ENGAGE ON HIVE: The Peculiar Life of a Criminology Undergrad

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

Almost a week ago, I saw a post from @galenkp about a contest with a substantial 2000 HP prize. To participate, you just have to write content that can be about almost anything. It’s that simple.

Cat detective, me fat detective.

But being the lazy sloth that I am, I thought “meh, another contest that I’ll never win” and proceeded to be more lethargic. But it kept bugging me, and somewhere in a far corner of my head, a thought was popping up, again and again, telling me “Zayed, write something. Do not let such an opportunity pass. You don’t have to win, at least draw some engagement and let Hiveans know you exist.” But, I kept pushing the thought down, and it kept irritating me, up to the point where now I can’t take it anymore.

So, here it goes.

I am a criminology undergrad who still lives with his parents and who was very close to finishing his degree, but COVID-19 halted my exams. Now, my classmates and I are lagging behind a semester. But the thing is, I was never supposed to study criminology. Hell, I didn’t even know that such a subject existed in my country until I was filling up the admission form.

I was a mystery thriller buff from a very early age. My oldest sister, who is no longer with us, may god bless her soul, with whom I had a 10 years’ difference in age, was too a nerd. She was the closest thing I could refer to as a friend throughout my childhood, and I picked up this habit, this passion from her.

There was an on-road library service while I was growing up. A pickup truck filled with books that rolled around town to town delivering books at weekends. Its subscription was around two dollars a month at that time. Sadly, we couldn’t afford it.

So, I used to distract the driver while she stole books that we wanted to read. But we were no thieves, and we wouldn’t keep the books after we were finished reading. At the very end of each week, we would pack all the books in a bag, and I would return them in someway while she stole some more.

Now a day’s whenever I think of that driver, I believe he knew we were stealing. But he allowed it. Maybe he figured out our financial conditions, yet kindness won over his morale.

By the time I graduated from school, I had finished reading more than 400 detective and spy novels written in both Bengali and English.

But I had no idea that fate was going to make me study criminology. My family always motivated me to study medicine and become a doctor. In 2015, the year I was supposed to sit for the medical admission exam, the ugliest nationwide question leak in medical college admission history took place and, I failed. Couldn’t scrounge up the only two marks needed.

To farther tell you guys my story, I need to give you some more context. In my country, when you want to get admitted to public Universities, everybody has to sit for a routine yearly exam which includes quite a few topics. Now, after you pass, you’ll be assigned a course major according to your choices of courses and the marks you get. Meaning you are not choosing the department, they are assigned to you. No scholarships, no nothing. A piece of paper decides what you’ll study.

Criminology was my 15th choice in the lisy, but here I am, studying criminology.

I was very sketchy about it early on. But, as I was attending more and more classes, I started getting the hang of it. I felt genuinely interested in choosing this as a career option.

Many suggested me to sit for the medical admission the following year, but criminology hooked me in hard. I was learning, and case studying various types of crimes, doing CSI work in mock investigations, and was slowly getting better at it too. And now I can’t choose any other profession I would like to be in.

image.png

Best true detective fanart ever.

Now I know the basics of how to trace a firearm from its bullets or collect fingerprints, or amateur DNA analysis or how to collect evidence from a crime scene and mapping blood splatter. Though I’ve never been in a real scenario where I might get the chance to get some worthy experiences, at least I know the methods.


Usually, I write movie reviews, gaming content, and rarely something with personal philosophy on Hive. But this evening, when I was looking for a topic upon which I would’ve expanded my abysmal literacy skills, I remembered that Galen said to be honest while writing the entry post.

So here you go. I don’t know what could be more honest and reliable then admitting to theft in front of strangers, LOL.

Joking aside, I thought it would be better to just reflect upon my past, which would boldly say “This is me, this is who I am.” Who knows, if I win, I might expand this unto a second part.



If you liked reading this, please drop a comment below about anything. Like:

-What did Trump have for dinner?

-I don’t know. Who gives a damn?

See? We just made a conversation. I really do love replying to comments and having meaningful chitchats. And thank you for reading this poorly written 800 words of me sobbing.




Thank you @linco

Sort:  

Even though I am skipping reader, I swear it I couldn't skip read your post because of the true story line which words where felt and my interest on how the book thief, grew to be a crime detective. Lol.

Thanks champ for reading my content. I really appreciate it...

Cool post and I'm glad you took the time to present it.

I really like how you admit to your criminal past whilst presenting your criminal future!

Steal books, read them, return them whilst stealing more...Nothing wrong with that at all! Lol

I used to steal grapes from the greengrocer (Fruit and vegetable shop) in the small town I gre up in. I'd ride my bike down there with my older brother, distract the old bugger behind the counter and nick-off with a bunch...My mum would pay for them the next time she went there...Clearly he knew we were doing it. It was that sort of place. I guess much like that book guy you stole from. Maybe he figured that it's better you steal read and return books rather than break into people's houses and steal from them.

I wonder how much of an influence, that reading in both languages, affected your progression in life...You certainly write well-enough.

Anyway, good story.

P.s. I was on a murder trial in late 2018, as a juror. We we found the defendant guilty of murder in the first degree, a brutal bashing. It was very emotionally draining and I'll never forget the experience. I can understand how you could be hooked on criminology as I found the process fascinating as well.

Cool post and I'm glad you took the time to present it.

THANK YOU! This means so much coming from you. You are one of those few authors that I aspire to be like and taraz too :) I try to write with my utmost effort but to me its still not enough. I'm light years behind in vocabulary and techniques. Maybe one day Ill write something and be proud of myself. fingers crossed that maybe one day I too will be up in the hall of fame.

