Happy Caturday: my orange cat has migrated to my neighbours’ house.

in Proof of Brain6 months ago

After missing for almost ten days, I decided to visit my neighbours to see whether I could find my orange cat there. I did manage to find Joan and carried him back to reunite with his sister. After a few hours, both Kwan and Joan got on like nothing happened. Joan slept on my bed the whole day and both cats had dinner together in the kitchen. I was glad that things went back to our usual routine.

The following day, I took both cat for a walk in the afternoon. Kwan was very excited to play around the dirt road. They felt more daring and secured as I was watching over them. I had to keep an eye on two big brown dogs; they liked to chase cats and could be quite vicious. Kwan liked to roll on the dirt road and rub herself on some wild plants. Joan liked to explore all the holes and hiding places in the bush and bamboo groves.

I let them to get on with their adventure for about an hour. They came back to the house after their excitement wore off. These cats could be very inquisitive and liked to investigate holes in bushes which could be quite risky as snakes could be hiding around the area. In the afternoon these cats enjoyed grooming themselves around the yard as the cement was still warm from sunshine. I liked to observe them doing their cats things and just being themselves.

Kwan still maintained her old habit of rolling from one side to the other. She’s the only kitten that could entertain herself by just rolling her body from side to side. I first noticed that habit when she was about two months’ old. I thought that’s a funny kitty as she could find contentment by simply rolling around. I had no idea that this habit would stay with her till these days. This made me wondering whether my parents had observed any childhood habits of mine which stayed with me as I got older.

I could remember the first time I saw Joan’s crooked tail, I was alarmed that the kittens had been crushed together in their hiding place or the mother cat sat on her kittens. Then, I noticed the knotted tail of a smaller kitten. I wasn’t pleased with all the deformation of these tails as I was so used to having kittens with long straight tails. Later, I realised that nature had designed their tails in such unique ways so that I could tell the difference between these orange kittens. So, I thought their crooked and knotted tails were very charming. I could spot these cats from a distance by their tails.

Both cats had no memories of their childhood whereas I had observed them and remembered some episodes of their younger days. This capability of human beings really set us apart from other natural creatures. With memories, logical reasoning, conscious perceptions and critical thinking, we could have so many potentials which could be manifested into reality. These cats made me realised how far ahead human beings have evolved through time. With our amazing capabilities and potentials, we ought to have more responsibility for other ‘weaker’ creatures and protect them from danger.

I had a nagging feeling about Joan a few weeks ago. He gave me a sign to warn me that I might lose him. It reminded me of Snow, his oldest brother who disappeared for two weeks. I had a dream about Snow so I went to search for him in nearby village. A villager told me that a white cat was attacked by stray dogs; he had to bury the dead cat. So, I was afraid for Joan’s safety. But it turned out that he decided to walk along the dirt road to live in the next house.

Joan only stayed with me for two nights before he went missing again. I asked my gardener to visit our neighbours’ house. She came back to report that Joan was there. He could recognise her and ran upstairs as she wanted to carry him home. So, something had trickled in his mind to make him leaving Kwan and my house. I wished I could read his mind. At least I was relieved that he would be well fed and looked after. But that house was frequently visited by two brown dogs. I just hoped that Joan would be quick and nimble when those dogs entered the house.

I kept calling for Joan whenever I passed my neighbours’ house, hoping that he would return home sometimes. After four days, I decided to visit my neighbours’ house. I stood at the gate shouting for Joan. My neighbour opened the gate for me. She told me she didn’t see Joan the whole day. I knew he might be sleeping upstairs somewhere, he might have his hiding place upstairs. So, I kept calling his name for five minutes. Joan came running down the stairs. He recognised me and greeted me as usual. He seemed heavier and quite at home there.

Joan inside my neighbours’ house!

The lady told me how Joan kept hunting for mice and squirrels. He had his hiding spots under the trees to ambush his preys. It seemed that house became a good hunting ground for mice, squirrels and birds. I tried to ask him to follow me home. He followed me along the driveway but he wouldn’t go outside the gate. One brown dog was watching us and came running towards the gate. I had to let go of Joan and let him run upstairs to hide. It would be difficult to carry him home with me in the evening. I might have to try one more time in the morning. But the hope of having Joan back has become very small. I had to accept the new reality of changing circumstances.

It’s rather sad for me as I thought two orange cats would live with me in the house for many years. I also felt sorry for Kwan; my gardener said she still meowed around the house for her brother. Something must had happened to Joan’s brain; he suddenly forgot all about his relationship with his sister. This was puzzling to me. I prayed for guidance and assistance in solving the problem for Kwan. If it’s meant to be, a nice kitten would walk along the dirt road and enter our house one day. I wished that Joan would be safe and happy at that house and live a long healthy life.

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Stay strong and cheerful.

Sort:  

I'm sorry Joan decided to move. He may come back, he and Kwan may have had some fights when you were away, cats can have rather complicated relationships with each other

Thanks for your comforting words. I had no idea if they had a fight. Kwan would always surrender as she’s a smaller cat and more timid. I hope Joan will come back sometimes.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @kaminchan.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks so much for your kind support.

How interesting that Joan chose to go live in another house considering how close the two cats have always been. It must be sad for you I am sure.
We had a cat do the same thing but he came to live at our house. He lived on another street behind us and steadily chose to stay on our porch all the time. One day the neighbor came to us and asked if we would keep the cat. They had been wanting to move to a retirement village and would not be able to take him with them. I think the cat knew way ahead of time and made the transition to our home easier on them. We had the cat for another 3 years before he died at 19 years old. I just thought I would share that with you.
I am sure he will come and visit you often. ;-)

Thanks so much for sharing your story about the old cat. Yup! I think cats are somewhat psychic. I think that Joan could hunt more freely at that house. He’s reverting to being naturally wild as a hunting big cat. Luckily he’s still affectionate and allows people to touch him. I don’t know what started this reaction.

I would have to try to visit him at least once a week at that house. Kwan would be very lonely and has to adapt to the new situation.

Kwan will adapt to being by herself and will probably enjoy having all your attention to herself.

Thank you very much for your generous support.

They are a very cute pair of cats.

It's a shame Joan decided to move, but it's something I've seen happen, I don't know why, but I've seen that on occasion. In fact, a few years ago I had a cat, and she went to a neighbor's house, she never came back. At least I knew that she was taken good care of, and she lived the rest of her cat life in good company.


Stay !ALIVE
!LOLZ
!GIF lovely cats
!PGM
!LUV
!BBH

Thank you very much for sharing your story. I couldn’t feel a bit hurt and rejected as I love Joan a lot and I thought we were going to live together for many years.
Your cat was lucky to have found a nice home with love.

@kaminchan! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ pedrobrito2004. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

@pedrobrito2004 sent you LUV 🙂 (2/3)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

@kaminchan! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @pedrobrito2004. (1/1)