The Tipping Point Experiment – First part: The law of the few – Who are my MAVENS?

in GEMS11 months ago (edited)

My name is CROWDPUNK and I will take the HIVE Community on an adventure no one saw coming. It will determine whether the community has the traits, people and determination to actually become relevant or evaporate into oblivion.

INTENTION:

The Intention is to revive and engage the HIVE community. Only with the help of a vibrant and committed community will I be able to set new records numbers of:

  • daily active users on HIVE
  • number of followers a single account has on HIVE
  • number of replies to a post
  • number of up-votes
  • number of re-posts

During research it was impossible to find out what the current records are. So I am passing this task onto the community to provide some reliable stats, and data. (Looking your way @arcange)

EXPLANATION:

At the core of the experiment is the book: The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference" by Malcolm Gladwell.

It explores the concept of the tipping point, which refers to the moment when an idea, trend, or social behavior crosses a threshold and spreads rapidly throughout a population.

Gladwell identifies three key factors that contribute to the tipping point:

  • The law of the few (the importance of influencers and connectors),
  • The stickiness factor (the memorable and persuasive nature of the idea)
  • The power of context (the social and environmental factors that influence behavior).

"The Tipping Point" has had a significant impact on our understanding of social dynamics and the spread of ideas.

The law of the few emphasizes that a select group of influential individuals, including MAVENS, connectors, and salespeople, play a disproportionate role in spreading ideas and influencing the behavior of a larger population.

While all 3 of these special individuals, mavens, connectors and salespeople are necessary to establish a trend, the most important one is the maven. A maven is the first one to recognize something significant and important and shares it.

A MAVEN is described as an individual with deep knowledge, expertise, and a passion for sharing information, making them crucial in disseminating and influencing trends and ideas within a social network. Are you a maven?

At the failed WEB3 Berlin conference in June 2023 I met a group of 11 HIVE Community members during dinner. It was noticeable that there was plenty of big mouth talking how great HIVE is. Everyone talking at the same time, while the few listeners were getting a headache from all the noise and left early.

It’s great that HIVE sponsors a race car, and there is HIVE Fest. But can you put your money where your mouth is and show up when needed? This is what I have come to challenge with the intention to succeed along with you.

EXECUTION:

  1. The assumption is, that in a group of 11 people promoting HIVE at a conference there has to be at least one maven, or someone who knows a maven. It will only take ONE TRUE MAVEN for this experiment to have an initially ignition! I am tagging everyone I met and talked to personally. @louis88 @starkerz @ssekulji @arcange @detlev @crimsonclad @killerwot
  2. Everyone who reads this, follows me NOW!
  3. After you followed me, you upvote. NOW!
  4. After you upvoted, you repost. NOW!
  5. After you reposted, you comment and tag the ONE person you believe is a maven.

That’s it for now. The next post and steps will come after we find our maven. In case you have been wondering why I do this: Just because I can, and we all have nothing to lose if we try. This one is for you HIVE! Stay tuned and engage. You can also follow me on twitter: https://twitter.com/crowd_punk

@naymhapz @kimybanez266 @indayclara @intoy.bugoy

Sort:  

I very much enjoy the references and the intentions of the book and experiment, since these are the human dynamics that create the strongest communities where teachers and lifelong learners are an asset with abilities and tactics shaped by the wider group around them that they value.

That being said, I do have to wonder at the execution~ this feels a bit like the classic web2 style 'pickup artist neg' tactic of trying to goad a response by being flamboyantly inflammatory because those types of disingenous takes often drive views on traditional platforms. It will be interesting to see if it works in a space where people largely interact voluntarily and grow organically based on the relationships they develop through commenting on each other's work, shared interests, playing games together, or curating content into community feeds. The sweeping declarations and demands don't have an algorithm pushing them, so when you're new and have not many connections on a network it stands to reason some alternative, truly social tactics may end up being in order.

