Discord-Landia: Beginner's Survival Guide

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)

So you just heard about a platform called discord… and decided to hop onto it to get a feel for a wide array of communities present on this platform. Maybe you want to make some new friends and wind down from reality.

You set up your account and before you take your next step, let me stop you right here tiger! It’s a big world there and you will be needing some help navigating that place. Here are few things to keep in mind of. This list is not exhaustive, but it highlights some key points.

Step 1: Learn the Lingo

that’s kinda sus

bussin

cappin

tweakin

AhLIE

Did all of the above words confuse you? Fret not, these are small examples of a wide variety of basic urban lingo you need to master before heading into your discord journey. I highly recommend you look into urban dictionary to keep yourself updated. This will prevent you from stopping in your tracks during a rapid texting fire session and experiencing a brain freeze to take in the copious amounts of information you are trying to desperately absorb like a sponge.

meme.png

Edited on Imgflip


Step 2: What is YOUR Purpose


Let me play the devil's advocate here for a second and ask you this question: "What do you actually want?"

"I just want to make new friends and let off some steam you know". (^▽^)

But is that it?...because some people LOOOᴏᴏᴏᴠᴇ a little power grab, chat takeover, creative trolling, raiding servers, setting up challenges to see how quickly they can get banned, mass tagging (I mean who doesn’t love the classic @everyone ping every 5 minutes) and finding random ways to get underneath people's skin BY TALKING IN CAPS LETTERS 💍𝓇 𝓊𝓈𝒾𝓃𝑔 𝒶𝓃 𝒶𝓃𝓃❁𝓎𝒾𝓃𝑔 𝒻𝓊𝓃𝓀𝓎 𝒻💍𝓃𝓉 𝒾𝓃 𝒽❀𝓅𝑒𝓈 🌺𝒻 𝑔𝒾𝓋𝒾𝓃𝑔 𝓈❀𝓂𝑒❁𝓃𝑒 a 𝓈𝓉𝓇🍑𝓀𝑒. Let’s be honest we all have a ying and yang within us.

image.png
source

I want you to become familiar with your natural tendencies and tame that inner beast which may be lurking within you before it explodes in a random server.


Step 3: Safety in DMS

So you were just going about your day normally and suddenly you get a friend request on discord. What could go wrong?????
( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)

"hmm this person has a kawaii pfp of an anime girl or boy".

You can just hEaR them say sEnPai please accept my request UWU

blushes profusely (^◕.◕^).

discord 11.png

I changed my discord pfp and about section just to take this screenshot for this post.

Well my soon to be fallen soldier, let me stop you right there. Generally, you are better off interacting with a new member in the server channels before accepting dms and conversing there. This will give you an understanding about this person and a better idea about who you are dealing with. Of course there is no guarantee that people won’t change their colors like a chameleon in your dms but take the initial safety precautions to at least reduce the probability of bringing trouble to your dms.


This post was written as an entry for POB Word of the Week contest which is Discord. I purposely set up this post a specific way (emoticons, slang, short forms for words such as writing pfp instead of profile picture) because I find that it best represents the informal tone of the given word Discord.

To learn more about the rules, check this post out.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

What is this week's word of the week? Discord? I honestry can't remember. !LUV

You got it! Yup it is discord 😁

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@moon-city, you've been given LUV from @mineopoly.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. LUV changes soon. (2/10)

Thanks you for giving the newbies heads up in to the journey of discord chat room.
Kudos and nice entry into the contest.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you Funshee!

Hahaha this was a fun topic to dive into.

I was sure I haven't seen a post from @scholaris on the wotw until now. Need to check this out. This post is very creative.
Personaly, I've been on discord for a year and a half.. I am still very uncomfortable with it many of the functions there. I am on certain servers where I am comfortable.

I was sure I haven't seen a post from @scholaris on the wotw until now.

I am glad you will be able to check it out now! He posted it 3 days ago so there is still time ;)

This post is very creative.

Thank you so much. It was quite fun making this.

I am still very uncomfortable with it many of the functions there

I feel you on this. I first hopped onto discord in 2020 and bots were completely new to me. It took some time getting the hang of it and I am still learning. I appreciate people who try to set up clean looking servers and build up the engagement because I was involved in helping out with that few times and it can be quite the work 😅.

There are only few servers where I feel the most comfortable at. It can take a while to find some that work for people. Btw, if you search up disboard, you will find a full server list of every server that is available! Few people did not know that so it is always great to learn something new!

Thanks a ton for the information. Nah, I am not a very chatty person outside of Hive. I only interact on channels where I have something of import to do . People would find me boring in general groups, but on DM's I am a different person lOL

Oops I've read it but have not upvoted your post , Ill do that right away.

Hahhaha no worries Sofs-Su! Hope you are doing well

Sometimes my age gets the better of me lol
I am good
Hope all is well with you.

