then, is one of our competitive game especially among our friends, almost everyone want to use sub zero and shao khan. I do play some car racing games too

Very good list of games, friend. Unfortunately for me, I have played very few of them (I know them, but have not tried them). It should be noted that Mortal kombat is one of the best fighting games that has ever existed.

Cheers, dude. ;D

Agree completely about Mortal Kombat, cheers!

I remember Paper Boy and Mortal Kombat but I played them on console, not on arcade. I remember that one of my older cousins introduced me to Mortal Kombar and when my aunt saw that she scolded him because the game was too violent for me.

One fighting game that I used to play was Killer Instinct but I was never very good and I was not able to do all the combos. I remember that with Street Fighter I just smashed the buttons and sometimes I could beat anyone hahaha.

Thank you for sharing your games!

Street Fighter and Killer Instinct were two great ones that I spend a lot of time and quarters on that could have easily made this list! Primal Rage deserves an honorable mention too (the fighting game where you choose different dinosaurs at your fighters).

Thanks for the comment and reminding me of these great fighting games!

I don't remember Primal Rage but there was one called Fatal Fury were you could transform into powerful beasts with a humanoid form.

bloody.gif

But my favorite fighting game of all time is Dead or ALive:

ryu.gif

DOABuzz_08.gif

VERY GOOD YOUR LIST I STAY WITH MORTAL KOMBAT AN ENTIRE SUPER CLASSIC THAT HAS BEEN SUPPORTED IN MANY CONSOLES AND PLATFORMS

Congratulations @one-eye! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies. Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports the Austrian Community Meetup
 4 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment

Thanks for the advice! I edited it to add a picture of the Mortal Kombat start screen. (Its the only one of the listed games I actually own right now and am able to take my own picture of).

Thanks for the tips!

Thanks for the comment. My love (and extended period of time playing Moral Kombat) actually led me to a job working in an arcade for a brief period of my young adulthood! But as they say, that's another story..