My Hive story: Almost Four Years of Awesomeness!

in Proof of Brain2 years ago (edited)

image.png

I have to say I never thought I'd be making a post like this one day, as it never occurred to me I would stay this long in the Crypto-social media atmosphere. But, here I am. It honestly seems like it was weeks ago when I first introductory post.

Ever since, I joined COM(Comedy Open Mic), got called "Mentally unstable" by Ned, humped @traf's leg like a hungry dog for upvotes, and wrote the first song about dicks, performed by the great eyeball itself, @carlgnash. So, from COM to CUM, here is my Hive story.

1. How long have you been on the blockchain?

Technically, I have been on Hive since its inception but I joined Steemit in February 2018, so almost 4 years. I wrote my first post which I added the tag "comedy", so I was picked up immediately by COM and was shown a path to success from there by great guides, even though I lost my accounts and got hacked more than once. Who'd have thought Nigerian princes weren't real in the Crypto world as well, right?

2- What was your background in cryptocurrency when you first came to the Blockchain?

NOTHING, even now after four years here. I have to say that my background is still minimal. I know how how to transfer coins from my Hive wallet, I only learned the meaning of Airdrops 2 days ago, however, as I mentioned above, I am spectacular at getting Phished, I am quite famous with people who specialize in returning accounts to their original owners.

3. What was your background in writing when you first came to the Blockchain?

I started writing stories and poems ever since I was a kid really. As someone who grew up in a very unfortunate place with a bad case of being bullied, reading and writing were my favorite activities.

4. How many people did you know when you first came to the Blockchain?

Also, no one. Although I did get guidance and made friends quickly through COM, people who helped immensely, even monetary. I think of @idikuci, @dj123, @diebitch, and many more. I joined COM in its early days. There I came across even more people who are simply great. @belemo, @buttcoins, and many more.

During my journey, I also came across people who'd go on to do great things. People like @anggreklestari, whose contest Happines is Simple was the first thing I sponsored, I am very proud to say that I was one of the first people to see what this amazing woman can do.

5. How did you meet people when you first came to the Blockchain?

It was mostly discord servers, but also I came across many communities through tags (Communities weren't a thing on Steemit during that time).

The lovely thing about it is that those people, as busy as they were, were never really cheap with their time in talking and helping newcomers like me. That trait is something I carry with me this day whenever I am asked for help.

6. Who did you look up to when you first came to the Blockchain?

Well, it started with someone like @dj123 and @idikuci as well as people like @diebitch whose writing style was really inspiring, the comedy of @buttcoins, and later on, @belemo served as great motivation to keep writing comedy. The likes of @trumpman were also influential.

Though it wasn't at the beginning of Steemit, I have to give a special thanks to people like @acidyo who again, took time out of a very busy schedule he has to help me during a particularly dark period in my life. He encouraged me to stay on the chain, which led to me coming across great people like @agmoore and @jayna in The Ink Well Community who helped find my passion for writing stories again.

Also, unrelated to the question but a shout out to all the @ocd, @curie, and @curangel curators for all their hard work to keep this chain running and welcoming to everyone.

7. How would you describe your first three months on the Blockchain?

Mainly hilarious, to be honest. I had some dark moments, but being a part of a comedy community as well as having friendly people all around, I had a lot of laughs writing and reading comedy posts.

8. Has being a part of the Blockchain changed you in any way for the good?

That's an easy yes. I mentioned all the people who helped me through my time here. But I continue to meet talented and friendly people all around. I have become more consistent and organized. There's something inspiring when you look at people who are busy to make this the best experience anyone could have, yet still, have time to help others and guide them by the hands. That simply inspires you to be better.

9. What is your favorite memory from your time on the Blockchain?

That's a long list to go through. Writing a song about dicks for @carlgnash, winning contests for @comedyopenmic, participating in contests in @theinkwell and @freewritehouse, meeting all the people mentioned above. But I have to say when I think of my favorite memories they're most recent.

During my first few weeks on Steemit, I got a huge upvote from @ocd who featured my post in their highlights. My favorite memory would have to be how @acidyo added me as an oboarder, it is an amazing development to go from someone who wants to get noticed by OCD to someone who is a part of it, helping you repay all the great things this blockchain has done for you.

10. If you could advise a new person signing up to Hive, what would it be?

I would honestly say mainly don't be lazy. No matter your goals from joining this blockchain, being lazy isn't the right way to go about achieving them. Unless, of course, your goal is to be lazy, in that case, I can't really advise you, can I?

But being lazy is the last thing you want to do here. You will be rewarded for your effort in commenting and interacting, as well as posting. You will be rewarded for your effort either through monetization or, even better IMO, coming across all the way people who will help sharpen your craft. Every day on this blockchain I find myself inspired by the content creators here. Be it someone like @deeanndmathews, or @beautifulwreck. Or coming across someone like @jcrodriguez. I could go on a long namedropping tantrum but I will stop here, point is, being lazy is the worst thing you could do as it will cause you to miss out.

The End

That was my hive history, as brief as possible.

Sort:  

You wrote that song??? I didn't know that!!! Omg you are pure comedy genius. I saw that years ago when I was starting my st**MIT journey.

Will edit once I'm done reading the post.

EDIT: Hi Amir! Well, I'm truly honored, thank you for the shout-out. Life's a bitch but I really like being here, so I always try to save my energy to post interesting stuff that people can value. I also spend time reading and engaging with authors I really like, just for the sake of making friends.

