Hive Gaming Community - Best Video Game Memories

in Hive Gaming4 years ago

This should be my first posting in the Hive Gaming Community, even thou am a gamer but always scared at time to make a game review or talk about games I do play but this contest really caught my attention and it wont be a bad idea if I give it a try and start my gaming journey from here. The contest is about sharing our best video game memories, you can read more details about the contest here which will b ending in the next 7days.

Contra_(U)_-!-.webp

image

I will be talking about Contra which is one of my best game back then when I was young, let say close to 13 years now. I was still in primary school then, my dad brought home a CD player which happens to have a game pad and a game disc with it, there are lot of game collection in it which include super Mario, hockey and lot more but the game we do play the most is contra, I still don’t know why I really enjoy playing this particular game.

Anytime they rang the closing bell in school, we will be running home to check if we have power supply all in the name of competing with each other who will be the last man standing. This game consist of two players (well you can play alone also) who have to kill lot of workers working for the boss and also facing different boss in different stages. Along the way, there are some gun bonuses which we have to shot at and claim them if we are lucky enough, this do change our gun power and make it stronger so as to defeat any obstacles we face.

How the game is been played, video from The Mechanical Koopa channel

Another amazing game is Super Mario, which is also one of my best too, one of the reason I like playing the game is because of the way we have to be jumping up, breaking bricks, claiming the coin, growth burger and the fire plant, killing the monster and the duck then rescuing the princess at the last stage. The game at some level isn’t easy to play because one can easily miscalculate, then jump over where you suppose to land on.

gameplay from Pii89Channel

These two games are really amazing even up till now, i do play super mario at times, memories cant leave.

Sort:  

Thanks for the memories. Super Mario holds a special place in my heart not only because it was the game that was included with Nintendo at the time (that we all played until our thumbs were bleeding), but because it was one of only 2 video games in the local bowling alley when I was a kid (along with Rush'N Attack - a classic cold war game!).

I wonder how many of us have been inspired to dig out the old systems and fire up the emulators this week? (I know I have)

Great memories! Super Mario Bros. and Contra were great games. I have read that younger generations of players have a very tough time beating these kinds of games. Specially Contra. In today's games got checkpoints and there is really not a big penalty for dying on most games. In older games, if you died or lost all your lives you had to start over in most cases.

Thank you for sharing!

Yes that is right, back then we have to be cautious so we won't die in the game especially when fighting with the boss. Thanks for reading through

This is also one of my favorite when i was still small, sweet memory of the past

wow good to know @burlarj

Two incredible games to distract you and play for hours. You really mentioned two games that were so different but that achieved a goal of "having too much fun".

lolz, they came to mind and i do know how we always rush from school just to play them

Great post man.I love the Contra games but I always found them really difficult as a Kid.Your post makes me want to try them as an adult to see if I an beat the game now.

The game is really simple back then but i dont know if the same kind of game is still available right now, i once search it but it didnt work on my andriod version

OMG me acabas de aniquilar los pensamientos. AMOOOO Contra, ese juego es brutal, o bueno lo fue, tengo tiempisimo sin jugarlo, pero eso de que los tiros de tus armas cambien es genial, su jugabilidad es muy sencilla por lo que recuerdo, pero tenia ese toque que te mantenía entretenido.

Gracias por devolverme este recuerdo, buena esa. Y de Mario Bross que te puedo decir, es algo que tendrá su reconocimiento a lo largo de la historia.

Wow wow wow, Two of the best games of the 8bit era in my opinion. You just reminded me of Contra. That game was epic :). I think it was probably the second best game on 8bit console behind Super Mario in my opinion. Both games have such a fun and addictive gameplay.

Contra was such a great game! Used to play it with the daughter of a friend of my mom! Great coop game! Maybe the fastest and simple way to play a good coop... Remembers me that other tank game also from Family Console! Guess ive never play some actually nintendo console but only those pirate cheap copies! LOL

They work, its okey! Should i install some emulators =P

Great post btw!

Congratulations @valchiz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2250 replies. Your next target is to reach 2500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
Feedback from the Hive Meetup Vienna

Contra was a pain in the butt series, but very fun. The difficulty was ridiculous.

I still remember the code to start off with 30 men:

Up up, down down, left right left right, B A, Select, Start.

Eventually I got good enough at the game that I didn't need to start off with 30 men anymore. Now I can still beat the came with only 3 men. It makes the game funner I think. It is more of a challenge that way.

Thanks for sharing!

wow i didnt even know there is a code attached to it. thanks for reading through

Yes, as soon as you power on the game start pressing the buttons on the controller in that order as the title screen moves across the screen. Might take you a few tries. Just keep resetting until you get it. You'll figure it out.