Congratulations @moon-city! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2750 upvotes.
You got more than 900 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 7
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @moon-city.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hahahaha. You made it feel like it a new discord, not the one I knew. 😂

I can testify to the fun. The reading. Who cares for more than one line! When you message had already swim to the upper part of your screen. I doubt if you would be able to catch it yourself.

Hahaha. Oh my discord!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Excellent work friend, thank you very much for sharing with us ❣️❣️

Thank you Carlita! 🥰

Interesante, aun me quedan muchas cosas por aprender oh sí, gracias por tu post.

¡Gracias por pasarte por aquí Mary y también por compartir mi post! Espero que tengas un día bendecido.

A very well summarized list of stuff to keep in mind while navigating these treacherous waters of discord. It can get very obnoxious from time to time. That's why I mute all servers. Otherwise, it would drive me crazy.
untitled.gif

That's why I mute all servers. Otherwise, it would drive me crazy

Now isn't this the first thing we all do when we join servers 🤣🤣

I would probably end up flinging my phone on the other side of the room if I hear constant pings.

PING PING PING PING

Now isn't this the first thing we all do when we join servers 🤣🤣

Checks the Discord Noob Manual Math checks out! 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Ha, ha, ha. Good thing it doesn't happen! 🤣

MUTE MUTE MUTE MUTE

I am with you on the muting part. After all, how will Mr. Writer aka Andres be able to stay focused on his writing, poetry, cake eating, instrument making plans and all the wealth of info you drop on us 😎???

You're right! I gotta keep all that noise blocked so I can concentrate and get some actual work done! Silence is a key part of doing many things!

It sounds like discord users are as discordant as the name; discord.

I'm better informed Did I know tell you that I just downloaded the urban dictionary.

I think this comment is becoming too long for discord users. I better be using.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I think this comment is becoming too long for discord users.

Hahhahaha I see what you did here. Some servers are more appreciative towards proper conversation but some sadly don't.

Did I know tell you that I just downloaded the urban dictionary

Hhahhaha ahead of the game I see 😎😎. I have to admit I am not too well versed with all of the urban lingo but it is interesting to listen to lolll

Thank you for stopping by.

And I happen to be the love long and proper conversation.

Neither am I versed, but there's no harm in learning. Lol


Posted via proofofbrain.io

On the whole, I turn down DM's unless I've been speaking to them for a while. If a DM request is out of the blue, you can guarantee:

    A. They want to feed you a load of old tosh without anyone interfering.
    B. They want to talk about someone behind their back.
    C. They want to try and sell you something.

You nailed it!

I also follow the same method. If it is someone I have been talking to for a while, I won't necessarily mind dms but I can't say the same for people who send requests out of nowhere. B and C are the ones I have had the most experience with LOL.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Really well written post. All of yours are. Same with the formatting. It's easy to read the way you create your posts. Lots of your humour here too. I laughed at several points.

So you were just going about your day normally and suddenly you get a friend request on discord. What could go wrong?????

Yes, indeed, what could go wrong? 😅🤦‍♀️😂🔮
Love the way you go into this topic. I laughed when I read this.

LOL Nine glad to see you here as well as the shenanigans of last night.

I did enjoy writing it as much as laughing at the experiences I have had on discord. 🤣

Shenanigans of epic proportions! 🤣🤣🤣 You fit right in too!

Hahaha, yes, discord experiences 😉

Helloaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa, this post is too good. You have no idea how much I laughed reading this, and precisely because I was hazed with discord. It was overwhelmingly horrible, what always gives me the creeps is a friend request from a stranger.....

Because...

What if he's a psycho or a kidnapper? (hahahahaha I know, I'm a little paranoid about social networks)

I loved this post, excellent content

Hahahahah Musageta! Thank you so much for stopping by. I am glad you had a good laugh. The friend request part definitely gives me the creeps too especially when it is out of nowhere at all. Some of them just drop random links to probably steal private info and others may have a different agenda.

It is always a good idea to stay vigilant. At the same time, discord can be fun too.

Yes, I keep myself a bit closed in discord because of shyness and well, I don't know....

I guess I'm more into socializing with strangers in person, it gives more confidence.

I feel you! I would rather prefer in person socializing compared to online. I completely agree about the confidence part. Its good practice for a lot of things.

You forgot to mention the hundreds of "you have won btc" dms 😂

And rain rooms, which are awesome ❤️

!PIZZA !ALIVE

You Are Alive and have been rewarded with 0.1 ALIVE tokens from the We Are Alive Tribe, and it's paid for by the earnings on @alive.chat, swing by our daily chat any time you want.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wrestlingdesires(18/20) tipped @moon-city (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Did you get lost in Discord Landia??? Miss seeing you here, hope you'll be back soon ♥️