I enjoyed reading about your Hive journey, I reckon it hasn't been totally easy but I'm glad you're here.

Also... Hereby I decree that thou shalt not click on a pishing link ever again.

You wrote that song??? I didn't know that!!!

That song is my magnum opus in literature. That song is the GREATEST thing that happened in the history of the crypto world lol. Carl really gave it soul as well. We were robbed by Taylor Swift that year in the music awards.

I think it is important to give people shout-outs to point their effect on you. I know I probably forgot a lot of people, some names are coming back to me as I say this. The effort in comments is way more helpful tbh.

Hereby I decree that thou shalt not click on a pishing link ever again.

But they promised me 0.4 Bitcoin. You can't convince me notaphishingsite.net isn't a legit site.

that song was the best thing I ever suck my teeth into. Yes from the first time I put Amir's genius in my mouth I knew it was destiny

Ah, the joy of holding such a powerful message in one's lips! I think I know what you mean.

Ever since, I joined COM(Comedy Open Mic), got called "Mentally unstable" by Ned, humped @traf's leg like a hungry dog for upvotes, and wrote the first song about dicks, performed by the great eyeball itself, @carlgnash. So, from COM to CUM, here is my Hive story.

LOL, good stuff!

So you were a crypto rookie too when you started Steemit :)

The lovely thing about it is that those people, as busy as they were, were never really cheap with their time in talking and helping newcomers like me. That trait is something I carry with me this day whenever I am asked for help.

So true!

That simply inspires you to be better.

Glad you feel the same! I have been inspired throughout my years on both chains and it has been an absolute blessing to discover new talents, new things I could explore, learn new things. I've never encountered so many talented and inspiring people in my real life in total as I have in the past years on Hive, crazy to say, maybe, but true!

Good tips for newCOM-ers :) I always repeat it several times: make a good intro, please take your time, format a bit if you can, use good images etc. Make an effort it will help you so much to gain eyes on your content. As otherwise, you just won't be noticed.

I'm so happy to reconnect with you :-) I really missed your humour!

Yeah, I learn and try new formatting ideas every now and then.

LOL, good stuff!

Good to know I still have that funny bone, I don't think I wrote anything ever since the shift to hive.

I'm so happy to reconnect with you :-) I really missed your humour!

Likewise.

Always good to read a success story, I'm a newbie here but ready to put the efforts and time it's necessary to

Thank you for reading. I wish you look luck, with effort, you will grow soon enough.

Congratulations on four years!

Thank you. I am glad I came across your stories and content during it.

An awesome journey indeed and you are a big asset to the community with your positive energy and your awesome humor ! Do you have a link to the dick song you wrote for @carlgnash ? I’ve heard so many Xmas carols lately would be nice to listen to something else for a bit.

OMG DAN!! I knew I forgot a few names to mention in the post. You are actually one of the most awesome people I came across in the blockchain.

The link for the story will sadly take to S***mit

https://peakd.com/comedyopenmic/@carlgnash/the-ballad-of-jack-and-bobby-original-song-probably-nsfw-comedy-open-mic-round-14

Hey just an FYI Amir, all the old steemshit content is still present on Hive blockchain. Just swap out peakd.com or your front end of choice for the steemit.com in the URL like so: https://peakd.com/comedyopenmic/@carlgnash/the-ballad-of-jack-and-bobby-original-song-probably-nsfw-comedy-open-mic-round-14

The same man ! I’m really happy I met you here on the platform ! You’re by far the funniest comedian I’ve come across on the platform !

What an amazing journey. I am so happy to hear that @jayna and I helped to fuel your passion for writing again. I return the compliment. Every time I read a story by you I am inspired...although I never imagine I could match your skill.

I look forward to reading more memorable stories from you.

Yeah, whether you or @jayna, also @shanibeer in the early days, it was really encouraging to keep going. I am glad you think so highly of me, it is one of the reasons I continue to aim at producing good content.

Hi there @amirtheawesome1 (it took me ages to work out Amir the Awesome 1 😂), congratulations on four years on the chain, one way and another, that's fabulous! So pleased you are here, long may it continue 😍

Thank you, for your comment and for your role in my journey.

Congratulations on your four years on the platform. I'm surprised you tagged me, I'm one of those who think that very few read my reviews, because I make very long posts XD . Thanks for the mention and it's like that, you have to put effort in making unique content for the platform.

because I make very long posts XD

That's partly the reason as well, it's because the posts are long per se, but the effort put into them. And your posts deserved a shout-out as worthless as it may seem coming from me, but also your interactions play a big part in many people feeling encouraged to keep writing.

That song about dick is still one of my favorite things ever. You rock dude :)

I honestly still can't listen to it without stopping a couple of times to laugh hysterically. You absolutely killed it!

Congratulations for your success in hive platform. I've joined steemit in 2017 and was inactive 2 years or more but I'm active in blockchain last one year (in steemit) and last one month on hive. Wish me luck that I can grow up in this platform and can achieve some success 😇 InshaAllah!

Inshallah. Thank you for your kind words and I wish you good luck.

@amirtheawesome1
Dude it has been far too long.
Reading your post is a wash of amazing memories.
I so miss our Romper Room podcasts.

Have you found any new bubbling comedy groups on hive?
Time to get the gang back together!

I miss those too. I am trying to get back in comedy with my alt @burningcoal-news as well as gathering as many comedians before looking into starting a community.

We shall romper again in easier days.