It sounds like, despite being seated across from me, you were in attendance at quite a different dinner! (I was at the one a group of friends winding down after a long last day didn't want to get on the blue chip yacht to party instead of.) We were happy to have you and some other new friends with us, and I recall shared tales of traveling to places like Croatia, personal interests, catching up with people we'd not seen in ages and getting to better know lovely people like cheeruphumanity, beers and philosophy... But very little discussion of Hive at all! Then again, we did have a good time with proof of schnitzel, so I guess you could consider that some big (hungry) mouths.

Otherwise, I'm glad you're popping in to take crack at things and will be interested to see if your chosen style will end up resonating. It isn't to my particular tastes, but the world would be quite boring if we were all the same~

Yeah I agree, I don't really like the approach, but am also interested to see if it works.

I wasn't at the dinner, not sure why I was tagged lol

It can not work if you chose to watch to see what others do. Social media works through engagement with what is offered.

Is sitting across from each other at a table not a personal relationship? Is an entire strategy that has been born out of listening to the peers on the table, that so far has taken several hours of effort, not a voluntary interaction? Is me reaching out to those again that were tagged in a previous post who ghosted me instead of commenting, not an organic approach from a newbie? While the ghosters, are just data points on a network?
Why is a call to action to follow me, so I can find out who my mavens are judged as 'flamboyantly inflammatory', when interaction is exactly what you propose is necessary? I am happy you want to see how this turns out. How do you expect to see it if you don't follow me, and I will be less flamboyant and tag you no more?

Methinks the lady doth protest too much~ genuine responses to genuine behaviour! No, tagging people you met in person isn't flamboyant, and the rest of the rhetorical questions dance around the crux of it in the same purposeful manner with the same dismissive attitude. Much as I responded to you on your last post, it's hinting at the slightly revisionist painting of an entire chain of thousands of people posting every minute as dead, useless and full of big mouth people from one dinner at the end of a long conference where a few community members were happy to have you along and didn't pin you down to lecture you. It reads a bit as though you feel a touch slighted because somehow the global audience on chain didn't notice you on one random first post looking down on them and the ways they build in interact. Much as with any other platform, shouting any message without working to cultivate an audience shouldn't be too much of a surprise in terms of the levels of engagement being below where you had hoped.

Where our paths diverge on the voluntary social actions and the way we build personal relationships is in the way we interpret and act on them. Pretending that saying 'hey follow me!' is the inflammatory part here is quite a purposeful framing and cop out. The hours spent at dinner for most everyone else seemed genuine hours of interpersonal interactions, not a task to be slogged through for effort credits surrounded by big mouths preaching Hive at you and stomping on your attempts to be heard. That's perhaps a subtle distinction, but for me is the one that matters, as trying to start a convo with you wasn't really recognized or welcomed- I won't speculate on the whys. However, sitting at your end of the table, speaking with two other non-Hive natives for the bulk of dinner about nothing to do with Hive at all, and being also around your convos with our other lovely new friend, the bits that you lean heavily on as a 'challenge'- how you had to leave to be free of the purported hard sell but also now expect an instant audience, don't really jive.

It's that sort of 'prove yourself to me' style of declaration, paired with a bit of aloofness and disinterest in speaking further (at least to me) that are now being repacked with slight insults to an entire platform of people who weren't at dinner and who aren't me, revised into a curious take designed to goad a defensive response. I guess for me personally that's a little bit bad faith, and doesn't give me much insight into who you are or what you want to build as a superstar. Where I bristle a bit has nothing to do with any interactions we did or didn't have, but is approaching a whole online network of people as if they're an extension of a few individuals and need to be... Shamed? Prodded? I'm not sure...into behaving the way you expect. Perhaps it's just tone or the lack thereof in writing, but I suspect a lot of it is improvisation the ways that most social media works, and it just happens to be one I personally like the least 😂

The things that do engage me personally and the way that I work around the chain are far from perfect, especially as I get more and more moved towards doing offline and off-chain work on the behalf of those who want to just use the online, on-chain space. What I value above all is kindness, curiosity, and personality. I do hope a post that is centered on those things about you is forthcoming, as those are the ways that we find the people in our tribes to interact with. The beauty of truely owned web3 is that you could happily proclaim that the dinner was on the moon and we spat in your food and you took a Ferrari to the after dinner rooftop date, and there will always be a place for you to say that. I can't ever stop you, and my identity and opinion mean nothing when it comes to you finding those that that style of posting resonates with, and that's specifically why I love Hive so much.

