To make peace with myself

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITYlast month

I was going to write a lengthy religious post initially, but half way there i decided to scrub it a d give this a fresh start. WOLO, we only live once, and lets make the best out of it, whichever religious is yours, most importantly is you live your life to the fullest.

i have a lot of complaints in my life, but all that complaints came with a flip side, the better side. I have changed to this new job, which turns out took up a lot more of my time to get things done.

On the flip side, i got a slightly better pay. It's not like the tiny salary worth the amount of work, stuck in the office for 14 hours, but still i felt I'm so much more useful than i was compare to my previous job that took away 9 gears of my life.

I still love cigarettes smoke a lot. Many ex-smokers claims after they had stopped smoking, they hate the smell of it. To be frank, i still find myself indulging in the second hand smoke blow by from the next person. There was a time, i had to struggle and keep myself away from other smoker, so i dont go and ask for a stick of cigarettes for myself.

The more i think of it, the more i felt the urge of returning to my old path. Fortunately, that part of the "self consciousness of not to smoke" finally gone. I felt absolutely normal when someone besides me smoking. I can tell the brand by smelling the smoke 🤣 and when im being offered a stick, i can proudly tell them i dont need it, but i dont mind if they have me around when they're smoking.

My eating disorder after stopped smoking? Well, this is actually flipping to the wrong side. I spent a lot more on my food budget compare to my cigarettes budget previously. Over the past few months, i think I've finally make peace with myself. Its not like i need the excuse of keep stuffing my face when i don't smoke.

Come on man, its not like 4 years is not enough. 4 years ago, today was the 2nd day of national emergency lockdown due to the virus attack. I had the last pack of cigarettes with me. I can still recall the day i was worrying where to find my next pack of cigarettes. By the 5th day, I'm totally out of stock, and i was struggling to badly until i rolled up a stick of toilet paper and lite it up.

Well, the flip side of that was a puff of burning toilet roll, and mouth full of burnt toilet paper smell, and I've stopped smoking for 4 years now 🤣 4 years man. 4! If this is not the good side, what is?

I have commited to myself with a vegetarian lent for these few weeks, not because of losing weight... Well, not entirely about losing weight, but most importantly to educate myself to let go of that feeling of "stop smoking". Its about time to reflect and think about my life moving forward, to start thinking more often on the flip side - ofcourse the good side.

So, I've changed my 9 years long service job, now I'm in a new company. Its up to me how to write my new 8 years ahead, who knows if i will start to love this job? I've stopped smoking, i feel like a big chunk of myself is missing. Good thing is, i ate a lot more now and i found back a big portion of myself surrounding my waist 🤣

With the grace of God, i strongly hope that i will be able to totally stop thinking about not only stop smoking, but to stop myself from over eating in the name of stop smoking 🤣

Sort:  

I appreciate your thoughts on smoking addiction, and the photographs are great too.

I can relate to these addiction thoughts. There's so many types of addictions and levels to addiction, and it seems everyone is addicted to something. There's also healthy addictions too I think.

I decided to go all out hardcore addiction first in my life, now I'm at the cig and cannabis addiction level, which is the equivalent to your food replacement addiction method for the smokes, but a lesser and worse level maybe because I chose to be addicted to the hardcore stuff for a longer period of time. Now I just have to get off the cigs, but I think I will try to avoid the food replacement addiction method.

As far as the photographs, I have this thought that sun ray catchers are a rare thing. It takes a special artistic eye to catch those rays and know how to photographs them with good results.

Best wishes for all of your goals with the job and thinking and eating habits, you got this bro.

 28 days ago  

Thanks buddy. Now that I reflect, I'm not even qualify to "regret" why have I not stop smoking earlier 🤣 it's just the nature of how human trying to hide their fault, in this case my fault. I don't have to be bitching about it, all I gotta do is admit it. Those were the days I had to hide my cigarettes from my girlfriend. I need to find lemon to scrub my fingers before going home from work, so it won't smell 🤣 what a life!

What an interesting story you gave us!
The personal effort to overcome dependence on cigarette substances is truly an overcoming. Overcoming this barrier and remaining firm in your purpose makes you a winner and a great example for the community!

The issue of nutrition is critical and the occupation of the mind by "eating" to avoid "smoking" is a well-known classic, and over time you may be able to control your impulses.

We wish you all the strength and luck in your new job!


I would like to invite you to join the FreeCompliments community, the most welcoming community on Hive. There is certainly a place for your posts! We also have a manual curation program and a rewards program for using threads and posting positive comments!

Find us through the links on your current frontend:


InLeo | Ecency | Peakd

Freecompliments

 28 days ago  

Thanks for the compliment buddy! Eating habit is probably one of the hardest things to change in life 🤣 I can stop smoking, but now I'm thinking of how to stop eating.

 last month  

It's good that you were able to quit smoking. I went through something similar about 6 years ago and now I am never tempted to have one ever again. I have replaced it with another form of nicotine so I am no saint but at least the new nicotine that I use (snus) doesn't have any cancer associated with it.

 28 days ago  

Dare not to use the word "quit". Until the day I die, I won't know if I'm successfully quitting it 🤣

It's good that you don't like smoke anymore. I am on the other side, even when my colleague is smoking, when I smell it, I can almost taste it behind my lips 😅 I still need to put down my effort to remind myself not to touch it, and 1 sip of smoke is enough to put me back into the rewind ⏪ button.

 27 days ago  

I had quit for more than a year in the past and then had "just one ciggy" one day and of course that lead to me being fully back into being a full-time smoker. It's kind of like giving a recovered junkie just a little bit of heroin.

First of all, I wish you success in your new business. You have left behind the most difficult part of the process of quitting smoking, I hope it will be easier and healthier from now on.

我喜欢第一张照片中的那一抹亮光,好似代表代表着的希望!!!不论当下处于怎样的境况,只要抬头看到那一抹亮光,就知道前方的道路是光明,继续前进,莫回头。

Sounds to me you do not have enough distraction, too much time to think and too much stress. On the other hand, I had a great reading time. Thank you.

@tipu curate

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏

 last month  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ
 26 days ago  

I used to smoke more than a pack a day, of course a long time ago, I remember still enjoying the smell for years after, and I remember also feeling tempted around smokers for at least two years, still can't believe I was able to quit after so many failed attempts.

Enjoy your lent, I wouldn't worry much in a country with so many food choices. I still haven't tried to create a vegan murtabak yet, but I want to try one day.

 11 days ago (edited) 

It felt like it was yesterday when lent was just started. I haven't been able to visit back more often then i wished for. I have already lost the patience to even take out my phone and snap photo, since most of the material were wasted. Now that i look back in my phone, i dont even remember what was the experience with those photos anymore.

 10 days ago  

I'm guilty of that too, so busy all the time, but when I finally get the chance to make a draft, I don't even remember the photos I took anymore. I feel I have to make the post within two or three days of the photos or my memory is mostly gone.