International Market - Second Visit

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

The market was bigger than it looked at first. Let's take a look at some of the exotic things the stalls over there had on display and for sale.

DSC_0446.jpg

There was this entire street that I didn't have time to visit and, to be honest, didn't even feel like visiting because of the crowd.

IMG_6465_01.jpg

IMG_6467_01.jpg

IMG_6471_01.jpg

IMG_6472_01.jpg

That monstrosity in the background is the city threatre.

IMG_6473_01.jpg

IMG_6474_01.jpg

DSC_0447.jpg

French bakery products

IMG_6475_01.jpg

IMG_6476_01.jpg

IMG_6477_01.jpg

Hey, what's this? The Australian Barbecue Company! Protected by an Australian saint?

IMG_6483_01.jpg

IMG_6482_01.jpg

IMG_6481_01.jpg

I'm an idiot. Why didn't I plan to have my lunch here? I was too busy to eat.

IMG_6484_01.jpg

That's why!

IMG_6485_01.jpg

IMG_6487_01.jpg

Honey from Lapland

IMG_6488_01.jpg

That's vendace baked into a rye bread called kalakukko. It's an Eastern Finnish delicacy. The eastern third of the southern half of the country is a maze of lakes and rivers.

IMG_6489_01.jpg

That bait has a funny brand name. Petturi means traitor. It's an apt name because fish are caught through treachery indeed. I can recognize the Savonian sense of humor there.

IMG_6492_01.jpg

Estonian smoked cheeses and sausages from Saaremaa, the large island off the west coast.

This place is killing me! I need more time, a fatter wallet and an empty stomach.

I did buy something this time. I went to the Fudge Factory stall and bought three flavors of fudge.

DSC_0449.jpg

After Eight truffle. Very good!

DSC_0453.jpg

Tiramisu truffle. Also very good!

DSC_0448.jpg

Homer Simpson's dunut truffle. A bit too sweet!

It's no co-incidence that the British are so good at making sweets. The best used to be or still are royal warrant holders who are allowed to advertise that they supply to the royal court. As far as I know, the Fudge Factory isn't one of those. But the general standards for sweets tend to be very high the UK. Incidentally, Turkey is also famous for sweets - and for the same reason. The imperial court created a high demand for luxury goods among which were sweets.


IMG_6493_01.jpg

I had to go. When I was driving away, I drove under a bridge connecting two parts of the largest mall in the city center. It's confusing as hell and not in a good way unlike the market. Modern malls are soulless and bleak. I get what I have dubbed a market shock that is a milder version of a shell shock when I have to go to one like that. A traditional market is full of fun and surprises. But then again, imagine the parking lot of the theatre in November when it's sleeting sideways...

IMG_6498_01.jpg

The former municipal technical bureau is now a pub. That's a positive development. Do they name pubs like that where you live? One pub here is in a building where there used to be a fire station.

Sort:  

This was fun! I haven't been to one of these in a while, and neither has anyone posted about one, so yay! I might have wanted to try the kalakukko, just because, let's be honest. Who doesn't love a fish baked in their bread? Okay, some Americans may sniff their noses up in the air, but, not if you were raised on the Atlantic like I was... fish anything is delicious! It used to make me laugh that the direct translation to that is fish rooster! Haha!

These places are just teasing me about what I should eat next... I didn't come all the way here to eat Thai food... Bring on the fishes!

The fudge looked awesome, but, I wouldn't have bit on the Homer Simpson one. It looks too sweet! :)) However, the tiramisu looks to die for. Yes, please. Some of that. Oh, sleeting sideways... yes. I have visions. Okay, I have lived it, so, not so much fun. As a matter of fact, you can have mine. I like it that much. I want to thank you for taking the time to stop by and drop us a market! It was great fun for me! I love all my markets post sent to me! I have learned so much from all of them, exchanging cultures, and also making for a better understanding of our world. If we understand each other, there is more tolerance, in my opinion. Thank you for providing an opportunity for me! Each week, I enter the challenge to provide a different look of American culture, some of it over the top and some, everyday things. It shows off how much we are alike and how different life can be. In the end, it makes it an experience that I look forward to. I appreciate the love and support you gavee to #MarketFriday! It Is heartwarming to see how many posts into the challenge, including you. Thank you! Truly! Your participation adds a unique flavor to the mix. I just love clicking on the link and having a new world open up, right before my very eyes! Thank you again for being a part of all this! I hope you have a lovely weekend!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.
Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle If you hashtag it, drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and reposted

!tip .20

It used to make me laugh that the direct translation to that is fish rooster! Haha!

Yeah, it's funny. Or fish cock. In fact, a cheap and trashy comedy film (according to critics) was made in the 1950's titled Lentävä kalakukko or Flying fish rooster. It's about a gang of burglers who escape from Helsinki to Kuopio (the kalakukko central of the nation) on a train called Lentävä kalakukko.

The fudge looked awesome, but, I wouldn't have bit on the Homer Simpson one. It looks too sweet! :))

That's astute observation. It really was too sweet.

However, the tiramisu looks to die for. Yes, please. Some of that.

That one was excellent!

Oh, sleeting sideways... yes. I have visions. Okay, I have lived it, so, not so much fun. As a matter of fact, you can have mine. I like it that much. I want to thank you for taking the time to stop by and drop us a market! It was great fun for me! I love all my markets post sent to me! I have learned so much from all of them, exchanging cultures, and also making for a better understanding of our world. If we understand each other, there is more tolerance, in my opinion. Thank you for providing an opportunity for me! Each week, I enter the challenge to provide a different look of American culture, some of it over the top and some, everyday things. It shows off how much we are alike and how different life can be. In the end, it makes it an experience that I look forward to. I appreciate the love and support you gavee to #MarketFriday! It Is heartwarming to see how many posts into the challenge, including you. Thank you! Truly! Your participation adds a unique flavor to the mix. I just love clicking on the link and having a new world open up,right before my very eyes! Thank you again for being a part of all this! I hope you have a lovely weekend!

Thank you very much for your kind words! You have a nice week, too!

I would try a kangaroo burger. Just saying.

I was just wondering whether the crocodile burger would be more interesting. @tarazkp, when you lived in Australia, did you ever eat crocodile or kangaroo meat?

I've eaten my share of unusual meat over the years. I think my favorite is eel. Something about it and the way it's prepared, I guess. The Japanese use this sweet and savory sauce with it that's just plain delicious.

The European river lamprey is a delicacy of the region of Satakunta on the west coast of Finland.

Crocodile burgers are a bit chewy for me. I find meats that have low fat and muscular animals are not that tasty to me. More of a novelty.

Maybe they do them better in Australia?

You've tasted crocodile, then. Come to think of it, you're probably right.

That is only my experience. Others, of course, may have a different one. :))

A great day it was.

A 20 minute long visit, sadly.

I wonder if this is the same market happening that’ll be here next week. I plan on going with my camera too :)

Probably. Please do bring your camera and shoot. Plenty of opportunities.

🎁 Hi @markkujantunen! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.