You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If I'm collateral damage, what does that tell you?...That it's time to do some carpet bombing ?

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

why bother giving out a 100% vote which equals to .08 POB if its just going to get taken away.

How else do I contribute to feesing another human being? This being one of the main reasons why I joined this platform in the first place.

I tried to respect the rules of the community till I found out that the communities perspective was manipulated by strong stake holders.

Now we have a brainwashing going on. And they DV the truthers so they won't lose their herd of sheep.

"Ergonomía"? it's in Spanish. I can't remember the English word to it.

Anyways from the Cambridge dictionary I have here it states

ergonomic furniture or equipment is designed in a way that makes it comfortable and effective for people who use it for their work:

Now if the "people" who use it for their "work" are also the ones who designed it, then the furniture and equipment is those users that you have pointed out as "collateral damage"...

I'm not too keen to being someone else's furniture stand.

I'm not going to say I wish I knew code, I had my chance and life took me down a different fork with my purpose in life.

I do however wish to see a new platform that doesn't have DPoS. One where absolutely no censorship whatsoever can be brought down.

Yes, I know what Pandora's box that will open. Might even attract some bad guys. But I feel that through the natural state of being human, tribalism will kick in or something similar and all one has to do is find ones own family.

The thing is evil will never be rid of.
We aren't going anywhere either.
Saying one will prevail over the other is just wishful thinking.
Hive is a big yellow school bus and noone is actually driving it. But everyone seeming to want to hold on to the wheel.

everyone, it's time to just let it go.

Can these clowns let go over their false sense of control?

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=MjwLienADFQ

Its only a matter of time before huge whales cone in with a multi billion dollars and becomes the major gang leaders here. Not Acid junkie, not noface, not Jenny
from the block, not anyone currently here will be able to do anything about it. It will be Justin Sun times 10.

Appreciate the ride while it lasts. Give it hell either way.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Your upvote is still seen as a sign that you appreciated the post, even if the rewards get nullified. This is one of the most fundamental disagreements I have with the 'downvotes bad' crowd: If you get 126 upvotes and 2 downvotes, your rewards may go to zero, but your work doesn't get silenced. If you're just here for the rewards, then make posts about crypto that are guaranteed to earn you rewards. If you're here to get a message out to people, you're in the best place I've found. If you post it here, it exists here, forever, whether people like it or not. If Lucylin wants to bet his Hive future on talking shit about the platform and it's whales, he can have a big audience and no rewards, which is exactly what he has right now, more or less. His rep isn't getting kicked to zero, and he isn't getting 'shadowbanned'. I think most of posts earn more than they're worth, even though they're getting downvoted to almost nothing, because they almost all basically say the same thing. Lucylin isn't being silenced... he's one of the loudest voices on Hive. I'm pretty sure that despite all the talk about the morality and ethics of it... he wouldn't be calling people stupid for upvoting each post to $100 worth of rewards, even though I haven't seen one worth more than $10.

I like the show, but I think it's half fake. If he's been half as successful at life as he claims, he shouldn't be needing the rewards. His following, and subsequent vote ratio, are stellar. He shows the same outrage for a 0% downvote as a 100% downvote, but he likes throwing rocks at hornet's nests. I like watching people do that.

I agree with you 100% about what is going to happen to this platform once investors really start looking at it. Once people with deep pockets discover they can make money just by buying a large stake and self-voting, they will come here and wreak havoc. Personally, I think this desire that people have on Hive to grow the token prices and the platform are ridiculous. It's the masses that destroy things. I enjoyed MySpace, Facebook, and YouTube before they became monstrous enterprises. Hive has a design better suited to withstand the dumbing down that inevitably comes with ubiquitous use, but finding a balance between good ideas and human intervention is never pretty. The longer Hive can grow slowly, while remaining 'under the radar', the better chances I think it will have when the unwashed masses of humanity decide that Hive is the new flavor of the week.

Hi @oldsoulnewb,

a refreshing view that you rarely hear, you offer.
I would go further and attest failure to all online platforms, the more global they are. Or a failure to appear to the masses in the first place. Why do I think that? Because "social" and "media" don't mix, or only in places where no one is really interested in making money in the first place, but in having fun or exchanging ideas or philosophising with each other or talking about - what do I know - fishing.

Anyone who comes here with the intention that the whole thing has to become as "big" as the role models FB, YT, etc., has not even considered why people go anywhere in the first place: Because they are well entertained and have fun. Making money would be one thing, like a potential in the background, something that comes about rather by chance, but not because you want to bang the door down already.

A business that succeeded was not run by someone who was desperate to get rich doing it, but by someone who tried something, was curious or enjoyed what they were doing. Of course, there are always idiots who steal a good idea and the whole thing initially runs successfully, but the idiots then manage to ruin it.

