My Thriving Garden

in HiveGarden3 years ago

IMG_20210703_161233907.jpg

Greetings, blockchain gardeners! I hope you all are feeling better than I am today; I'm a little under the weather. However, that didn't stop me from going out to the garden a breaking a little sweat. It hasn't rained in a few days so a little manual watering was required. You can see behind me are 2 different kinds of corn stalks, a large variety and a small one! The large one is about my height so far but the small one will not grow anymore. It's in bloom and already has a jilote growing.

IMG_20210703_161414896_HDR.jpg

There were originally supposed to be 5 but the rest never germinated. I think it's too late to try again but that's ok. Corn is a heavy feeder and I don't really want to deplete my soil so much.

What is my garden supposed to look like?

IMG_20210703_160805510~2.jpg

This is my #gardenjournal. Sorry, it's not that pretty. It mainly serves as a reference so that I can properly rotate my crops for healthy soil.

IMG_20210703_160857050.jpg

This is only my third year keeping track like this but I like it! It's the sort of structure I needed. Here's the very first year I did it. Most of it is colored in because that's how I was checking them off as being planted already.

Back to the real garden!

IMG_20210703_161355027_HDR.jpg

The vast majority of the over 70 beans I planted were either devoted by rollie pollies or succumbed to the very dry spring we had. Luckily, I was offered some more beans from my horticulture job. I was given the Cherokee Trail of Tears, provider, and rattlesnake varieties which are all pole beans. They were inoculated with nitrogen-fixing bacteria so they will restore the soil's fertility. I was afraid the same thing would happen to these heirloom beans as well, especially since I ran out of coffee grounds for protection (I don't drink coffee myself). It looks like most of them made it though.

IMG_20210703_163546691_HDR.jpg

I figure the pepper plants don't really need the protection anymore. This big one (rattle pepper) certainly does not. It is over a foot tall. I wonder why this one exploded in growth while the others have not.

IMG_20210615_203146246.jpg

I think tomorrow I will try to mix some organic fertilizer and apply it to these late bloomers. The fertilizer is just lettuce that I left to break down in a 5 gallon bucket of water. The lettuce was dumped in my alley during the winter and was grown locally and hydroponically! So I didn't let it go to waste.

IMG_20210703_161152798_HDR.jpg

It's time for raspberries! I picked the first few yesterday and from now on there will be more every day

IMG_20210702_055516357.jpg

All this talk of fruits is making me hungry so I think I'll wrap up my garden update now. There will be more developments to come regarding some other interesting plants I have that aren't really doing anything at the moment such as ground cherries,tinguaraque tomatoes, turban squash, and cotton!

I really like seeing other people's gardens and learning from their experiences too. So here's a shout out to my friends who like to garden as well:
@enjar
@trangbaby
Show us your gardens!

Sort:  

Thank you for supporting Holybread and Thunkgaria over the last year! Enjoy your upvote -simplegame

Congratulations @proto26! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 45000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 46000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day - ATH Volume record!
 3 years ago  

I like your notetaking trick of coloring in the plant once it is planted. I haven't taken any notes, not one. I'm hoping my garden journals on hive will be helpful. Those raspberries are making me very happy for you!

 3 years ago  

Thank you! The only thing I don't like about the variety I have is that it has an invasive growth habit. I'm trying not to let it take over my garden (even more).

I think that all raspberries are invasive, they spread by roots.

 3 years ago  

That's what I assumed but I heard that some non-invasive varieties may exist out there.

Your garden is looking pretty good!
I like your idea of keeping records of what you plant and where. I really need to update my records from last year before I forget everything...

 3 years ago  

Thank you! Keeping records is a good habit. I only wish I started doing it sooner!

 3 years ago  

I love your selfie! I'm going to collect them all for an end of year collage I think! Sorry to hear you are under the weather - hope you are feeling better by the time you read this.

I can NEVER grow corn. I should try harder!

I love your garden drawing and how you colour it in. How meditative!

bloody rollie pollies! We call them slaters here, or slater bugs. They're called different things in all sorts of places. Did you know they're great for removing heavy metals from the ground?

I like the way you make fertiliser out of discarded lettuce. I have a bin in my greenhouse that releases heat at night (well, that's the premise anyway) and tend to throw any weeds/scraps in there to water the garden with as well - it works well. Sometimes I throw some worm manure or chook manure in there as well.

Great post - thanks so much for sharing!

 3 years ago  

Amazing garden! I really, really like the garden journal, it's a great way to keep track of the garden over the years and I guess it's nice/fun to look back at it. I was thinking about keeping a garden journal in written form but I never actually thought of sketching/drawing it. :)

Seems like you have a nice variety of fruits and veggies. Glad to see you're also enjoying some raspberries, they are my favorite at the moment. I am looking forward to you garden updates, it's always great to meet another gardener here on Hive!

 3 years ago  

Thank you! I always try to plant a great variety of different foods and the map really helps since I don't use labels in the garden. I hope you try it! Glad to meet another fellow gardener as well! 🌿

 3 years ago  

I loved the garden planning 😍. I tried this complicated software one year - a boon, I guess to heavy-duty gardeners with large plots - but I found I would rather spend the time ... gardening 😂. I have a plain paper garden journel that I keep drawings and notes in now.

The raspberries look lovely, I've decided to invest in some some fruit canes next summer. We have very good local deliveries of organic fruit and vegetables every week, so I can concentrate on the more exotic and expensive items in the garden.

 3 years ago  

Thank you! It's good to keep it simple.
Yes! You should definitely get some raspberries! Just make sure you put them in a spot they will be able to call their own! They can grow and spread a lot.

 3 years ago  

They can grow and spread a lot

Good advice - thank you 🙂

Aww thanks for the mention. I've been busy and my garden not much thing to update this month. Waiting for some fruits to harvest but not sure it's too hot here now.
Nice to see your garden update. Omg I love raspberries. Wow "cherries,tinguaraque tomatoes, turban squash, and cotton" are you going to plant everything? 😋

I'm a little under the weather
Hope you're feeling better !!! All plants in the garden need you 😉

 3 years ago  

Yes, I am growing everything! Well not everything, haha. My garden is actually missing the brassica (cabbage) family.
I am feeling better now, thanks!
Hope to virtually visit your garden soon!

Nice garden! It's the first time that I see how raspberry plants look like 😃 Thank you for sharing,

 3 years ago  

Thank you for visiting my garden!

My pleasure 💚🙏

So many edible things, and it sounds like the bounty will only be increasing as the summer continues.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

 3 years ago  

I quickly ran out of space this year! I can't wait until the goji plants start producing berries too. Thanks for visiting!

1.png
You've received a HIVE upvote & Lotus tokens from the team at @naturalmedicine! We encourage and reward content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. Come join us in in our new LOTUS CHAT - anyone can join, even without a HIVE account! Get one with our free referral and start earning HIVE and LOTUS! Follow @naturalmedicine, @lotusshares, and @uplotus for challenges, newsletters, curations compilations, editorials, and more!
NaturalMedicine.io II Delegate II Community II Discord II Curation Trail II LotusChat
divider.fw.png
Bless up, @justinparke 💚


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

 3 years ago  

Thank you!