When I started here, I fit the definition of maven. Perhaps I still do. After 7 years in the web3 space, my path has ended up leading me to often doing unglamourous work, versus spending time building my personal brand alongside Hive's. Perhaps the choice is wrong, but that's also a struggle I've written about for years now and I still don't have the exact answer that's right for me. The more you learn and the more you fall in love with people, the harder you want to work for them. I suspect my maven balance will always teeter on that turning point, and after this year's work I plan to sit down and have a think on which makes me happier and has a better impact- being content creation centric, or taking on some of the things I love less because I love Hive more. Tough to say!

Now I pull my hat before you. The time and effort you take to drill into nuances of human behaviour and emotions does impress me. I do take away that I lost you at hello, and will still not quit. After all this is clearly an experiment, and I would only fail if I did not try. The beauty of life is, that time will tell what will remain, and what is just noise. I am noise for now, I am aware. Until that one maven comes that can change it all, not for me, for HIVE at large.

I wasn't at the meet up, so don't know if I'm being tagged by accident or on purpose? I don't think we've spoken before.

I think this post is interesting, and Mavens - by the sound of it - seems to be exactly what we need. But, this seem like one of those old-school chainmail texts people would send. "Tag a friend, and you'l have good luck for the next year."

By the look of it you're new here, so I'd be interested in seeing if this kind of post will help to grow your following. My advice though, I think it could have a negative affect. I wouldn't demand upvotes, follows, or reblogs however, I'd go back to the drawing board and think of creating a different kind of content.

you were not tagged by accident at all. You were referenced by another newbie as someone who was the source for joining. As I am looking for the mavens on hive. By the definition above, are you one by your own judgment. Then give me a PUNK YES! I appreciate your feedback. The counter feedback would be: If you feel objection to using the mechanisms ofa social media plattform like HIVE to gain traction for a user, with the clear intention to make the entire platform (which you promote) get to relevance then I see a contradiction in your behavious. Do I not deserve followers because I ask for it? How will I achieve what I have clearly communicated the goal is? USER RECORDS FOR HIVE. My name is crowdpunk. I engage the crowd. And I am learning along the way how. You did not follow me. How do you expect to know what is coming next without me tagging you again. Or do you not care?

Oh, I see, I didn't realise I was referenced and that's where the tag came from, I just assumed it was a random tag. Cool, well tag me in further posts so I can keep an eye on it.

One thing I heard recently is that there are about 3.5 - 4k active users on Hive currently, that's people who post, comment, upvote or reblog, daily. I don't know if there are numbers for the rest of the users who may only be active a few times a week, or month, or year. I'm sure there are ways of finding out and compiling that data.

I don't know if you would find what you're looking for using hivestats, or hiveblocks, but you might.

By the definition above, I'd imagine I'm a Maven; I promote it to people I know, enjoy it, see the potential, and have ideas for what we can do to really gain the numbers we want.

What are you hoping to do? Do you just want the data so you can think of a game plan for the future of Hive or are you just curious?

In order to break a record, you need to know what the baseline is. That is why I am looking for stats. Unfortunately hearing that around 4K users are active is more speculation then anything. The beauty of a the digital world is that everything is easily quantifiable. What are your ideas to gain the numbers we want? This statement indicates that numbers are not what we want and what they could be. The sole purpose of me being here is to trigger a Tipping Point for HIVE to grow, and shine. Deploying this experiment is my very single handed attempt to turn the declining active user numbers back around. As that is what I have heard:) According to @arcange active users were around 4 times what they are today at peak in 2021. That we are in a bear cycle is not an excuse for a social media platform.

PIZZA!
The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

How is a bot responding better then a Punk posting that has a mission for the good if HIVE? Anyone that agrees reply. 'I am a Maven'

Congratulations @crowdpunk! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Yearly Authors Challenge Status
Feedback from the July Hive Power Up Day

The stats you are looking for are already available either in my daily stats posts or on the HiveBuzz Ranking page.