The end of my NYSC journey

in GEMS4 years ago

I remember my first day in Nysc camp,Kusala Dam, Kano State. I was as happy as a kid who just got a piece of candy handed to her. I was so excited.

IMG_20200306_103313_587.jpg
Me in my uniform

NYSC is the acronym for Nigerian Youth Service Corps. It is a mandatory one year paramilitary training undergone by all Nigerian university graduates below age 30 who studied either in Nigeria or abroad. I started my journey on the 5th of November 2019 and by God's grace it's ending in just a few months. I was posted to teach at a school after the 3weeks intense training in camp and I couldn't wait to see the school I was posted to. When I finally saw the school, I was a bit disappointed because it wasn't where I was hoping. The school was located in a local government that wasn't as developed as where I was coming from. I was hoping to get posted to a school in town but I guess God knows better.

I finally started working at the school, teaching little children how to read, write and speak well and it gives me a joyful feeling knowing that I could help mould them into being better as they(the kids) are in the formative years of their lives. But after Rona struck, we were advised by the government to leave our different places of primary assignment and return to our homes in respective states since schools were shut down as well as other places of work due to the lock down. So since March, we have all been at home waiting for when to resume to our different posts and if that doesn't happen soon, we'll just have to collect our certificates as and when due and move on to the next chapter of our lives.

Sort:  

Congratulations @datibomchic! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
Feedback from the Hive Meetup Vienna