I really like how you admit to your criminal past whilst presenting your criminal future

Maybe this is destiny or fate I dunno. I just really liked reading detective stories.

Studying criminology has taught me at least one thing and that is, crime is never not violent. Like we've had to study such case files that included straight on decapitation. I don't know what I would do if I get a job in law enforcement and I had to face such events.

Thank you mate. This is the best motivation I've ever had from anyone here on hive. Please host more contests like this. Ill be sure to participate in each and every single one.

Writing with the utmost of effort is all you can ask of yourself.

I try to write with my utmost effort but to me its still not enough.

You should try and be happy with the work you produce, find the positives and like them, isolate the areas you think you can improve. You write well, and I'm not one to give false compliments. Sure, I saw errors bu I assumed english isn't your first language and so it's understandable. Through writing, and engaging here, you may find your work improves organically.

Maybe one day I'll write something and be proud of myself.

You should be proud of yourself for giving it a try, having the continuous-improvement ethos and for having the ability to add passion and personality to your writing as you have in this post. Never feel comfortable to denigrate yourself and always seek to improve...One is negative and the other positive.

Keep writing and engaging as here one will feed the other. Both can bring enjoyment and both will certainly bring development.

!ENGAGE 25

Through writing, and engaging here, you may find your work improves organically.

This is my only goal for right now. It can be a bit difficult when english is your second tongue but that's why I came here and joined hive. To me, Its like an workshop where you are judged casually while you earn something. Nothing can beat this in terms of genuine interactions that teaches and strengthens you every single time you engage.

Thank you Galen. For taking the time from your busy schedule and saying these kind words to me. You know that takes greatness. Youve got yourself a lifelong well wisher now mate. :)

You're very welcome, I like helping people out, in real life and here too.

I think you will certainly find your English improve the more you write and that will make your posts better and better.

Feel free to seek help as you need. I'm always around. (Except when I'm asleep.)

It was a typo!! Lol. I was just too eager to reply with something nice.

I think you will certainly find your English improve the more you write and that will make your posts better and better.

Nothing will please me more. Its all what I want..Thank you galen. :)

All good. Edited my comment.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

This story is not so different from 80% of Indian students including me. Maybe that what the education system is we give you lemons do whatever you want.

But yours is with a twist. You fell in love with the subject. And it worked for you. But many are not so headstrong.

Good luck with your journey.
And your narration reminded me of Flash.
Hahaha..

This story is not so different from 80% of Indian students including me.

Universities in South Asian countries do kind of follow a similar precedence. I dont know how logical this common admission exam system is but it atleast allows everybody a chance at higher education..

I do love Criminology and im quite passionate about it...

And your narration reminded me of Flash.

I didnt follow through after the first season..which part bro??

All of it.
I liked the serie it was far better than anything that DCEU has to offer.

I don't know but it reminded me that series.
Don't go looking for reason now. I am weird that way. Hahaha.

Thanks for the suggestion about the gangs of London. I have added that to my ever growing list of to watch movies, series anime and whatnot.

As for the universities. No comments buddy. :-)
They mean business that's all.

They mean business that's all.

They do, dont they?

If you still havn't seen Gangs of london then you're in for a treat bro. The first few episodes are a bit slow and damp though. But then it gets sweeter. I dont know how they will trump this season with the next ones.

That's the problem with the awesome seasons the next season mostly goes downhill.

Very few manages to pull this through. Breaking Bad is one good example how to top the previous season.

It's a very difficult thing to do. I think the same goes for writing too. I feel if I don't conclude the story in that episode it would be a mess by the next. That's one reason I switched to short stories mode. And I love it for the very same reason.

Name a sequel in this last half of decade which has topped the previous installment. Except for the Avenger franchise? Because if they throw in a thumb wrestling match with marvel slapped on it people would watch.. :-)

Breaking Bad is one good example how to top the previous season.

Yeah exactly. Many don't understand but that's why its at the very top. like the first seasons are slow and buzzkill for many. But you have to let the wine breath for a bit.

Honestly, you're right. I cant name that many but there will always be a few like Mad Max or Blade Runner. but they are exception and exceptions cant be examples. But i have high hopes for GOL. It may as well be one of the best action drama tv show ever. But like GOT season 8 there is a chance that they might ruin this too.

Hahaha.. now there is a joke GOT. Wow man talk about wasted potential. They could have ended it on High note but I think the pressure was to great to bear and they chickened out.

GOT 8 I don't have much expectations.

Hopefully soon we get some good movies after all no one is working now amidst the lockdown so may be they will sit and relax. And think of a story that is good.

I would hate it if they come out of the lockdown to announce Baaghi4...

Stealing books only to end up studying criminology, the irony. 😂

I participated in galen's contest too. Unfortunately neither of us won.

This was a lovely writeup by the way.

That said, what did Trump have for dinner?

I participated in galen's contest too. Unfortunately neither of us won.

We will next time, hopefully. Thanks mate.. Your feedbacks are very inspiring .

What did Trump have for dinner?

Not tacos thats for sure.😂😂

Your feedbacks are very inspiring .

Your contents are always interesting to read too.

Not tacos thats for sure.

😂😂😂😂

Well, you went for honest and got a really nice post! They say that reality surpasses fiction and I believe it :D

Thanks buddy. Reality will always surpass fiction unless you're Tolkien :)

Congratulations @zayedsakib! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 600 replies. Your next target is to reach 700 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing HiveBuzz Shop - Offer gifts with your favorite badges
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

What did Trump have for dinner?

He has to be eating a lot of crow.

Yeah he has to.. That must be why he has shit for brains..😂
#covfefe