4 Random things about London - & a bit of monochrome photography

in London4 months ago (edited)

4 Random Things About London

& A BIT OF MONOCHROME PHOTOGRAPHY


IMG_3942.JPG

London has very successful "temporary" structures. The London Eye, a giant ferris wheel on the south bank of the Thames, is arguably the most successful temporary structure in history. It's probably one of the most successful structures, full stop. Put up over two decades ago to mark the entry into a new millennium (year 2000), it's still there now haha. It was originally referred to as the "Millennium Wheel" but, as we get farther away from Y2K, that name has become more increasingly irrelevant.

IMG_3919.JPG

London's got pigeons. They can be seen everywhere even though successive mayors of London attempted to get rid of them, or at least vastly reduce their population. The winged vermin are so resilient, they'd probably survive a nuclear holocaust. When Russia nukes us, they will survive along with roaches and rats and repopulate the island, no problem.

IMG_3927.JPG

London loves dogs. I'm willing to bet that Londoners own dogs at the highest rate in the world. I've seen some strays in the city, but nothing compared to what I've seen in other cities - especially in Africa or Latin America, where there are as many strays as dogs living with families. In London, most dogs live with loving families and are cared for. Dogs are also adored by strangers and are often patted and petted or even fed by total randoms.

IMG_3855.JPG
London's got good coffee. Oh my, that's one massive plus in London. You can find the best coffee shops in the world here. Don't get me wrong, we have rubbish coffee too, but we definitely have the good stuff. We also have more variety of coffee than most cities. Some places in the Mediterranean only have the "Italian" style small cups, but here we have both the European, American and African style coffees.


Peace & Love,

Adé

Sort:  

I am going to London for a day trip next week, I have been a few times now but I ask...

What is a good coffee shop to visit? preferably central London but no doubt we will be tubing places so happy to travel far too :)

There are literally thousands of good coffee shops in London. East London has the best shops so if you're around the City (Square Mile) you'll find a nice one about.

many thanks. I will have a look and see what I can find, just looking to try some more non-chain ones as here in Norwich there aren't too many independent ones

As Ade says there are loads of coffee places. I like to try the independent ones. If you have your own cup you may get a discount. Just be aware that some of these places don't take cash.

That's a good point about cash. Since the pandemic there have been more and more places that don't take cash

Ah .... this misty dark photos come very good , all time fun to see street walk :))
Sad that I am in big forest and I not have this industrial feel here. But I try get in big city soon... and are this birds all time so friendly... to be honest I have never been so close to to the pigeons so that they also eat from my hand. One day I try and I make some photos too :))

Thank you bro. Yes they are "friendly" because they've been trained by people feeding them all the time haha. They are looking for food. They also steal food from people sitting in outdoor restaurants 😂

Ah .... this can be fun to photography how they steal :))) I must see this one day :)))

Hey friend, really nice Black and white photos set , the first one is my favorite, you are a great photographer, best regards

Thank you 🙏

The London’s eye is actually very popular
Also, I can’t wait to come to London to taste the coffees over there and also have a fantastic time

hopefully one day soon.

I've been on the Eye a couple of times. Not been up the Shard yet.

There seems to be anti-pigeon netting and spikes everywhere, but they will still find places to roost and someone will feed them.

As for dogs I've heard that Paris has a lot. They introduced motorbikes with vacuum cleaners to deal with the poop.

Ah! that's a brilliant idea! I do remember the dog poop in Paris. I thought the dog owners were just not as considerate as the ones in London. Someone needs to send some of these vacuum bikes to some cities I know haha.

Hello @adetorrent.
Can you please do us a favor and remove the monomad tag from this post?
It's supposed to be used only with black and white photography published in the black and white community. Basically as the entry ticket for our daily challenge with the same name.
You can check our contest rules in any of our posts. 🙂

Oh sorry, didn't know. Will remove

Thank you very much.
Cheers.

I have actually heard so much about London and the truth is I will really wish to make it work one day to visit there