That's why I see it like you: the masses ruin it because the masses, due to experience and the existence of the big channels, have become accustomed to something that can be seen critically: a Roman thumbs-up and thumbs-down culture that in real Rome was probably only practised in the Collosseum, but not in the minds of global citizens (... but ... when I think about it, it probably WAS, lol).

The many clashing cultures and also life experiences of the people here on Hive and elsewhere make understanding difficult. But if one's livelihood depends on it (or one imagines that it does) or if making money comes first, cooperation is even more difficult or impossible than it already is under real conditions in the real world.

Why should one trust anyone here at all whom one has never seen, never smelled, never shaken hands with and whose real name one probably does not know? So you don't trust anyone.

It's a really strange thing to want to do business this way. So I think you can only become a fool showing a funny nose to the self-appointed gentlemen :)

but basically I'm not a friend of the internet. HaHa! For a while it's interesting, inspiring, lively and so on. But once you've spent a few hours in the garden, it puts things into perspective.

Yeah, Facebook has people expecting that a website should simply let them upload thousands of hours of videos and thousands of photos each month or each week. Imagine millions to billions of people expecting this to be the norm. Well, all of that costs money. And yet, people somehow were CONDITIONED and PROGRAMED to believe all of that can be and must be totally free. Yet, all of that costs millions to billions of dollars.


I like what you are saying and some of my favorite memories on the Internet were made on like forums, message boards, MySpace, YouTube before 2010 back when they still had video comments, and also Facebook back in like 2006 back when they still had a friend tree or web showing you a map of how you are friends with this person who is friends with this other person and so on and so forth, that was cool. AOL, You Got Mail.

It is also deceptive, this "free to use an online service" slogan, isn't it? Somewhere, the generosity of the founders must generate a long-term source of money so that many come together and the forum gains value through the users. So it's not really a one-sided provision of a service, but it's through the users of that service that the business gets its shape, weight and power. No, it's not free, of course, and the best currency for platforms like FB and YT is user data and profiles. So it's not free, you can't say that. So the business model is clear, isn't it? And yet it's strange how little people seem to care ...

When the space is small, without the masses, as it were back in the days of the beginning, I agree, there come memories. When things are not clear, not determined, not directed, not so much ruled, when the space is free to roam and to explore, it's the best times.

The talk here on hive "how to get the masses on board" seems un-intelligent to me. At least, if you want to be smart, you pretend you have a really cool club where not everyone can get in. But that would also not be my cup of tea. If it's not for real, it's just advertising.

Greetings to you :)

Yeah and you know what they say, when a service is free, it could mean you are the service, Facebook makes money selling data to governments, corporations, etc. I believe in encouraging people to join Hive just like I would encourage people to eat healthy and other things too and we all know many people may not always make the best of choices. In other words, it is not like every human is always going to make the best choice and being on hive is a better choice.

I leave the encouraging people to come here to others. I did that in the beginning, but stopped. Either it grows over time by itself and what I so far invested or it does not. I do not care so much, though I enjoy to talk to people here and to practice my debate skills. It's like my daily habit to open up hive and to see what's up.

Have a good day. :)

Yeah, I don't talk about Hive to people a lot and sometimes not at all. My Facebook has a link for those interested in checking out Hive. Yeah, debating skills is kind of like swimming.

My current experiment has nothing to do with hive...(that's the petri dish).
My scope is broader.
I knew way back in the steem days I was never (or wanted to be) 'in with the in crowd'. I grew up on sheep farm, and still have this aversion to flocks! lol

I like the show, but I think it's half fake. If he's been half as successful at life as he claims, he shouldn't be needing the rewards

Your definition of success is different to mine.

I never include money in my equation of success - for example - as that in itself (in my definition) shows a failure in life - re: comprehending value.

Need and want are two different things.
(Framing a reality is a tool that can be used for beneficial purposes as well as being a tool for enacting evil deeds).

It can be harder for posts like that to get bumped up on the trending page and that is similar to how some videos on YouTube can be not recommended or not on trending. Same thing on Facebook and Twitter for example.


It can be harder for something to go viral if it can't be found on trending or whatever else there may be for spreading whatever that might be more popular for more people to see and share. I guess a post can be shared, reblogged, resteemed, and then more people may see it because of that.


I like what you're saying regarding growing under the radar and part of why that is vital is that websites can be expensive as it expands meaning the witnesses have to buy more computers or I mean servers and who knows what else. I remember trying to build a social network myself some years ago and it was a lot of work and I ended up giving up. I wanted something similar to what we have now with Steemit.... I mean Hive Blog.